We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest price, good food & cleanliness in a country setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Marcel
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modest price, good food & cleanliness in a country setting”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Set in a hamlet 4km. from Giverny, Barton Restaurant /Hotel exceeded our expectations for a 2 star. The family-run 35 room inn was clean, had a small area for drinks, a patio and very good food, leaving time to relax without searching for a restaurant. Breakfast was generous. The modest rooms were adequate and in good condition, accessed by stairs with comfortable, clean beds. The rural setting, but near a town and garden meant we awoke to birds chirping and was quiet, all at modest cost. It's proximity to Monet''s home and garden made it very convenient.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, ask for the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
4
33
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I picked the Hotel Restaurant Baryton from one of those online booking sites. I was looking for somewhere reasonably clean to stay for a weekend for a wedding. First, let me say that the photos on the website looked nothing like the actual property. The "restaurant" in the name is also misleading as we arrived at 20:30 but were told the restaurant would not serve us. (When we asked for some local suggestions, we got the typical Gallic shrug). Secondly, the rooms are beyond small - I think I've been in bathrooms that were bigger! The rooms have a crazy shutter system that is not explained or intuitive - so make sure you ask about it. The towels are small and only 2 are provided - and they give a bit of attitude if you ask for more. What was also interesting was the big "No dogs" sign on the door, and then coming downstairs to find a HUGE dog in the lobby. I'm not sure what kind it was but it was almost as big as me and extremely off-putting. The hotel was dark and not very welcoming at all. It almost seemed like they didn't want business. Also, don't pay for breakfast - there is nothing hot and it consists of a few tiny pieces of cheese, meat and hard croissants.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliavoyage11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The hotel is situated on the edge of industrial Vernon, 70 metres from the main Rouen road but there was little noise intrusion. Plenty of parking. The staff of this family-run hotel were a bit stiff when we arrived (too early for the advertised booking in time but they eventually accepted us an hour early once the room was ready), but their attitude improved during our stay. Speaking French helps. There is no lift, the stair carpet was "grubby", but the staircase is wide enough and not steep. Our room was on the small side, but clean, and everything worked in the bathroom. Nevertheless I believe the price was somewhat expensive for what we got - €75 per night for a twin. Dinner in the restaurant was fine, well cooked and presented (€15 for plat du jour, 2 courses) but pre-dinner drinks were pricey (€5.50 for 50cl beer, €8 for a gin and tonic). Breakfast (€10.30) was good with a wide selection of breads, croissants, cold meats etc. In summary this was an adequate, average, 2 star family hotel, in easy reach of Vernon centre and Giverny and OK for a short stay, perhaps aimed more at the business traveller than tourists. For my next trip to Vernon I think we'll return to the Hotel d'Evreux in the town centre where we enjoyed our 2010 stay.

Room Tip: Noise insulation is OK but if you don't sleep well ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaffer837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel. I had reserved a room by telephone and e-mail (to which I never received a reply) for relatives. I had also confirmed the reservation by phone the day before their arrival. When they arrived, they were told that there was no reservation for the first night (4 october 2011), but were told that they could come back the folowing night. Upon enquiry, it transpired that the hotel had noted down the wrong dates. No apology was offered for this mistake, and it was only upon insisting with the personnel that an alternative was found. When I protested this behaviour offered to an elderly, foreign couple, the hotel staff put the phone down on me.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Although the room was clean and presentable, the hotel staff/managers/owners were extremely rude and obviously couldn't have cared less if we were their paying guests or not! The advertised restaurant within the hotel remained closed the entire time we were there and again the hotel staff couldn't have cared less! The staff were only concerned about serving beer to the business travellers and were not at all hospitable nor helpful to foreign tourists! I would not recommend this as a hotel for foreign visitors, even despite it's proximity to Giverny and Monets Garden!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gungahlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

good hotel, very good location if you have a car. Very nicly decorated and refreshing colors. Nice, but rather expensive breakfeast (Euro 10). Rooms for the price rather small. But clean and practical and quiete.
Nice restaurant with good meals, reasonable price.

Hotel could be recomended fully. But the athmosphere of the staff (family) is very reserved, if not cold. Not helpful to give information. No tips, no information about the region available 'Go and ask in tourist office' is their attitude.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietro987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We booked the Baryton purely because of it's location close to Giveny.. but will be going back at the first opportunity, to experience the great restaurant again - surely worth a 5 star rating all by itself!
Everyone very friendly and helpful in spite of only speaking a little English ( hardly surprising really - this is in France!) Clean and comfortable rooms, 2 star prices, and everything done with a nice sense of style - excellent!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyriderRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Marcel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#2 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
#4 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
265 reviews
3.2 mi away
Les Canisses
Les Canisses
#1 of 2 in Le Goulet
153 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Baryton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Baryton

Property: Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Address: 2 rue des Acacias | BP 2226, 27950 Saint-Marcel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Saint-Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Baryton 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel is fully fitted with 35 splendid refurbished rooms, all equiped with telephons, free wifi,TV LCD, 22 channels, canal+ satellite TV and bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Baryton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Baryton France/Saint-Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing