We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Really hot room in a good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Jacob Gade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Jacob Gade
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vejle
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really hot room in a good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights july 2014. Had a superior family room on the 4th floor. Room was spacious, nice and clean. Only downsize was the not working AC, there was a fan in the room but the room was really really hot. Nice buffet in the restaurant for the kids also. Small discount on tickets to Givskud zoo and free icecream for the kids was a nice little touch.

Location is really good, the pedestrian area with restaurants and shops within walking distance. Lots of locals spending the evening in the park just infront of the hotel. Parking is free with a permit, but you may need to park a bit further from the hotel.

If you would fix the Airconditioning the hotel would be nearly perfect for a family visit.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antsa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    99
    37
    19
    3
See reviews for
73
20
11
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Friendly staff, nice and fresh hotel with superb rooms. Stayed in a Superior room and was pleasantly surprised about the quality and size of the room. Maybe a bit stained floor carpet, but in all a very nice room and I will definitely return if I ever visit the area again.

Restaurant was nice as well. Good buffet.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was relatively close to Legoland and the Giviskud zoo (20 min to both) and still near a real city instead of Billund. The price was a bit high, but still much less than the Legoland hotels in Billund. We stayed in the Superior Extra room which was supposed to be a bit bigger and have air conditioning. The bad thing about the air conditioning was though that it barely was able to keep the room decent (below 25C) when it was 15C outside. On our last day we had 26C outside and a 45sqm sauna inside. The only response from the hotel was that all rooms are the same and moving us to another room would not help. I would have given the hotel 4 stars if the AC would have worked well enough. I would not visit the hotel again during the summer time and cannot recommend it to anyone visiting Vejle or Billund during the summer.

Room Tip: Superior extra rooms are located in a corner with windows on two sides. During the summer time the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_H_123456789012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels P, Direktør at Scandic Jacob Gade, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sirs

Thank you for taking your time to state your opinion about your recent stay with us. I am sorry about the disfuntion of our air condition - and more than that the answer that you were given from our front desk staff. In case you should return to Vejle and would like to give us another go, and experience a room that does have aircondition in order, please do not hesitate to contact me on my email niels.pallesen@scandichotels.com

Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Best Regards

Niels Pallesen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel was booked for us whilst traveling on business and I was quietly surprised. Located close to the centre of town it's an easy walk to shops and restaurants. The rooms were basic but comfortable. Internet worked well (fast), clean modern bathroom/shower facilities. There was no A/C in the room which caused it to be a little warm for my liking but I wouldn't let that bring down what is a very nice little hotel.

Breakfast was great, plenty of food, again basic but good. There were plenty of families staying at the hotel and the kids all seemed to be enjoying the pancakes.

The restaurant opened at 6pm but they were only too happy to serve us a drink at 5pm or allow us to meet with business partners prior to opening hours - nothing seemed to be a problem which was fantastic.

This will be our hotel of choice when staying at Veijle.

I've marked the rooms and value as 'average', not because they were 'bad' but because they were as expected for this type of accommodation.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms overlook the park and an open space, which is a really nice view. Odd numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_7777_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed for just one night whilst on business. Hotel was in a nice part of the town but everything fairly basic, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good if not too hot. I do wish hotels abroad would all have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a few days and liked it. The location, friendliness of the staff, and the breakfast are good. It is not far from the main pedestrian mall, and there are loads of eateries around to chose from. I have two recommendations for this hotel - (a) a small refrigerator in the room (b) a slightly extended parking... otherwise it gets difficult to get a place to park when you are back late from work...

Room Tip: The rooms do not have an air conditioner, so it might get warm in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit_Sengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We visited this hotel during eastern and had Superior room. Room was very clean and there was space enough for 4 persons. We ordered two separate extra beds for our kids (8y and 5y) and we got one extra bed + baby cottage =). We informed this to reception and they changed it in 5 mins.

Our arrival was so late that we didn't ate anything except the breakfast. It was ok and bonus was this "pancake party" for kids. Waitresses asked from our kids that do they want pancakes after the normal breakfast. Of course they wanted...

Hotel was extremely quiet although there were football tournament somewhere near and the hotel was full of 10-18 year old footballers.

Parking was free and about 300m from the hotel, but reception gave easy instruction how to find it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejle
3.6 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Haraldskaer
0.6 mi away
Vejle Center Hotel
Vejle Center Hotel
#8 of 14 in Vejle
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
3.7 mi away
Munkebjerg Hotel
Munkebjerg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Vejle
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Torvehallerne
0.1 mi away
BB-Hotel Vejle, Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Jacob Gade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Jacob Gade

Property: Scandic Jacob Gade
Address: Flegborg 8, Vejle 7100, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vejle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Jacob Gade 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Jacob Gade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing