We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delicate three-top room, quiet location in a beech forest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Munkebjerg Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Munkebjerg Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vejle
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicate three-top room, quiet location in a beech forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our familiy (four adults and four children) stayed in two of the hotels three-top rooms. They made up both baby beds and beds for the children for us. The rooms were spacious and very delicate furnished with the best of danish design. It was perfect for our familiy! We enjoyed the rich, delicious breakfast buffet, and could make our own packed lunchbox (enough for two-three persons for only 80dkr). The hotel offered also a nice, spacious room for the children to play, and we also used the lovely swimmingpool/spa- area a lot (loads of thick, white towels to use) The hotel is located in a VERY silent beech forest outside Vejle, with nice walking paths, and only about 30 mins from Legoland. We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the three-top rooms...those are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garden011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    104
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
58
75
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights in Hotel Munkebjerg and highly recommend the place for families traveling with children visiting Legoland Billund and nearby attractions. The room price was very reasonable (995 DKK, 130 EUR) compared to very expensive hotels in Billund. The drive from hotel Munkebjerg to Billund was roughly 25 minutes (35 km).

The hotel is located on beautiful hilltop in the middle of forest facing the Vejle fjord. If you still have energy after a day in Legoland, the nearby hiking trails are great! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast (included in the room rate) is excellent with nice selection of local delicacies as well as homemade items. There's also a possibility to pack a lunch box from the breakfast buffet for 85 DKK which is a bargain. The evening lunch buffet was bit of a disappointment and also quite pricey (250 DKK for adults and 125 DKK for children).

Our room was pretty basic, but nice and clean with balcony facing a small park. The hotel indoor pool area is very nice with children's pool and two jacuzzis. If we should visit Legoland Billund in the future, we'd certainly choose Hotel Munkebjerg again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikkoj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I promise, when you leave this place you will most certainly feel bit low that you are leaving it.

The staff will go out of the way to make you comfortable, each guest is a special guest. They opened the business center for me at odd hours within minutes, they provided me with tea-coffee maker in my room even when it was not on the tariff without any fuss. The most courteous staff.

The rooms are best, cleanliness absolute. The ambiance enchanting.

Take a walk around, the forest covering will take you to a different world. If possible take a trek to the river ( arrange for a transport to climb back).

Even if you want to visit 100 miles around, stay there to rejuvenate your self.

I was traveling alone but most certainly misses my spouse.

The bonus is the Casino. ( the stakes are a bit high but worth it)

Will write more on this on my next visit

Room Tip: take the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haresh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel has an excellent spa and swimming pool. The fantastic breakfast buffet with a great variety is included and can be enjoyed with a great view over the sea. The hotel has a beatiful out-of-town location which makes it a great choice for visiting Legoland (about 30 min drive).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Timo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the town, so it's a taxi ride if you want a change of scene when eating. It's in a beautiful, quiet wooded location, with views of the fjord from reception and verandah.

The rooms are fairly minimilist, but comfortable and very clean and there is a very good spa/gym. Free wifi is on offer.

The breakfast was good with a wide choice of fruits, cheeses and cooked meats. I ate in the restaurant twice in the evening and the food was very good, service was rather slow.

I can't comment on price, because my client paid for this direct.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EV97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a singel night at the Munkebjerg Hotel - Location is excellent with view to both water and forest and close to Golf - The hotel is fine with a avrage service at a fair price. Enjoyed my stay......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 150Peter150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice fantastic breakfast! Whaw.
Nice spa as well.
The hotel and especially the casino still need to have a serious visit of a decorator. Wake up. We have left the 80th many years ago. The place has fantastic potential for being the most romantic and charming hotel in Vejle- but not really there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvigholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejle
2.9 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
7.0 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Haraldskaer
13.3 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 10 in Kolding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Scandic Jacob Gade
Scandic Jacob Gade
#4 of 14 in Vejle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Torvehallerne
12.9 mi away
Hindsgavl Slot
Hindsgavl Slot
#2 of 9 in Middelfart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munkebjerg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munkebjerg Hotel

Property: Munkebjerg Hotel
Address: Munkebjergvej 125, Vejle 7100, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vejle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Munkebjerg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munkebjerg Hotel. Munkebjerg Hotel where business travellers and leisure tourists will find equally suitable and charming surroundings. Munkebjerg Hotel is well known for its recreational value. In an idyllic location right in the heart of the unspoiled nature, surrounded by a dense and luxuriant beech forest, you will find one of Denmark's finest hotels.The hotel features conference facilities and syndicate rooms with a seating capacity of up to 700 people, 3 restaurants, a cafe, a night club, a wine cellar, a relaxing spa and fitness area and a casino. A total of 158 rooms are at your disposal. You may choose between comfortable standard rooms, 2 suites, 2 junior suites, 29 luxury rooms and a bridal suite at our upper Tree-Top floor. All rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Munkebjerg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munkebjerg Hotel Vejle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing