We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible value for what you pay.”
Review of Scandic Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Regina
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Herning
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The rooms are old, the furniture is broken, mold in the bathroom, the windows cannot be closed properly. Service: I was asking for a toothbrush and I was nicely sent to the little mini-shop to buy one for 60dkk. After relatively high expectations considering the room rate I was badly disappointed by Scandic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 320 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

I had a room at the 6 th floor during the night it was quite windy, the windows where not closing tight enough so there was a whistling noise all night long. I complained the morning after but it seemed that they don't care. The standrd of the rooms are below Scandic average and the whole hotel is old and in deperate need of an upgrade. After an evening in Herning with my collegues we went to the bar for a last beer, I gave up my scandic membership voucher to help my collegue to settle the bar tap. I ended up having the beers put up on my hotel bill, eventhough we very clarly stated that my collegue was taking the beers on his room, sloppy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJoSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel does need updating and the bathrooms are a little tired but this is a good hotel still. Good location for this area of Jutland as it is easy to get to from Billund airport. On the edge of town but close to restaurants in the town. The staff are great:- friendly, helpful and talk to you as a normal person. I have stayed here a number of times in recent years and they are always this way. The rooms are clean and spacious, free Wifi. The breakfast is fine and pretty typical of other scandinavian hotels I have stayed in before.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Scandic Regina Herning needs urgently a renovation
- Mold in the bathrooms
- Housekeeping is not doing their jobs sufficiently
- Dirty carpets
- Very old, broken furniture
- Towels that you put on the floor normally should be exchanged and not be hung up again

"Restaurant" in the hotel:
- Does not deserve the name restaurant
- Everything tastes the same, whether you order steak, burger or Caesar Salad
- Pasta does not have a little bit in common with normal pasta
- "Italian Menu" is a joke, you better go to McDonalds (the food there is at least appetizing

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roland_hintermeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. When we stayed it was very hot in Denmark and the only drawback was the lack of air conditioning. Well positioned for easy access to town and major roads. Also free parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Decor wise this hotel brings you back to the the Nineteen Eighties and the breakfast buffet is really poor, "industrial" and served in a room with poor atmosphere. On the positive side the rooms are quite big with a good and large king size bed. Its free wifi in the rooms and parking at the hotel is also free of charge. There was no air-condition so the window has to be open for a breeze causing a bit of noise from the outside traffic. A below average Hotel in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Listian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is not a fancy hotel. Do not stay here if you are used to a Ritz Carlton or Four Season.
The room was very serviceable. The bed is large (King size, possibly 2 pushed together, but well). Room was big enough. Desk area was functional.
The bathroom was very functional as well. The shower was good with high water pressure and good temperature. No bathtub. Sort of a bummer.
The internet was good for our whole stay.
Service was good. I used the kettle in the room to make iced tea. No ice machines, front desk got me some (twice) from the restaurant. Smallest ice bucket ever. Not filled to the top. I think that ice needs to be patented in Europe. I will get my people to work on it.
Everything was totally fine. No complaints. Clean and functional.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herning hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Eyde
0.2 mi away
Hotel DGI-Huset Herning
13.2 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Skarrildhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BB-Hotel Herning
BB-Hotel Herning
#5 of 9 in Herning
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
OsterGaards Hotel
OsterGaards Hotel
#7 of 9 in Herning
105 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Herning
Hotel Herning
#8 of 9 in Herning
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Regina

Address: Fonnesbechsgade 20, Herning 7400, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Regina City)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > West Jutland > Herning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Herning
Price Range: $159 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Scandic Regina in Herning Hotel Scandic Regina has a great location in the centre of Herning, close to the train station and the town's cultural attractions. Hotel Scandic Regina is situated at the hub between Herning's cultural attractions, shops and major transport connections. The hotel has the perfect location, just a few minutes' walk from the town centre. We offer excellent opportunities to experience life in this modern conference and exhibition town. See well known performers at BOXEN the Jyske Bank multi-arena, visit exhibitions and trade shows at Messecenter Herning or take the family for a fun trip to the amusement centre Baboon City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Scandic Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Regina City Herning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing