We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service at nice hotell with perfect location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Borlange
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Romme Alpin Ski Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Borlange
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service at nice hotell with perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Situated right by the piste this is a good base for your weekend visit to Romme.
Pros: Modern and practial room. Ski in - ski out. Free wifi. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast and ok dinner buffet. Playgrounds for children.
Cons: No safety deposit box. No fridge (yes I know, you're supposed to order your beer at the bar :) ) . If you don't like children running along, go somewhere else because there are a lot of them here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This really is a great place to ski with children! Lots of lovely long green and blue runs through the trees and hardly any queues. Ski lesson were excellent too. Nursery slopes and main chairlift about 10 metres from Lodge entrance. Accommodation was good, the playroom a real bonus children happily played and made new friends while we enjoyed the après ski! Food was ok and good value if you get the package, the children's buffet was very popular! alcoholic drinks were expensive but we expected that. Overall would definitely recommend being a bit brave and trying alternative to usual alps destinations we will probably go again next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthieB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I remember when this hotel didn't even exist... I remember when all you had there was a tiny little burger place. What an improvement! You no longer have to live somewhere else and drive in to the slopes. Yes system is tiny and when we were there last time there was no snow so most of the slopes were closed... but the staff and the hotel itself made up for it. The room was lovely and we could bring our dog. The staff was great with him and even looked after him here and there when we headed into Borlange and he was a bit bored. The food was great - apart from the breakfast which wasn't very impressive unfortunately. The locker system - each hotel room has a locker to store equipment in was great!

I did miss a sauna and a swimming pool though. That had been nice.

We didn't have any small children with us, we simply wanted a small getaway and didn't want to have to travel too far. There was plenty for kids to do though and on Christmas eve Santa came skiing down to the lodge and came in with presents to everyone which was very appreciated. He stayed to take pictures as well. There is table tennis to play in the lobby and a room with a cinema screen and toys. I would imagine it to be a great place for a family with young kids.

Room Tip: If you, like we did, travel with pets choose a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malin_Gisela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Positive: Good skiiing condition for the whole family. Good for family with kids.
Good and experianced skiing instructor.

Negative: Food overprized and not worth the money. They try to deliver qualtity and variety but never really live up to expactations. Monopolistic prizing realy gives Romme Alpin a very neagtive rating from me.
You tend to find much better value for money when it comes to commendation, food and skiing only one hour drive further north.
The rooms lack a frigde which you could have use for if traveling with small children.

Good if you only come here for a day trip but not for longer stay.
I was here the last time and wont get back here any time soon.

Room Tip: Cheapest will do nothing bad to say about rooms and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

I can only agree with the previous reviewer, this was spot on for a mini holiday with skiing with the children. Perfect location, small system but that is no disadvantage with small children, good wholesome restaurant, impeccable staff, the only minus was cleaning of room prior to arrival which was fixed after informing reception.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joacim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

This is one of those things that the Swedish do well at when it comes to hotels (don't get me wrong I'm very critical of Swedish hotels in general - poor value and stroppy service is more the norm). We went for the Easter weekend from Thursday to Sunday (I think there are three options, - check online):

- 1 week
- 3 nights/4 days skiing (Thursday to Sunday)
- 4 nights/5 days skiing (Sunday to Thursday)

The ski lodge is incredible value. We went for the half board option which included a breakfast and dinner. The dining area is very beautiful in that it is one large two story room with central fireplace. For the breakfast there is an excellent buffet with English/Continental/Swedish (herring & salmon) 5 out of 5. For the dinner there are two sittings (i) 5:30pm and (ii) 7:30pm. Steer clear of the earlier one unless you have young children. Even then turn up at 6:00pm when the crowds have died down. The buffet was excellent and there was a bar and a la carte service (didn't use). was it haute cuisine? No. But it hit the spot perfectly as there was plenty of choice for children and adults. 5 out 5.

The only criticism I heard was if you are eating at 7:30pm there is a big time gap between when the pistes close (4:00pm) and when you sit down to eat. Maybe an extra hour on the slopes for Summer Time would be helpful (hint, hint!). I didn't notice any cross country skiing but somebody can correct me.

We had a 6 bedroom duplex (2 on the upper level). Think of it more as a cabin. Very new and thoughtfully laid out. Drying cupboard for ski gear, 6 of everything in terms of hanging space (the upper level could have done with extra drawers). Top mattresses had habit of slipping off beds but pillows were very comfortable. Be prepared room is NOT cleaned during stay. More storage for skis downstairs. Every room has own locker that can hold 6 pairs of skis.

Apres ski is perfect for children (movies at 6:30 and 8:00pm), playroom, table tennis and a very accommodating attitude by the staff.

In terms of the skiing, it is a small system with about 25 pistes (some black runs). The hotel is 10m from the piste and there are 2 or 3 days schools for children. Again I would stress that for children the ski system is perfect. For teenagers there is a snow park (though they may suffer from lack of night-life during the evening).

Price wise it's not cheap but offers incredible value for money (the children's buffet worked out cheaper than a happy meal). On the 3 day card after you pay for the room, the half board (x3) and ski passes (x4) worked out at less than SEK 1000 per adult!!

I'd say the one thing that really made it perfect (and this is rare in Sweden), the staff were impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble. They were young, dedicated and always had a smile on their face. Oh, free high speed Wi-Fi in rooms and reception.

Everyone we met tried to book for 2011 (although reservations weren't yet open). We will be back at least twice next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EtoileBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borlange
6.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Galaxen
Quality Hotel Galaxen
#1 of 8 in Borlange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel
17.1 mi away
First Hotel Grand Falun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
First Hotel Brage
First Hotel Brage
#5 of 8 in Borlange
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.6 mi away
Scandic Borlange City
Scandic Borlange City
#2 of 8 in Borlange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
17.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bergmastaren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romme Alpin Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romme Alpin Ski Lodge

Property: Romme Alpin Ski Lodge
Address: 111 Koppslahyttan, Borlange 781 98, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Dalarna County > Borlange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Borlange
Number of rooms: 169
Also Known As:
Romme Alpin Ski Hotel Borlange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing