We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel DGI-Huset Herning
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Herning
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great facilities”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

In general this hotel is excellent. The rooms are small and sparse in the usual Danish style but not uncomfortably so. The beds are comfy, the room facilities are good and the rooms are clean, spotlessly so in fact. The place is a little weird in that the hotel fits around the lesiure centre so you walk past the exercise bikes and yoga classes to your room and you can watch people who like to exercise at 7am do so from your breakfast table. The breakfast is nice enough and the hotel is close to the centre of Herning (although given the size of Herning, so is everything else). Because of the leisure centre staff are often divided between the two leading to slow service but the staff are certainly friendly and helpful.

The leisure centre itself is worth a visit even just to look at the elegant design. But if that isn't your thing then there is a climbing wall over the pool which is all sorts of awesome. And hot tubs on the roof (although these were closed when I was last there due to iceI think). And saunas and a jacuzzi. All of this is free to guests, or it was last time I was there.

The best hotel I have stayed in in Herning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightlyTravelledGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    55
    24
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
13
4
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
418 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The check-in took ages. Just one lady serving customers and this was the first day of an exhibition. But it seems they had not planned for that.

Then the problem of finding the room. Walking through the fitness area with a suitcase in a suit makes you feel out of place. First you take the one lift and then I think a second lift.The room was extremely difficult to find. Once I got there, I was happy the key worked as it would have been a real nuissance walking all the way back to reception again.

I was attending an even in the congress centre but the throughfare within the building was locked so I had to step outside in the rain.

The rooms was typically Scandinavian design. The wifi was free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danmark, Jyderup
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's a very nice hotel with the theme of Spa and Workouts.
Very nice rooms and new and clean.
Even though there are no restaurant the breakfast is nice.
The only reason for not giving 5 stars is the access to the rooms i try the gym and that you have to go out for dining in the evening.
There are a lot of nice restaurants nearby so its no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stay here on business frequently. It probably is the best hotel in herning, but it's a strange one.

Essentially this is a leisure centre with bed rooms, and you have to walk through the gym to get to the rooms which is odd.

The hotel facilities are great though, you can use the well equipped gym, join any of the classes, the pool is top notch (and has a climbing wall in the trampoline pool!!!)... The best is the hot tubs and sauna on the oof, even better in the snow.

They only improvement would be more pillows in the rooms, I always end up with a sore neck.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSP1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in Copenhagen, stayed in Brande, stayed in Herning. But DGI Huset is the best place to stay in Herning and also in Denmark. They keep all the hotel clean. You can have gym, pool, zakuzi, Wellness etc...
I must say, you'll love this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Hotel DG-Huset is located in the middle of Herning, close to the shopping areas. If you are a fitness buff then this is the hotel for you! There are large pools and fitness areas. The rooms are nice and clean with comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was really good with scrambled eggs (not the best but were OK), sausages, breads, fruit, smoothies, yogurts and cereals. The coffee was excellent/

The only criticism I would give it is there isn't a restaurant in the hotel to get a hot meal. We were here for the beginning of the Giro d'Italia and the whole town was packed and we ate a lot of sandwiches the first 2 days since we couldn't find a restaurant. The rooms were warm and the pillows are not comfortable. But those are minor things!

The staff speaks very good English and were always ready to help. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilieHettenvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

With my job I stay in numerous 4 and 5star hotels, whilst my friends booked this hotel I was shocked at the price for what is a very average and sterile room.it'sclean and modern but a very limited tv channel selection. The bathrooms very average and more like a motel style,clean and simple nothing more. The lifts to the hotel floor are 5 minutes walk away from the reception.
The price is simply far too expensive for a town like Herning. I paid less in London,Zurich and Stockholm recently for right in the centre great 4star hotels.
They offer free access to the spa which is actually the towns local swimming pool/spa complex which ironically was closed on Sunday afternoon when we checked in!
Staff friendly but this is not really a hotel but a local pool with a hotel built on top and ridiculously expensive for the average rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herning hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Regina
Scandic Regina
#1 of 9 in Herning
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Eyde
0.7 mi away
OsterGaards Hotel
OsterGaards Hotel
#7 of 9 in Herning
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Herning
Hotel Herning
#8 of 9 in Herning
68 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Skarrildhus
2.8 mi away
BB-Hotel Herning
BB-Hotel Herning
#5 of 9 in Herning
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DGI-Huset Herning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DGI-Huset Herning

Property: Hotel DGI-Huset Herning
Address: Kousgaards Plads 3, Herning 7400, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > West Jutland > Herning
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Herning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel DGI-Huset Herning 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel DGI-Huset Herning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing