We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed in one place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duved
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quality Hotel & Suites Renen
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duved
cambridge uk
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Everything we needed in one place”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We arrived at 8:30 am and although we couldn't check in until 3pm, the recption were more than happy to give us a couple of clean towles and point us in the direction of the sauna/shower room so we could freshen up and change. Seemed quite common for people to turn up early and leave their bags while they go off for the day.

Really close to the stattion and the Byliften bus stop so quick and easy access to Are. Nice spacious room with the little heated closet for drying wet ski gear. Not much happening in terms of the bar (they have a large one but it didn't seem to be open) but we actually found a couple of nice restaurants in Duved and spent the rest of the time in more happening Are taking the free ski bus (last ski bus back at time of writing is 21:10 and a taxi costs about 280 SEK).

The place didn't seem to advertise a gym but it does have a small one - it's basically a broken bike and cross trainer! I don't think they should have bothered really :-)

All in all, no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazmantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stroud,gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We;ve just come back from a week's skiing in Are Sweden. The hotel Renen is in the village of Duved about 9k from Are, there is skiing in Duved but to get to the more extensive slopes of Are you have to take a ski bus (about 20 mins journey time at 30 min interval). There is no connection by ski lift. Bus stops are convenient for the hotel and free with the lift pass - which is just as well when carrying skis - nowhere to leave skis over night in Are we were told
Duved although pretty has limited facilities - not many cafes and the bus times are restrictive - going into Are in the evening meant careful planning around the bus timetable or paying the equivalent of £20 for a taxi.
So that all sounds a bit negative - on the plus side the hotel is very good we had a comfortable room and were lucky enough to find it had a small cooking area with sink and microwave which we used - Duved did have was a good supermarket. We alternated between eatng in and eating out to save a bit of money. We asked for a kettle and hairdryer and the room also had an excellent drying cabinet for wet skiwear.
Breakfast was excellent - not cooked but everything was plentiful and to a high standard. There was a bar/food available but only on selected evenings - looked a bit dingy and dull but we were told the foood was good.
The hotel would be very suitable for anyone with a car, for families or those wanting a quiet holiday - not best placed for groups wanting night life

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cotswoldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

We stayed in the Hotel Renen in Duved for a week just after Easter. We chose this resort for the family orientated description.

The hotel was great, friendly staff, comfortable bedrooms and the food was outstanding. Breakfast was buffet with a wide choice (but not of cooked foods, boiled eggs only) The evening meal was also buffet the week we were there but I don’t think this was the norm as I had heard it was a set 2 course meal when there were less English staying. The food was defiantly of a 4star standard, perfect for my family. They would also do meals for the children at an earlier time and almost anything my two children wanted. I was very impressed with the restaurant all round!

The only complaint we had of the hotel was that there wasn’t anywhere to sit and relax after a day’s skiing. The bar area was only opened 3 days a week at 5pm so before that the children didn’t have anywhere to play except in the bedroom or there was a small play room with toys for the under 4's. This was the same of the resort Duved in general. It was lovely and quiet, well too quiet really. There wasn’t anywhere to get a drink really, except one dull looking coffee shop. Après-skiing is zero in Duved, would have been nice for one bar/lounge in the resort as the hotel did not have this either.

The resort was peaceful and quiet and the supermarket was good. If you stayed in one of the apartments you could get takeaway food easy enough too.

The skiing was the highlight of this resort. We were pleased that we had chosen to stay in Duved as a posed to Are as there was plenty of uncrowned slopes to keep us happy. Are was geared for the more advanced skier which a couple of us in our group go the bus to on occasions but for the intermediate skier and children, Duved was a clear winner.

Our children used the ski school there where they we well looked after and improved a lot. All Swedes speak excellent English so no probs there.

I do highly recommend Sweden as a ski holiday and we would definatly go back in a year or two.
However, Sweden does have a lot of drag lifts! Be warned!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
* You cannot edit your review after you submit it.

  • Liked — Food!
  • Disliked — Lack of comunial area
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We have just returned back from a weeks skiing in the resort of Duved near Are - Sweden - February 2008

Hotel: Renen Hotel
The Renen hotel is situated approximatley 50metres from a button lift that takes you up to the main area in Duved.
The hotel is clean and tidy the rooms are equiped with a TV, Hair dryer and Kettle on demand! a clothes dryer for those wet ski jackets and salopettes. The bathroom has a very power full shower and a endless supply of hot water. The rooms are very quite and have easy access to the lift.
The hotel has a Bar and Restaurant a lounge area and a childrens play room.

Board Basis - Half Board - Restaurant
The breakfast was a buffet self serve with cold meats, Cheeses and cereal. The most popular being the Waffle maker.
The Evening meal was a 2 course meal, the food was to a very high standard and would highly recommend eating in.

Skiing
The skiing caters for the beginner to the high intermediate. The runs were always groomed and a good supply of snow. The main lifts around the resort are T bars with a main 6 seater chair lift taking you to the top of the mountain. The views from the top are breath taking on a clear day! There was enough runs to keep my 12 and 16 yr olds busy for the first 4 days and then we ventured over to Are that has twice as many runs as Duved. The grading of runs were different as well with more Red/ Black runs.

Now for the Bad Points!!

The Hotel Renen is run by skistar but they have leased out the restaurant and Bar. The bar was mainly empty over the week we stayed with no entertainment apart from an open fire and the ocassional TV programme shown on a projector screen.
When eating in the restaurant we were not given an option for our 2 course meal. To the end of the holiday a forceful aproach with the waiter enabled the children to have burger and chips with a desert.

Duved is very quite at night and a bus ride into Are is strongly advisable.

I would recommend this hotel for the old couple or the skier who isnt interested in the apres skiing. The skiing is very good quality along with ski hire. The bus service was on time and regular and stopped off at all of the necessary resotrs.

  • Liked — The accommodation was very close to the ski slopes!
  • Disliked — The lack of enterainment and the choice of food from the menu!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonto37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

We chose the Renen Hotel for our first skiing trip this year, and had a terrific time.

The objective of a skiing holiday is obviously to spend as much time on the slopes as possible, and there are slopes within a 10 minute walk from the hotel, catering for the beginner as well as the more seasoned skiiers.

Duved is tucked away from the busier town centre of Are (accessible via direct bus) and served by a few restaurants, a handful of small shops and a colourful supermarket. When covered in snow, the area is breathtakingly beautiful.

The hotel is a cosy low-rise building with rooms arranged around an atrium that houses a homely bar and den. Adjacent to this is a simple but chic dining area where dinner is served. Our package included dinner, and there are different dishes each day, most of which are delicious and served piping-hot.

There is a separate breakfast room, light and airy, with a view of the baby slope across from the hotel, and a varied spread of cereals, dried fruit, and cooked items are served daily.

The room itself is warm and comfortable, and the attached bathroom is small but squeakily clean.

We have many happy memories of our stay at this lovely hotel and would recommend it to both families and young adults who are not keen to be right in the hustle and bustle of Are.

  • Liked — Comfortable, Cosy, Welcoming
  • Disliked — Room decor dated, but this is not a luxury hotel
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank sh022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duved
4.9 mi away
Holiday Club Are
Holiday Club Are
#4 of 9 in Are
366 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fjallgarden Hotel
Fjallgarden Hotel
#3 of 9 in Are
89 reviews
8.1 mi away
Copperhill Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Renen Duved
Renen Duved
#1 of 2 in Duved
6 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tott Hotel Are
Tott Hotel Are
#2 of 9 in Are
303 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Aregarden
Hotel Aregarden
#5 of 9 in Are
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Suites Renen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Suites Renen

Property: Quality Hotel & Suites Renen
Address: Hamrevagen 1, Duved, Are 830 15, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are > Duved
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Duved
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Quality Hotel & Suites Renen 1*
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Suites Renen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing