We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, about average for Swedish stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Borlange City
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Borlange
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Scandic Borlange was a very clean and quiet hotel. I would say that it was par for the 6 hotels we frequented on our trip to Sweden. Rooms are average sized, beds are comfortable, selection of television stations left something to be desired. Breakfast was fantastic, with the full spread that we came to expect from hotel stays. We stayed for one night while visiting some family sights in Torsangs.

We did not utilize the fitness center.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorDisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 272 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Scandic Borlange is a great hotel! Breakfast, although a bit boring after the 2nd day, was always tasty.

Clean and quiet with a freindly and helpful desk staff.

The location at the end of the main street in the Centrum section keeps you close to the shops etc but away from the clubbing that goes on at the other end of the street on the weekends.

Bed was fairly comfortable but the blanket situation was a bit strange as it seemed they gave me a blanket meant for a twin-sized bed. Maybe it was a european thing?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Postbro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have stayed on most of the hotels in Borlänge. Scandic is the winner! The staff both in reception and restaurantmakes the difference. Kind and friendly and makes sure that everything meets your expectation. Rooms are basic but well kept.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBxGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Borlänge is a small city about 250 km northwest of Stockholm. It is in the "region" of Dalarna and so does attracts some tourists. But the main business in Borlänge is the government institutions and some industrial factories.

Scandic is a nice hotel. I was upgraded to a junior suite but it is very clear that they are going through a process of refurbishing the rooms. My room was clean but felt a bit old. So if you book, ask for a refurbished room.

Staff is excellent, polite and makes sure your stay is enjoyable. Hotel bar is just adjacent to the reception but is good for a after work beer. What amazed me was the quality of the restaurant. A good selection from small basic dishes to some more advanced ones.

Internet Wifi is included in the room price and works in all common areas and most rooms.

The room itself as said before, felt a bit old and I do lack a proper walk-in shower. I had just a shower "wall" but the floor got all wet. Coffee maker with Nescafe and tea is pretty much standard in all Swedish hotels so no surprise.

I recommend this hotel if you have a layover in Borlänge but don't expect it to be romantic or cozy. It's in the very centre of Borlänge and has good and cheap parking facilities outside.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LennW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

Perfectly comfortable hotel. Cosy reception with nice staff. The room was a bit small but beautifully designed with flat screen TV.
Nice restaurang and breakfast very good. Travelled with family but also suitable for business.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CamillaLinköping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Morten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anders E, Försäljningschef at Scandic Borlange City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank Lyckselebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anders E, Försäljningschef at Scandic Borlange City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borlange
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Galaxen
Quality Hotel Galaxen
#1 of 8 in Borlange
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Brage
First Hotel Brage
#5 of 8 in Borlange
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Scandic Lugnet Falun
10.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bergmastaren
21.8 mi away
Hotel Moskogen
Hotel Moskogen
#1 of 3 in Leksand
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Borlange City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Borlange City

Address: 21-23 Stationsgatan, Borlange 784 33, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Dalarna County > Borlange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Borlange
Price Range: $124 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Borlange City 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located 200 meters from train station & 5 km from Dala Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Borlange City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Borlange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing