We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel DGI-Huset Herning
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Herning
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean but expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

With my job I stay in numerous 4 and 5star hotels, whilst my friends booked this hotel I was shocked at the price for what is a very average and sterile room.it'sclean and modern but a very limited tv channel selection. The bathrooms very average and more like a motel style,clean and simple nothing more. The lifts to the hotel floor are 5 minutes walk away from the reception.
The price is simply far too expensive for a town like Herning. I paid less in London,Zurich and Stockholm recently for right in the centre great 4star hotels.
They offer free access to the spa which is actually the towns local swimming pool/spa complex which ironically was closed on Sunday afternoon when we checked in!
Staff friendly but this is not really a hotel but a local pool with a hotel built on top and ridiculously expensive for the average rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
11
4
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very nice, but unusual hotel. The complex houses both the hotel and a fitness center, complete with fitness machines, pools, various classes, climbing walls and much more.
Central location, right on the main pedestrian street and next to the conference center (Not the exhibition halls, which are a 5-10 minute drive out site the city).
Young and very friendly staff. Quick check-in / check-out.
Rooms are located on the second floor and up. To get to the rooms, one most pass through the gym. As another reviewer notices, it feels weird the first time.
Rooms are quiet and clean. Beds are a little small, but very comfortable. Bathroom medium sized with shower (No tub).
Breakfast is served in the lobby and is very nice! Nice selection of bread, eggs, fruit, cereals, coffee, tea and much more.
Free WIFI throughout the complex. Free parking opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

This place is very different to the usual hotels you will stay at but it has a lot to offer.
First off this is more like a leisure centre with rooms rather than a traditional hotel so if you want style, comfort and great food its maybe not the place for you. However if you like to mix with the locals and get some exercise you will not find better.
Check in was busy but was quick and easy
You go upstairs and through the gym to your room, which feels weird the first time but is quite cool! You also get a good view of the pool and spinning studio.
The rooms are like an ikea demonstration but they do the job just fine, importantly they had comfortable beds and were quiet.
There did not seem to be any evening meals on offer which was fine as the seating area near reception is more like a cafe so best suited for breakfast and an evening beer. There are lots of good local places to eat out.
The leisure facilities are extensive and of an excellent quality and there are classes available as well.
Breakfast offered a good self service selection with no rush to move on.

I really enjoyed my stay here and would come again when in Herning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
127 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

OK.. Just so you know (and they don't tell you) you have to walk through the gym to get to your room. A little odd I know.
The Gym is amazing. Lots of equipment. Great view of the pools while you are working out. The pools are great too. There is one area that is like a lazy river and another area that you can dive off of. A rock wall you can climb and jump into the water from. There is also a real rock wall that is not near the water.
The rooms were quite modern looking. I did not quite fit on the bed since it was two small beds pushed together, but I still had a really good nights sleep.
Right around the corner I found a great bar called the Fox and Hound and when we were hungry and they did not have food we ordered from Papa's across the street and they brought it over to us.
I brought a Calzone (they called it a baked pie or something like that) and stopped at the hotel desk and ordered a beer to take to my room she offered me a plate and cutlery for my food. That was so very nice to do.
Friendly staff but not much to do on a Sunday around there.

I hope this was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Herning hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Regina
Scandic Regina
#1 of 10 in Herning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Eyde
0.7 mi away
OsterGaards Hotel
OsterGaards Hotel
#7 of 10 in Herning
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BB-Hotel Herning
BB-Hotel Herning
#5 of 10 in Herning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Herning
Hotel Herning
#9 of 10 in Herning
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Skarrildhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DGI-Huset Herning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DGI-Huset Herning

Property: Hotel DGI-Huset Herning
Address: Kousgaards Plads 3, Herning 7400, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > West Jutland > Herning
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Herning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel DGI-Huset Herning 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel DGI-Huset Herning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing