We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe I'm getting tolerant in my old age!”

Grand Hotel de la Gare
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel de la Gare
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Evreux
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Let's get down to basics. Evreux is a small town an hour by train outside Paris, deep in Normandie. The cathedral is possibly the best in Europe. Bars and cafes are superb. The Mata Hari restaurant is worth the trip alone.
The Grand Hotel de la Gare was once a little ragged, but they have refurbished it and now it's OK. You need to understand the French and then you will be fine. This is a hotel for people arriving by train. If you have a car you have more choice. My room was clean, the bedding clean, the bathroom clean. Breakfast was meager but excellent coffee from the cafe which is frequented by locals and very pleasant. The bar downstairs is also frequented by locals and their dogs. A wonderful place if you are prepared to absorb the ambiance of a small town French bar cafe. The receptionist also serves in the cafe, but is the epitome of French charm and politeness. My conversation with her was like a free french lesson.
Of course you pay up front. There is no checkout! My room was serviced on day 1. All towels changed etc.

This is real France. Take it or leave it. Price was 125 euro for two nights; about right.

Room Tip: Not facing station and street might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shepleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Possibly the worst hotel we have ever stayed at! No real reception, book in at bar next door. Restaurant closed for a month. No evidence of refurbishment, shabby. We on second floor up a staircase with a filthy carpet. Room tiny, bedding clean. Bathroom scruffy only towels for one person and toilet not really clean. Good to have a car park. Town quite a walk away and we had to drive around to find somewhere to eat. No staff around that we could see. Sadly this was not a happy experience, nor was it a particularly cheap one.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tasmin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is one of the few hotels in the town centre but really could do better. The receptionist was disorganized and we had to ask her twice for towels. The room was tiny, barely big enough for a single let alone a double but it was quiet being away from the busy road. The whole place had a rather drab appearance. The location is good, a short walk from the centre and right opposite the train station. There is a private, free carpark with a limited number of spaces but tricky to get into unless you have a Mini! We scraped our car on the wall. Breakfast is taken in the pleasant cafe/cake shop attached to the hotel and is adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road - but be warned, it may be very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobcat605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was pre booked as our first over night stop on a motorcycle tour From the UK to Spain. We arrived at 8.45pm to find the receptionist about to go home, so we were lucky??? to have got there when we did. It was insisted we pay in full at check-in, 74 Euros for room and continental breakfast. Restaurant was closed and no restaurants nearby, had to settle for a Dominoes Pizza, couldn't even buy a beer. The room had no welcome tray. tea, coffee etc. No hair drier, no facilities at all, the shower had no where to hook it up so you had to hold it above your head. The shelf above the basin was hanging off the wall. No one in reception to report to so had to put up with it. We were due to stop here again on the way back, We cancelled it and booked in else where.

Room Tip: Do not book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 901Mark901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited this hotel as a group of 9 male golfers and were treated handsomely with a very good deal. The hotel is opposite the rail station and by a main road but the double glazing keeps any noise out of the front facing rooms. The food was superb and the rooms ,though basic, were immaculate and maintained each day as such. The staff at all times couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: ask for rooms overlooking the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambre sans vue, proximité des évacuations d'eau des autres chambres, bruits de radio, genre ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goubertlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joker-68-54-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evreux hotels
0.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel de l'Orme
Inter-Hotel de l'Orme
#7 of 15 in Evreux
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Logis Normandy Hotel
Logis Normandy Hotel
#6 of 15 in Evreux
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Palais Des Congres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kyriad Evreux - La Madeleine
1.3 mi away
Brit Hotel La Bonne Etape
0.6 mi away
Ibis budget Evreux Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Gare

Address: 61 boulevard Gambetta, 27000 Evreux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Evreux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Evreux
Price Range: $67 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel de la Gare 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing