We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value close to Monet's garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Marcel
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as it was close to Monet's garden - about a five minute drive. Although the room was small it was fine for one night. Too cramped for any longer. The shutter system on the windows was excellent (electrically operated with switch by the light switch at the door) as it shut out all the light and noise from the nearby main road. We were pleasantly surprised by the high standard of the food in the dining room (22 euros for two superb courses). Could not fault it and would certainly go back to eat there if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz186389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

I travel often to Vernon for business, and I've tested almost all the hotels on the area.
The baryton is a good hotel, the hotel rooms are average, but the restaurant is excellent, real good quality food, smiling service. I recomend to take the "soirée etapeé, room + restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccompagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Madame Duval and her daughter are charming and polite people..Whilst it is useful to speak
some French I cannot imagine them being other than helpful and pleasant to anyone who cannot.
The restaurant is excellent but is closed on Sundays..My experience is based on several visits

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

When traveling, one also expect assistance in special situations.
dont expect to get it from this hotel.
we forgot a jacket in the hotel, only to realize it upon arriving honfleur kyriad hotel. the
hotel called them, asking to forward the jacket to diana hotel in paris and charge any cost to our credit card,to which they did not agree.
after long discussion they finallly agreed to forward it to paris on a collect basis,to be paid by the hotel, to which the paris hotel agreed.
the jacket was not sent. apparently they changed their mind, as they decided that we should forward them a prepaid carton to be used for shipment.

needless to say that we left france without it.
if you can, avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank arieh032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Set in a hamlet 4km. from Giverny, Barton Restaurant /Hotel exceeded our expectations for a 2 star. The family-run 35 room inn was clean, had a small area for drinks, a patio and very good food, leaving time to relax without searching for a restaurant. Breakfast was generous. The modest rooms were adequate and in good condition, accessed by stairs with comfortable, clean beds. The rural setting, but near a town and garden meant we awoke to birds chirping and was quiet, all at modest cost. It's proximity to Monet''s home and garden made it very convenient.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, ask for the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamela092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I picked the Hotel Restaurant Baryton from one of those online booking sites. I was looking for somewhere reasonably clean to stay for a weekend for a wedding. First, let me say that the photos on the website looked nothing like the actual property. The "restaurant" in the name is also misleading as we arrived at 20:30 but were told the restaurant would not serve us. (When we asked for some local suggestions, we got the typical Gallic shrug). Secondly, the rooms are beyond small - I think I've been in bathrooms that were bigger! The rooms have a crazy shutter system that is not explained or intuitive - so make sure you ask about it. The towels are small and only 2 are provided - and they give a bit of attitude if you ask for more. What was also interesting was the big "No dogs" sign on the door, and then coming downstairs to find a HUGE dog in the lobby. I'm not sure what kind it was but it was almost as big as me and extremely off-putting. The hotel was dark and not very welcoming at all. It almost seemed like they didn't want business. Also, don't pay for breakfast - there is nothing hot and it consists of a few tiny pieces of cheese, meat and hard croissants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliavoyage11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The hotel is situated on the edge of industrial Vernon, 70 metres from the main Rouen road but there was little noise intrusion. Plenty of parking. The staff of this family-run hotel were a bit stiff when we arrived (too early for the advertised booking in time but they eventually accepted us an hour early once the room was ready), but their attitude improved during our stay. Speaking French helps. There is no lift, the stair carpet was "grubby", but the staircase is wide enough and not steep. Our room was on the small side, but clean, and everything worked in the bathroom. Nevertheless I believe the price was somewhat expensive for what we got - €75 per night for a twin. Dinner in the restaurant was fine, well cooked and presented (€15 for plat du jour, 2 courses) but pre-dinner drinks were pricey (€5.50 for 50cl beer, €8 for a gin and tonic). Breakfast (€10.30) was good with a wide selection of breads, croissants, cold meats etc. In summary this was an adequate, average, 2 star family hotel, in easy reach of Vernon centre and Giverny and OK for a short stay, perhaps aimed more at the business traveller than tourists. For my next trip to Vernon I think we'll return to the Hotel d'Evreux in the town centre where we enjoyed our 2010 stay.

Room Tip: Noise insulation is OK but if you don't sleep well ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaffer837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Marcel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 2 in Vernon
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
#4 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
94 reviews
8.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Les Canisses
Les Canisses
#1 of 2 in Le Goulet
187 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mont Vernon
Hotel Mont Vernon
#3 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Baryton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Baryton

Address: 2 rue des Acacias | Bp 2226, 27950 Saint-Marcel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Saint-Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Marcel
Price Range: $108 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Baryton 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel is fully fitted with 35 splendid refurbished rooms, all equiped with telephons, free wifi,TV LCD, 22 channels, canal+ satellite TV and bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Baryton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Baryton France/Saint-Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing