We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
18
93
38
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
93
38
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverset mealan eclectic mixgood sizemiddle of townmain roadcastleparkingeurossupper
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 170 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Old hotel in centre of town which is in need of some refurbishment. Decor in restaurant looks very tired. Staff pleasant and helpful. Room was very spacious with two double beds and large bathroom. Our Labrador was made welcome. There are a few public parking places in front of the hotel but you need to be lucky to find an empty one. No WiFi found.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We found this hotel through the local Office du Tourisme. It's situated on a small square in the old part of Foix and the back of the hotel looks over the river. We were offered a choice of two rooms and took the one overlooking the square as it was quieter. We had a good stay. The room was comfortable and clean and the food in the restaurant was very good. We were surprised that it wasn't getting more customers than it was but the hotel is tucked away in a quiet corner of the old town and there would not be much passing trade.

Breakfasts were good as well and the view from the dining room across up the river particularly good. It's true that the hotel is a little faded around the edges but that gave it character and it has it where it counts. The staff are very nice, extremely helpful and speak english and it also has wifi.

We felt we got very good value for money, the total bill for our stay was something in the order of 240 Euros and this included two breakfasts and two dinners for two people. That, and the very good location right in the heart of Foix, means that we would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastAnglian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

We spent a week touring Ariege, stayed at six hotels and ranked this one the second best.

We loved the old-fashioned grandeur, including an elegant staircase sweeping own to the dining room, a magnificent grandfather clock and other Edwardian features... we felt that Hercule Poirrot might walk in at any moment!

Our room was clean and very comfortable, with bathroom and toilet seperate, which was a bonus. The treble glazing was excellent - fortunate, as the main road and railway are just across the river. (Bird lovers look out for dippers on the river)

The food was slightly disappointing as we found the hotel in a gourmet guide; but this is Ariege, and food is mostly local, seasonal and simple. Not much in the way of fresh veg. The menu was reasonably priced, and locals went for an excellent value green salad buffet. Breakfast buffet was very good.

The staff were friendly and helpful. You have to pay for the parking right outside, but we parked free in the square, five minutes' walk away. We were offered help in bringing our luggage.

We'd definitely stay here again, and next time we'll copy the locals and get a huge green salad!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westcountrywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We had to find a place to stay between two major attractions and destinations (Carcassonne and San Sebastian) on our two weeks car-holiday, and so I started looking for a place to stay that might also be charming. I read about Foix in Rough Guide and it seemed quite nice and within a manageable distance since we wanted to visit Andorra before stopping over in Foix.

It was not so easy to find a place to stay that had reviews in Foix, but after some search two hotels seemed interesting Hotel de Lac (a bit outside the city) and Hotel Lons, just on the riverbank. Since we normally like to stay centrally to be able to enjoy walking around the city, we ended up with Hotel Lons. I was aware that it might be a bit outdated, but hoped it would be of normal good quality otherwise. Unfortunately the hotel was VERY outdated in our opinion (really -70 / -80s) with a mix of some attempts of "lapping" on to the old with bits and peaces of a little newer style, but all in all the feeling of wall-to-wall carpets all over that were really quite dated and the same state with the general furniture. The feeling of dirtyness came with the room no. 101 with a view to the river, that was the worst we have stayed in in a long time! Dirty and old wall-to-wall carpets (you know the feeling when you don't want to take yur shoes off?) and an old bathroom with dry rot on some parts of the wall and ceiling... So the feeling when we went to bed was not good, waiting for the bedbugs to bite literally speaking...

To be just when we cheked out the next day I had a peek into some of the other rooms that were beeing cleaned and they did looked to be a bit refurnished thruth to be told... But since we after all had the room we had, I cannot give the rate on any other basis...

Also the bad feeling of uncleaniness was confirmed the next morning at breakfast when eating in their "winter-garden terrace" with old furniture and dead several insects in the ceiling-lamps ++.

Although it was quite cheap, it seemed that they had quite a multitude of rates and rooms (you could see it on the board by the reception), so they might have rooms of better quality - but please check this with them on beforehand, if you really want to stay here.

The only thing that kept this from getting "terrible" in the rating was that we got a river view... (But calculate that the train goes by right on the other side of the river)

Other than this the small city was quite nice, with some quite cheap and nice restaurants in the pedestrian area right by. We had a nice three course dinner with amongst other things foie-gras as a starter for under under 15 Euros each I think it was (excl. wine which was also cheap).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sylviad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews