We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and facilities in one” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selma Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Selma Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunne
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service and facilities in one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Cam to check in very early not expecting room to be ready. Were greated by great staff and were able to leave our bags and make use of spa facilities directly until room was ready. All around good service with no negitive aspect at all (and I am fussy).

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites with 2 levels, what amazing views of sunsets and sunrises over the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcd1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    140
    72
    44
    27
See reviews for
78
175
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel is a wonderful place to be in if you need pease and relaxation. The spa area was good, the pool are very nice.

The room I was in where clean and charming. The restaurant were expensive and the food was ok. Not gourmet but ok.

I would like to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkedsmoNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

+ Loungemusic in the big and nice lobby, where it is possible to sit and have a drink or work.
+ Swimming pool and Gym available, more machines would be nice
+ WIFI access in all rooms.
+ Big breakfast buffet.
+ Sun terrace during summer.
- Breakfast only after 7 o´clock in the morning.
- Menu in the restaurant could offer more items.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very nice hotel with an exellent resturant, and a nice SPA part including pools and bath barrels outside.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BengtO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I travel to this place every year and it is always as good. The massages they offer are worth the money and the hotel rooms big and comfortable. Might be that I am a yearly costumer that I get special treatment, however I still think the hotel is a peaceful and nice place.
Not a very big fan of the food however.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jar, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel offers two rooms, basic and standard. We had the standard, but were first given a 'basic'. The basic is the worst room I've ever seen. Looked like something you'd find in motel that hasn't been refurbished since the 70s in a remote town.

The we got a second 'standard' room, which was better, but not good. They've obviously done a cheap makeover, refurbishing the part that don't cost much, keeping the old stuff that would cost more to fix (the bath).

The bath has been through a lot of changes, which is evident by all the holes in the tiles on the wall, showing how they've moved and replaced soap dispensers, towel hangers and the like.

The AC control unit has not been changed and is the brown-ish color that white plastic gets when it's been around for 20+ years.

When we were going to bed the first day, our room was humid and very warm and there was no way of turning on the AC. We called the reception who sent maintenance to our room, but they were not able to fix the 20+ year AC either. So, at 1AM we had to pack up our things and move rooms again (second time).

The pool area is good, space wise, however just like the rooms they are aged and filthy. I would suggest that this hotel closes down for a week and clean the pool and its surroundings as they are areas where the filth is in plain sight.

I have included pictures of the filthy bathroom in this review.

On the plus side, the trails for running just outside of the hotel are brilliant.

Room Tip: Stay away in general, but not under any circumstance should you opt for budget rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mortenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunne hotels

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. We also had our dog with us. The checkin time was 15:00 but we where there 1 hour to early, I have never been talked to in such a rude and unproffessional way. We had palnned to stay 2 nights but cancelled. The room was ok, I bit oldfashion but clean.
The SPA facilities were very good, but pricey
The summer buffé was ok but not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCAndersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunne
22.2 mi away
Scandic Arvika
Scandic Arvika
#1 of 3 in Arvika
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
22.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bristol
0.0 mi away
Laholmen Hotel
Laholmen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Stromstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ulvsby Herrgard
Ulvsby Herrgard
#1 of 3 in Sunne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.0 mi away
Prostgarden
Prostgarden
#1 of 7 in Sunne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Broby Inn
Hotel Broby Inn
#3 of 3 in Sunne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selma Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selma Spa

Property: Selma Spa
Address: Sundsberget 3, Sunne 686 28, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Sunne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sunne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Selma Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Several times award winning Selma Spa+ is situated in the beautiful Fryken Valley (Fryksdalen) in Värmland. We offer you an uforgettable stay at our spa in the Swedish countryside, with a splendid view of Lake Fryken and the wilds of Värmland just around the corner. You may choose from from a variety of delights, everything from one of our lovely relaxing facial treatments to wines from one of the best wine cellars in Sweden.We have received some harsh reviews regarding our rooms and the spaarea before. But please note that the spa-area is newly renowated (summer of 2012), our Superior rooms have been renovated in the spring of 2013. The Standard rooms are from 2006, so none of the rooms have the style of 1991 anymore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Selma Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing