We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does a good job at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Caen Nord
west country
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Does a good job at a reasonable price”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Part of the Campanile chain so a lot of things are predictable, such as layout, room decor etc. Free wifi is really useful and still not common in many French hotels. Bedrooms have yet to be modernised and 2 bedside tables would be good (just one at present).
I particularly like the fact that Campanile Restaurants are open quite late so you can be sure of getting a meal at the end of a long day's journey. the restaurant has been modernised on this one and provides an attractive setting. Although a standard menu, the quality of cooking here seems better than in some other Campaniles and the staff are friendly and anxious to please. the new director seems keen to make the best of one's stay and deserves to succeed.
Although located in a commercial quarter, this hotel is remarkably quiet with little or no overnight traffic noise. Very convenient for the Caen/Ouistreham ferry.

Room Tip: Double beds are two singles pushed together - lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fliss49g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    65
    66
    40
    19
See reviews for
40
88
12
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The hotel is typical of French budget hotels, the rooms are clean ( although no hair dryer).
There is an excellent shopping mall a walk away ( or a longer drive), and it is a short distance outside Caen.
There is an excellent menu, however it is not matched by the poor quality of the cooking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clivegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

typical campanile small rooms but quite well equipped in a basic way. This hotel is difficult to find - dont try in the dark without sat nav or a very good map reader. However the meal was super - my steak tender and beautifully cooked - worth stopping off after leaving the cross channel ferry just for that. Quiet room opposite reception with car parking right outside.

Room Tip: skip breakfast - but stay in for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petosse-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Title: Good place to stay unless you have bizarre expectations for 46euros a night
ID#: 119978763

Stayed here for 1 night before catching ferry from Ouistreham (Portsmouth -Caen) which is an easy 10 minute car ride away. Room was clean, beds reasonably comfortable, good bathroom, slept three, decent restaurant, roof didnt leak. What else can you reasonably expect for 46 euros pn?

Room Tip: Any. Remember to open the window shutters when you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buctootim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We arrived here for a three night stay, myself, husband and 14 yr old son. First impressions-quiet location, pretty from the outside, a motel like complex. Small and prettily decorated with geraniums on the balconies. Well looked after from the outside. We were greeted at Reception by a miserable character who took ages to check us in (we had booked on the internet and had all the paperwork!). He then said 'Your room is downstairs'. No map, no directions nothing! Outside we went and yes he was not kidding our room was downstairs, no sun hardly any natural light and small! The room felt tiny, low ceilings did not help.Dreary paint work and furniture. Our sons bed was so uncomfortable with metal handles on the side and scratchy blankets. Our bed I could not fault and the bed linen was clean it was just so depressing and dark. The bathroom was spotless, free complimentary shower gel and soap which was appreciated. The literature about Campanile was stained, covered in some one elses coffee from a previous trip. The complimentary coffee/tea consisted of one sachet of coffee, one milk, two sachets of herbal tea, one cup and two packs of biscuits. Whoever cleaned the room had forgotten or not bothered to stock up,so tea/coffee was out! Breakfast was only served until 9am , we felt a bit early for cut off time, we were on holiday. It was also 9€ per person and we felt this may not live up to the lovely breakfast described on the web site so we declined the breakfast . From the website i was very impressed by the Campanile chain but felt so disappointed , especially when a staff member cannot even raise a smile to greet you. We immediately checked on the internet , advised reception we would only be staying one night and booked a different hotel in the area. After a nights sleep, which was quiet and beds were comfy, I went to check out. This time i queued behind a french man who obviously had a lot of complaints about his room but when it was my turn the lady on reception was very polite and efficient. My view though of Campanile I am afraid has been totally damaged and it would take a lot for me to be convinced that what is on the website will live up to its name.

Room Tip: Go else where and definitely not Room 47.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capdan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Herouville-Saint-Clair hotels

Tampa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We spent three nights based here while touring (via rental car) the Normandy sites. It is basic, clean and well-maintained (near a mall and supermarket), and the breakfast is excellent value and selection. Rooms are no-frills, but all you need if you are just looking for a place to sleep at night. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TampaFloridaboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My teenage son and I stayed here right before the Dday anniversay. The hotel was certainly not posh, more like spartan but comfortable. The breakfast buffet was adequate and dinner was available in the restaurant. It has more of a motor hotel feeling, as the rooms all open to the outside and there are available picnic benches. Hotel staff was quite courteous. It took maybe 15 minutes to drive to the Pegasus bridge, one of the eastern-most Dday sites.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickster63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herouville-Saint-Clair
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
#2 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
398 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herouville Saint Clair Hotel
Mercure Caen Cote de Nacre Herou...
#1 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Hotel Caen Citis
Best Hotel Caen Citis
#3 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Caen Herouville Savary
Ibis Caen Herouville Savary
#4 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
426 reviews
2.8 mi away
Campanile Caen Est - Mondeville
6.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Caen Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Caen Nord

Property: Campanile Caen Nord
Address: Impasse Des Ormes P. Tertiaire Bd Du Bois, 14200 Herouville-Saint-Clair, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Herouville-Saint-Clair
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Herouville-Saint-Clair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Caen Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Campanile Caen Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Caen Nord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing