We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lons, Foix”
Review of Hotel Lons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lons
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Foix
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Lons, Foix”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Lons for four days in April, first for three days, and then for one day on our way back to Paris. If you are expecting a luxurious four-star hotel you shouldn't stay here, but from when we first set foot in the hotel we found it a welcoming, comfortable, old-style, unpretentious place to stay. Our first room overlooked the river and we recommend you ask for a room which does. We very much enjoyed eating our tasty inexpensive dinners at the hotel restaurant on the terrasse which overlooks the river, and from which the snow-covered Pyrenees in the distance can be seen. We also ate our adequate buffet-style breakfasts on the terrasse. Breakfasts are included in the hotel price. The hotel has wi-fi which worked well downstairs in the hotel lobby but only with difficulty in our room. Foix itself has somewhat limited attractions such as the old church and the castle, but it is enjoyable to walk about in, and it is within easy driving distance of Montsegur and the prehistoric cave at Niaux.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    77
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
19
74
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

For the prices that Hotel Lons charges for their rooms, I would have expected a little bit better quality and comfort level. Instead, I felt like the room was modest at best. Decor and furnishings are simple and appear rather dated. While the lobby area is nice, the hallways upstairs are a little bit more mundane. The only thing positive I can offer is that the memory foam mattress was quite comfortable. Beyond that, I would have expected to pay under 60 Euro (not 75 Euro) for the room that I got.

Pros: closest to train station, memory foam mattress, helpful staff, free wi-fi

Cons: basic room, dated decor, simple furnishings, breakfast not included

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirepoix, France
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Apart from the parking this hotel is perfectly positioned for a central Foix visit. Our room was more like an apartment!! Very clean and fab view over the river. Extra friendly and helpful staff. Once parked we just walked everywhere. Ideal for the chateau, shops and bars/restaurants. We used it for a live music concert at the L'estive.

Room Tip: 203 is BIG and great value, overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzij552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limousin, France
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very helpful staff on arrival. Parking was difficult due to road works which didnt show using gps. But managed to get a parking place in the square in front of hotel. Difficult to find restaurants open for dinner. We ate in the hotel restaurant one of the nights we stayed, which was okay. My husband found the bed to be too short for him but I found it comfortable. Room overlooked the River which was very nice, didnt seem to be too noisy like others have reviewed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackatwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here one night, and picked it from the street. A very pleasant young man checked us in after letting us see the room before taking it. Given room 105 on first floor overlooking the river. Price was €77 for the night with free wifi.
The room was very comfortable with two double beds that were extremely comfy. Our big complaint would be that although it was a non smoking room you could smell it as soon as you walk in. However we found this is common in France.
At first we were worried it might be noisey as the train was just over the river but there was only one train during the night so a good sleep was possible. The bathroom was good with lots of hot water.
Wifi was good, and we managed to get free overnight parking outside the hotel. We did not eat at the restuarant it seems a bit pricey but plenty of other people did.
Easy access from hotel to chateau on the hill, and shops and restuarants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We spend one night in Hotel Lons. Arrived by chance (the gps sugested there was a hotel here) and walked in asking for free rooms. We got a room on the top floor. It was ok for just one night, but had a damp smell and was quite dark. the bed was nice and the bathroom had a nice tub.
The lift didn´t go to the last floor, so we had to carry the luggage the last flight of stairs.
The breakfast was typical french, not so much choise, but plentyfull enough and the staff was realy nice and friendly towards everybody. The view out on the river was realy nice, the balcony was glass covered.
The location was very nice, a it was right in the center of town. Not many parkingspaces outside the hotel, but we got one so do not know where other guest parked.
I would like to visit Foix Again, and will concider this hotel again, but will chose a nicer room (1-th floor have nicer rooms)

Room Tip: Best rooms on 1.th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danishcoupleDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked one night at Hotel Lons during a trip through France; the hotel is right in the centre of the town (five min walk from the castle), rooms are clean and spacious, the staff is very friendly.
Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilippoMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foix
2.8 mi away
Hotel balladins Foix
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#3 of 6 in Foix
124 reviews
1.8 mi away
P'tit Dej-Hotel Foix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pyrene
Hotel Pyrene
#6 of 6 in Foix
30 reviews
8.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Agnes
Le Manoir d'Agnes
#1 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
174 reviews
8.7 mi away
Auberge Les Myrtilles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lons

Property: Hotel Lons
Address: 6 place Georges Dutilh, Foix, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Foix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Foix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lons 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing