We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't get to sleep in for sure...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Torvehallerne
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Vejle
Oslo
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You don't get to sleep in for sure...”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We booked this hotel because we wanted to go to Legoland. It is just 30 minutes away by car, the parking is cheap and safe and the hotel is pretty good.

We were not impressed by the size of the room, since we were two adults and one child (7 years). There was an extra bed, and some other furniture had to be moved to get it fit. It was not made either, and we went to the reception to ask if we could get another room - but the answer was that it was the biggest kind of rooms they had. That means that if you are more than three, you will actually need two rooms.

The breakfast buffet was very good, typical danish and the dining area is open, roomy and birds were flying inside - both us adults and our kid was impressed by them.

The really bad thing, is that the hotel is placed right next to the church, and the bells rings every half an hour until 22.30 at night and starts up at 07.00 in the morning. There was a lot of noise from the street, but we could not have the window closed, it was so humid and bad air - and no aircondition or air ventilation system to keep the air cool or fresh.

Stay out of the hotel, unless you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montgomery1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    59
    74
    29
    5
See reviews for
48
40
5
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The room (we went for the economy type) was ok, but worn. That to be expected when choosing the cheapest one perhaps. However, we were awakened several times during the night from noise in the street. A surprise really, considering the hotel isn't really next to a street. But there was the shouting from various groups of people passing by after having a few drinks, the garbage truck, the delivery truck... We woke up exhausted in the morning. The breakfast isn't anything to brag about either. But the wi-fi, parking and breakfast was included. Thumbs up for that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Magz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Very small room, but ok, nice with seperat entré, with enough room for luggage. The doublebed was only a queenbed, not mentioned anywhere. The room temrerature in the danish summer much to high. Nice bathrooms,big flatscren tv, special diningroom, the old building, proberly best for the song and music arrangements also hold there. Brekfast a littel dull

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanishTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

My experience of this hotel was terrible. So much so that I will not be booking at Best Western in the near future if ever.
First, Torvehallerne runs big parties for non-residents and close the restaurant and refuse to run proper bar services for their staying-guests.
Second, we were woken up at 3 am by the most foul smell of sewage in our room. It was so bad we had to leave the room immediately for fear of being overwhelmed by the smell. We felt sick and giddy for several hours. None of the staff were prepared to come up to the room although we did eventually manage to get a new room on the other side of the hotel. None of the staff offered to help us move our luggage which we had to repack in the corridor as the vapours in the room were too overpowering. Remember that this was the middle of the night. It was a dreadful experience.
We complained formally to the hotel on returning home but we did not get the impression that they take their hotel service or quality very seriously.
Having this year experienced uncomfortable partially collapsed beds, being locked out of a hotel for 45 minutes because the night watchman had fallen asleep, I am left with the impression that Best Western has a serious challenge in getting their hotels to commit to a proper level of service and quality. No way will I trust them with a booking in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narvik06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vejle hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My Danish distributor is located in Vejle. I have stayed in 4 different hotels in the City and have found over the past 5 years that Torvehallerne is by far the best. The rooms are on the small side(but all Scandinavian Hotels seem to be) but have everything thats required. The worst thing about my stay is the BELLS- theres a church out side in the square and the bells are rung very early- also if its not the bells is the city workers emptying the bins in the square. Other than that its the best in Vejle. It is on the expensive side.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUBLINER-TOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We chose this hotel as the scandic was booked up. what a suprise (good one that is!)

it is right in the middle of the city and close to restaurants and shopping. the rooms are good and the rest of the hotel, restaurant, bar, etc. was better thasn i had expected.

It was cheaper than the scandic also. very friendly and helpful staff.

We didn't eat dinner there as there is a great Thai restaurant around the corner (it doesn't look much from outside but he food is fantastic) but breakfast is very good. plenty of choice.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My guess is that Best Western in Europe must be some sort of franchise arrangement, since this is the second time we've had the misforture of staying at a Best Western. First one was in Brussels. Never again.
My wife's company is feeling the economic pinch like most others, so that means having to settle for smelly hallways and puny rooms. The staff were very nice, but I did notice that there was never any thought of asking how we enjoyed our stay. Hm, wonder why?
Great location, except if you have a car, since actually finding the place was a real challenge. So was getting to the parking garage. Once that's sorted out, all restaurants are within easy walking distance. My preference would have been the Park Inn or, a little farther out of town, the Munkebjerg. We've stayed at both of those places and I'd go back to either. Not to the Best Western, in spite of the location.
Still pretty pricey at around €85, and you get to feel like you're at a Motel Eight.
Too bad there was no way of knowing we'd be woke up at 5:15 by the contruction vehicles being unloaded right outside our window. Aparently there are no noise by-laws in Vejle.
On the plus side, the free wireless was actually VERY good. Who knew?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacesaverbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vejle hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Jacob Gade
Scandic Jacob Gade
#4 of 14 in Vejle
273 reviews
3.5 mi away
Munkebjerg Hotel
Munkebjerg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Vejle
276 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Haraldskaer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BB-Hotel Vejle, Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel CABINN, Vejle
Hotel CABINN, Vejle
#13 of 14 in Vejle
26 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Torvehallerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Torvehallerne

Property: Best Western Torvehallerne
Address: Fiskergade 2-8, Vejle 7100, Denmark (Formerly BEST WESTERN Torvehallerne)
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vejle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Torvehallerne 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 4-star hotel is located in the centre of Vejle, near the sea. Close to nature, Legoland and the station. The hotel offers modern rooms, conference facilities, restaurant, café, bar, lounge and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Torvehallerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vejle
Vejle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing