We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views, peaceful, perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property
Mountain view from the living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mountain view from the living room
The House with rose and wisteria. Living room  through open patio doors.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Mountain view from the living room
The House with rose and wisteria.
Living room  through open patio doors.
Cosy fireside.  Hi-Fi for streamed music or CDs (classical/jazz provided)
Kitchen and dining area. Also utility room fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dry (not shown)
Log burning stove. (Logs provided free)
Dining area and high chair. CD and book selection
Master bedroom
Bedroom 3 with two 90cm single beds
Bedroom with two single bunk beds and cot.
Bathroom and 2nd toilet
Mezzanine with multi-channel TV and  DVD Player (selection of dvd's provided).
Pool table on mezzanine
The fireside from the mezzanine.
View from the house across the valley.
Our house from the floral  rock garden
View from terrasse with shade sail
Snow capped Montcalm from the patio in summer
Montcalm above the morning mist
Cave Painting at Niaux (10km) 12,000 BC. A must-see.
Butterflies,birds and wildlife abound in this free-from Parc Naturel Regional.
adventure park (7 minutes). Also walking, climbing, canyoning, fishing, paragliding, canoeing...
Swimming Pool Auzat (10 mins) (Open July and August)
Ancient Dolmen de Sem opposite us in the valley.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Foix, Ariege, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony G
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views, peaceful, perfect!”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent a week here and loved it. The weather was fantastic which always helps of course. The house is lovely and the views are amazing. We took our two boys (7 & 11 months) and my mother and everyone had a great time.
Peter was very helpful with any questions that I asked and a pleasure to deal with. Many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
No problem!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Thank you. What more to add?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David B
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything and more, from probably the most beautiful set gite in France!”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

We have stayed in many gites in France over the years, and all of them pale into insignificance compared to 'La Fontane'. It was clean, well decorated, great facilities, well presented and the owners communication was excellent. It is the best holiday we have ever had. I can't find either enough adjectives, or those that are strong enough to describe the emotional experience we both enjoyed, by the owner being kind enough to let us stay at his house. My wife and I are both people who like to talk and be busy all the time, but we both found ourselves just sitting on the terrace not talking or wanting too. Instead we just gazed at the beauty before us, and took in atmosphere and ambience around us, which unfortunately none of the pictures on the site can give you. It was so amazing we are booking again to stay in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, as you could not fault it.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2015
We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in 'La Fontane'and appreciated the calm and views. We've tried many times to capture the view in photographs but without success, so are pleased you put it into words for us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jen977
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A truly wonderful place to stay. The gite was excellent with everything there you needed to make your stay comfortable and the local liaison was very helpful. Views from the cottage were beautiful and the surrounding area breathtaking. So many places to see and wonderful walks close by, just not enough time to do everything. Beware, the steep hairpinned gravel track to the property is challenging for a conventional estate car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful peaceful gite surrounded by mountains”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A walkers paradise. We loved to sit on the terasse in the tranquil sunshine after a day spent outdoors enjoying the area. Children loved nearby acrobranche and helping set roaring log fires in evenings

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ileane202
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in the Mountains!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommended especially for the adventurous and young-at-heart. To get to La Fontane one travels first to Tarascon-sur-Ariège and then to Vicdessos.(about 15 km). From there the road climbs up a steep valley, and after negotiating nine hairpin turns (about 3 km) one arrives at the entrance to La Fontane which is 2 further bends along its own driveway. The house backs into the hill leading up to Orus, but has a spectacular view of the mountains and valley from the front. There are several hikes following isoclines out of Orus, to the east and west. There are many, many more hiking trials out from Vicdessos. One which we especially liked follows D8 up to its termination at Étang de Soulcem (a man made lake just above the tree line) from which there are footpaths to higher lakes close to the borders with Andorra and Spain. We also recommend the drive west along D18 to Étang de Lers and thence to Massat, returning via D618. To access villages even further west for a day trip, we found it best to travel via Tarascon, and then Foix, to Saint Girons on faster roads, and from there to explore the countryside. Near Tarascon there are several well known caves such as those at Niaux, Bedeilac and Lombrives. We were at La Fontane in mid-late October, which meant very few tourists and entire hill-sides were in autumn colours. We also witnessed the moving of cattle from the higher pastures around Orus to the lowlands for winter.

The house was well appointed, totally quiet (save the occasional ringing of the church bell in Orus), and comfortable (although the wooden dining chairs would benefit from cushions). A small convenience store (8 à Huit) in Vicdessos can provide the essentials, but the Intermarché supermarket in Tarascon has a larger selection. Although the house is all electric with electric, thermostatically controlled radiators in each room, the cook top uses gas which was much appreciated. There is a wood-burning fireplace with heat exchangers that can nicely warm the living room and kitchen. Moreover, a plentiful supply of precut wood and kindling was available, which was employed almost every night (not only cozy, but helps minimize electricity consumption).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view, quiet
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing