We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untrustworthy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Marcel
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel. I had reserved a room by telephone and e-mail (to which I never received a reply) for relatives. I had also confirmed the reservation by phone the day before their arrival. When they arrived, they were told that there was no reservation for the first night (4 october 2011), but were told that they could come back the folowing night. Upon enquiry, it transpired that the hotel had noted down the wrong dates. No apology was offered for this mistake, and it was only upon insisting with the personnel that an alternative was found. When I protested this behaviour offered to an elderly, foreign couple, the hotel staff put the phone down on me.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Michaelawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 110 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

Although the room was clean and presentable, the hotel staff/managers/owners were extremely rude and obviously couldn't have cared less if we were their paying guests or not! The advertised restaurant within the hotel remained closed the entire time we were there and again the hotel staff couldn't have cared less! The staff were only concerned about serving beer to the business travellers and were not at all hospitable nor helpful to foreign tourists! I would not recommend this as a hotel for foreign visitors, even despite it's proximity to Giverny and Monets Garden!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gungahlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

good hotel, very good location if you have a car. Very nicly decorated and refreshing colors. Nice, but rather expensive breakfeast (Euro 10). Rooms for the price rather small. But clean and practical and quiete.
Nice restaurant with good meals, reasonable price.

Hotel could be recomended fully. But the athmosphere of the staff (family) is very reserved, if not cold. Not helpful to give information. No tips, no information about the region available 'Go and ask in tourist office' is their attitude.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pietro987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We booked the Baryton purely because of it's location close to Giveny.. but will be going back at the first opportunity, to experience the great restaurant again - surely worth a 5 star rating all by itself!
Everyone very friendly and helpful in spite of only speaking a little English ( hardly surprising really - this is in France!) Clean and comfortable rooms, 2 star prices, and everything done with a nice sense of style - excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyriderRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

For a 2 star hotel, this is slightly overpriced, however the restaurant is superb (minus the tacky decor) with a very interesting gourmet menu.
The rooms are a bit dated, but are clean and comfortable.
The beds and linen are comparable to a 4 star hotel (one of the best nights sleep I've had in a while!)
The service is great, very professional and always willing to help with reccommendations, directions etc..
Location is a bit secluded, in the industrial end of Vernon, so is best those with a car..
Windows shut out most of the traffic noise, but would have been nice not to have to...

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel overlooking the acreage out back for a bit more peace and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Although being at the far end of Vernon, this is a good base to visit Giverny (there's no traffic jam there). The hotel appearance is not great and feels more like a motel (not helped by the fact it is at the end of some kind of industrial estate); the good point being free parking. It is also quieter than it might appear, tucked behind a railway line and a main road, thanks mostly to quality double glazing and electric shutters. The other half of the hotel is facing a meadow, emphasizing the blank feel, but then, it's better than the road.
The staff is a bit rough but fair. There are two floors and no lift, which is surprising in this day and age. The staircase is wide, so bulky suitcases are all right, but heavy ones will be a struggle.
The rooms are on the small side but with everything (basic) you want: the bed is comfy, the LCD TV is big enough. The bathroom is also on the small side but everything is there, even wood flooring, which looks nice but seem a bit out of place with an otherwise blank, verging on the 90's, design. Everything seems clean, but if you look close enough, you'll start noticing things you'd rather not have seen (colourful lime scale, mould, and so on); you've been warned. If your gaze stays on the TV, you'll be fine. I've also found the strong "cleaning product" smell a bit weird, especially as it's not that clean: this is a bit like if the rooms were all "smoker" recently and they are trying to mask the cigarette smell with (bad) artificial scents. Good news: you can open the windows.
We didn't try the restaurant, but the breakfast was good, varied and priced about right (~10 euros).
We did book last minute, so this was fine way to be near Giverny, but if I had time, I'd try the hotels or B&B in Giverny, which is a much nicer alternative than Vernon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LocAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Good stay to visit Giverny. Staff speaks very very limited English so it was hard to communicate. They were kind enough to put there big black dog away as one of my friends is terrified of dogs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjmjmj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Marcel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 2 in Vernon
239 reviews
8.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,129 reviews
3.4 mi away
Les Canisses
Les Canisses
#1 of 2 in Le Goulet
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
Kyriad Vernon St Marcel
#4 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
94 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Haut Marais
Hotel du Haut Marais
#2 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Baryton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Baryton

Address: 2 rue des Acacias | Bp 2226, 27950 Saint-Marcel, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Saint-Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Marcel
Price Range: $104 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Baryton 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel is fully fitted with 35 splendid refurbished rooms, all equiped with telephons, free wifi,TV LCD, 22 channels, canal+ satellite TV and bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Baryton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Baryton France/Saint-Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing