We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Normandy sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It's located in an industrial park area west of Caen center with plenty of parking and easy road access to exit 5 on the Peripherique (autoroute). The decor is a bit tired and dated (bright orange accents in the room) but the room itself was just fine. It's average in size but does have air conditioning, a flatscreen TV, and a modern bathroom. The desk staff was excellent, spoke perfect English, and were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was generally good although the eggs were not always hot. We selected this location to use it as a base for the Normandy area and it worked out very well so we were able to get to the various sights in 60 minutes (the beaches) to 90 minutes (Mont St. Michel). As with all European hotels, book the room with breakfast included. Really only one restaurant is within walking distance.

Room Tip: We were in 142, which was just about as far away from the lobby as you could get, so it was very qui...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions de vos commentaires.

Très cordialement.

Jérome FONTAINE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 335 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel is located in an industrial park. Safe area but not much around. A tram stop is right across the street to get to the center of Caen...worth a trip.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I asked for a particular restaurant and they looked it up while I was out. Upon return they had the restaurant and a map waiting for me.
Breakfast is typical European. Not great but edible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaywardTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013
Google Translation

Merci pour votre message. Avec votre permission, je transmets volontiers cet avis à nos équipes.

Salutations distinguées.

Jérome FONTAINE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The front desk staff members were friendly and helpful. Accurate information was provided regarding places to visit. Called for taxis promptly and followed up right away when taxi was not on time. The staff spoke English very well which is important for those of us who are not fluent in French. The dining experience was delightful. Somewhat pricey for dinner but well presented. Breakfast buffet had a good variety. It was also a pleasant surprise that there was no charge for seniors like my husband and I.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank myrna_creasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions de votre message et vous prions d'agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l'expression de nos salutations distinguées.

Jérome FONTAINE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed on a short break . Went to the D day beachs and it was an ideal hotel . Very friendly staff . Great breakfast and very clean. U even get a kettle in your room . Rare in France . Would recomend to anyone . There is a tram into Caen every 20 mins from outside the hotel .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Madame, Monsieur,

Merci pour votre message. Avec votre permission, je transmets volontiers cet avis à nos équipes

En espérant vous revoir dans notre ville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and we just made all the short excursions to nearby places.The hotel was clean the room was ok with nothing luxurious.To be honest I expected something better for the room than what I found,fo a mercure hotel.
But I repeat the room was clean and quiet a little out of the center of Caen

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,

Nous avons bien pris en compte votre avis suite à votre séjour dans notre établissement.
Nous transmettons votre commentaire au personnel des étages en charge du nettoyage des chambres.

Cordialement.

Jérome FONTAINE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very welcoming. Very comfortable. Very good value for money! Have stayed here over the years and standards have never varied. Good with groups and individuals alike. Good location making for easy access to town centre and the beaches and battlefields.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pompadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Sirs,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stays in our hotel and we thank you.

Yours faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

An excellent choice to stay!

I loved this visit! It's just north of Caen. From here it was a quick and easy journey to the Normandy Dday beaches, Luc-Sur Mer (worth a visit for the beach), Bayeaux tapestry etc.

My friend and I asked for a twin room and received a triple. It was quite spacious and clean. The staff were super friendly and the whole place felt safe and cared for. It was an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room facing the parking lot. It was quiet and quite secure.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnappyPeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herouville-Saint-Clair
0.8 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
2.0 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
2.0 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
#2 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carline
Hotel Carline
#17 of 41 in Caen
210 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel

Address: 2 Place Boston | Citis, 14200 Herouville-Saint-Clair, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Herouville-Saint-Clair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Herouville-Saint-Clair
Price Range: $92 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With great road transport links, and close to the tram station, this 4-star hotel offers spacious, air-conditioned rooms. Ideally situated within easy reach of the D-Day beaches, a stay here is a great opportunity to explore the pearls of the Côte de Nacre. This is a perfect haven of peace and relaxation for business travellers and families alike. It is also a great venue for events and business seminars as well as for leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Cote De Nacre Hotel Herouville Saint Clair
Mercure Herouville Saint Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing