We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Location okay. Large Carrefour store nearby. Dinner and breakfst at hotel were not good. Staff was extremely pleasant. Nice sense of humor. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 342 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

Really great location and lovely hotel. Friendly staff. Clean modern rooms. Near to trams that run very frequently in to centre of Caen. Safe free parking facility. Sufficient breakfast and my husband and I had an extremely pleasant evening meal at the hotel. Would very much recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We chose this hotel fore a number of reasons:-
- quiet location and large (free) car park
- ease of getting into Caen city centre
- close proximity to Caen Peace Memorial.

There can’t be many hotels that fulfil all of these criteria so well. The hotel is situated in an industrial part of the suburbs of Caen which might not seem the ideal location, but we were pleasantly delighted with our choice. Being in the suburbs (but only minutes from the busy Caen North pérephérique) the hotel is definitely quiet and has a huge free car park attached. There is a Twisto tram service (the stop into the city was located just a few minutes away on Boulevard Henri Becquerel) providing a frequent and easy service into the city (€1.20 single for a 15 minute journey) operating throughout most of the day/evening. A Carrefour hypermarché is only 5 minutes drive away for any of those forgotten holiday essentials. The hotel has a very helpful and friendly reception (Victoria speaks perfect English) and nothing is too much trouble. There is an extensive buffet breakfast (€14 per head) with every taste and requirement catered for. There was even a Bio section available. The evening meals covered traditional French/International cuisine which although were very well presented were probably a bit pricey, but to be expected of a hotel restaurant. That being the case, we ventured into the city on the second evening and had a very enjoyable crêpe at La Ficelle in rue de Bernières.

Visiting the Caen Peace Memorial was easily reached by car in less than 15 minutes. Car park was quite small so early arrival desirable. Well worth a full day exploring and taking in the events of the previous World Wars. There was a representation of the Berlin Wall (sorry, walls !!) which was utterly amazing.

Would highly recommend the hotel for anyone wishing to have a quiet restful stay and/or visit the Caen Peace Memorial. We stayed for two nights on route to Vannes but made the most of the experience whist we were there.

Room Tip: Rooms are far enough away from the road not to be noisy. We had room 217 - no problem. Hotel recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norfolktraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

stayed there for 2 nights, nothing to complain, quick checkin, nice friendly staff, parking is free, place is easy to reach by car, and tram will take you to downtown Caen

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for several days in June as part of a trip with friends to Normandy. The rooms were clean, and while not overly spacious, they were roomy by European standards. The beds and bedding were comfortable and it was quiet due to the fact we were placed in a wing separate from the tour buses that seemed to come in and out every day.

The location was very good, easy access to highways and near a shopping center with a large supermarket. We made good use of the supermarket one day to buy picnic supplies for our trip to Omaha Beach. The parking lot was large, secure and free.

The desk staff were very friendly and helpful, as were the restaurant staff. We spoke no French, or at least not enough to do any real good, and they spoke very little English, but we managed just fine and had several very good meals here.

Although it did not present any problem for us, this hotel if greatly utilized by bus tours. Several times the lobby was near to bursting with people and it was quite loud. Strangely enough, a group of school children (approximately 10-12 years old) were much quieter and better behaved than the older groups we encountered. But as I said earlier, we were in a different part of the hotel and had no problems with noise.

The only thing that I would suggest to the hotel is a mirror over the desk. There is no electrical outlet in the bathroom for a curling iron, etc. and no mirror where there was an outlet in the room. There were a couple of bad hair days while there since I couldn't see what I was doing.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in a room away from the tour groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Edge of town location but convenient for large supermarket and two stops for the inexpensive and frequent trams into Caen.
Easy to locate. Good parking.
Good menu choice in the restaurant.
All the staff that we came into contact with were helpful and friendly, most spoke good english.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetCorvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Edge of town location but convenient for large supermarket and two stops for the inexpensive and frequent trams into Caen.
Easy to locate. Good parking.
Good menu choice in the restaurant.
All the staff that we came into contact with were helpful and friendly, most spoke good english.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This short break started off with the nightmare of the hotel receptionist saying “sorry are you sure you have booked under this name”. On production of the confirmation that was sent to us, the apologises stated to come so we were put into one of the old rooms with single beds (this was a romantic break without the kids). We were encouraged however with the promise of a move to a new updated room in the morning and the promise that the manager would compensate us for the inconvenience. Morning came and a move to the best room was forthcoming with again sincere apologies from the receptionist (no manager). The hotel is in a great location to explore all of the D-Day attractions and with a hop on the tram just outside the hotel front door for 2 euros you are dropped off in the centre of Caen. The food inside the hotel is good but expensive and forget the drinks as they are a rip off. Breakfast was excellent, make sure you book this as part of your package otherwise you will end up paying over the top for this. No compensation was given on check out which left a us a little deflated after all that was done to try and fix the problem, we were told that they had received our booking but someone had thrown it away before putting it into the system and that we were lucky to get a room as the night before we arrived it was fully booked. The manager was called at home by the receptionist but he refused to recognize that he should do anything. I am sure his skills in customer services are taken from the “ fawlty towers” book of hotel management, he should look to his staff as they are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank overlord6644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON14200, Directeur at Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour, Madame, Monsieur,

Merci de vos sympathiques commentaires.
La chaîne Mercure est présente uniformément sur le territoire français. C'est une chaîne qui n'est pas stéréotypée, qui préfère l'authenticité du terroir. C'est pourquoi vous allez à la découverte de chaque hôtel avec une envie immense.
Pour notre part nous faisons des travaux sur notre parking pour le sécuriser encore plus.
Très cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herouville-Saint-Clair
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
#2 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
433 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
6.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Caen Herouville Savary
Ibis Caen Herouville Savary
#4 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
3 mi away
Hotel Libera Caen Colombelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel

Address: 2 Place Boston | Citis, 14200 Herouville-Saint-Clair, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Herouville-Saint-Clair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Herouville-Saint-Clair
Price Range: $91 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With great road transport links, and close to the tram station, this 4-star hotel offers spacious, air-conditioned rooms. Ideally situated within easy reach of the D-Day beaches, a stay here is a great opportunity to explore the pearls of the Côte de Nacre. This is a perfect haven of peace and relaxation for business travellers and families alike. It is also a great venue for events and business seminars as well as for leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Cote De Nacre Hotel Herouville Saint Clair
Mercure Herouville Saint Clair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing