We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style without the pricetag”
Review of Munkebjerg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Munkebjerg Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vejle
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Classic Retro Danish Design with superb grounds and a very clean new gym & spa, decent pool with a space for little kids, jacuzzis, steam room, sauna and fitness machines at no extra cost. Food was all lovely and the rooms were great. Easy access to Legoland in less than 30 min drive and close to many other locations in Denmark. If the food most of which was included, doesn't fit your budget there is always the finest McDonalds I have ever seen (with free wifi), just 5 mins drive down the road.

Extremely enjoyable visit and really well thought out. Feels like a vintage 1960s US golf resort, with a very modern 2010s Spa & pool,. The view of the fjord across the forest from the restaurant and terrace which is also where you have breakfast is breathtaking.

There are plenty of good walks in the woods nearby and I understand some people like to play golf, and gamble, check out the Golf museum and Casino. There was even a Free games room with toys for kids and a Wii U & PS3 room although that looked like it had a bit of a run-in with the Rolling stones or somebody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Munkebjerg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 321 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our familiy (four adults and four children) stayed in two of the hotels three-top rooms. They made up both baby beds and beds for the children for us. The rooms were spacious and very delicate furnished with the best of danish design. It was perfect for our familiy! We enjoyed the rich, delicious breakfast buffet, and could make our own packed lunchbox (enough for two-three persons for only 80dkr). The hotel offered also a nice, spacious room for the children to play, and we also used the lovely swimmingpool/spa- area a lot (loads of thick, white towels to use) The hotel is located in a VERY silent beech forest outside Vejle, with nice walking paths, and only about 30 mins from Legoland. We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the three-top rooms...those are good value.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garden011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights in Hotel Munkebjerg and highly recommend the place for families traveling with children visiting Legoland Billund and nearby attractions. The room price was very reasonable (995 DKK, 130 EUR) compared to very expensive hotels in Billund. The drive from hotel Munkebjerg to Billund was roughly 25 minutes (35 km).

The hotel is located on beautiful hilltop in the middle of forest facing the Vejle fjord. If you still have energy after a day in Legoland, the nearby hiking trails are great! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast (included in the room rate) is excellent with nice selection of local delicacies as well as homemade items. There's also a possibility to pack a lunch box from the breakfast buffet for 85 DKK which is a bargain. The evening lunch buffet was bit of a disappointment and also quite pricey (250 DKK for adults and 125 DKK for children).

Our room was pretty basic, but nice and clean with balcony facing a small park. The hotel indoor pool area is very nice with children's pool and two jacuzzis. If we should visit Legoland Billund in the future, we'd certainly choose Hotel Munkebjerg again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikkoj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I promise, when you leave this place you will most certainly feel bit low that you are leaving it.

The staff will go out of the way to make you comfortable, each guest is a special guest. They opened the business center for me at odd hours within minutes, they provided me with tea-coffee maker in my room even when it was not on the tariff without any fuss. The most courteous staff.

The rooms are best, cleanliness absolute. The ambiance enchanting.

Take a walk around, the forest covering will take you to a different world. If possible take a trek to the river ( arrange for a transport to climb back).

Even if you want to visit 100 miles around, stay there to rejuvenate your self.

I was traveling alone but most certainly misses my spouse.

The bonus is the Casino. ( the stakes are a bit high but worth it)

Will write more on this on my next visit

Room Tip: take the river view rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haresh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel has an excellent spa and swimming pool. The fantastic breakfast buffet with a great variety is included and can be enjoyed with a great view over the sea. The hotel has a beatiful out-of-town location which makes it a great choice for visiting Legoland (about 30 min drive).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Timo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the town, so it's a taxi ride if you want a change of scene when eating. It's in a beautiful, quiet wooded location, with views of the fjord from reception and verandah.

The rooms are fairly minimilist, but comfortable and very clean and there is a very good spa/gym. Free wifi is on offer.

The breakfast was good with a wide choice of fruits, cheeses and cooked meats. I ate in the restaurant twice in the evening and the food was very good, service was rather slow.

I can't comment on price, because my client paid for this direct.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EV97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a singel night at the Munkebjerg Hotel - Location is excellent with view to both water and forest and close to Golf - The hotel is fine with a avrage service at a fair price. Enjoyed my stay......

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 150Peter150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejle
2.8 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
13.3 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 9 in Kolding
1,097 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Haraldskaer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Scandic Jacob Gade
Scandic Jacob Gade
#4 of 14 in Vejle
311 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Opus Horsens
Hotel Opus Horsens
#2 of 8 in Horsens
324 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vejle Center Hotel
Vejle Center Hotel
#7 of 14 in Vejle
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munkebjerg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munkebjerg Hotel

Address: Munkebjergvej 125, Vejle 7100, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vejle
Price Range: $149 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munkebjerg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munkebjerg Hotel. Munkebjerg Hotel where business travellers and leisure tourists will find equally suitable and charming surroundings. Munkebjerg Hotel is well known for its recreational value. In an idyllic location right in the heart of the unspoiled nature, surrounded by a dense and luxuriant beech forest, you will find one of Denmark's finest hotels.The hotel features conference facilities and syndicate rooms with a seating capacity of up to 700 people, 3 restaurants, a cafe, a night club, a wine cellar, a relaxing spa and fitness area and a casino. A total of 158 rooms are at your disposal. You may choose between comfortable standard rooms, 2 suites, 2 junior suites, 29 luxury rooms and a bridal suite at our upper Tree-Top floor. All rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munkebjerg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munkebjerg Hotel Vejle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing