We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gourmet experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Rivage
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Olivet
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gourmet experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A regular stopping point for us when driving from the uk to the south of france. Restaurant is sublime, food excellent and the 'chariot des fromages' an education in french cheese! Rooms are rather small and basic, bathrooms moreso but the service is charming and the peace and quiet on the banks of the loiret is priceless. Breakfast enhanced by a fly past of 30 swans!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    27
    23
    17
See reviews for
24
90
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I together with our Labrador Harry stayed in Le Rivage for one night. What a fantastic location. With a long footpath right by the river, it was the perfect place for walking Harry, providing we had a towel to dry him off!

The welcome was warm and efficient. The room was very average. Really needed a make over, but the price and view made up for it.

The food in the restaurant and the service was second to none ( as was the price). Wines range from 45-1300 Euros a bottle, but the extensive range of whiskies and armagnac's were well worth a try.

The owner and his staff were charming, spoke good English and were very helpful. As was the free wifi. Harry was also made to feel very welcome.

The bird life in the morning also made it a worth while stopover.

Beware - our 70E room rate ended up 4 times that after dinner! But the food is worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank number57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was our second visit to Le Rivage, a good journey break, en route to the South. Cannot agree with previous reviews - people, this is more of fabulous restaurant with rooms than hotel. At 85 euros a night for a double room, you are not going to get super luxury - however it is all perfectly comfortable and very clean, with wonderful views over the river. Monsieur Bereaud, le patron, was exceedingly charming and helpful, as on previous occasions (maybe it helps if you are a pretty lady!!) It was disappointingly raining that evening, so instead of sitting on the lovely terrace overlooking river we ate in the dining room . Our dinner was stupendous, wonderful service, charming waiter and most knowledgeable sommelier - food perfect. We will return next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonne.brouwer@12move.nl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice location, beautifull surroundings! Too expensive for what you get, rooms very small but everything is there, resaurant nicely located, spacious, good service but food was not very special. (maincourse tasteless!) Wine extremely expensive (7 euro for a glass 35 euros cheapast bottle!!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonne057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here on our way south, picked at random from Michelin Red Guide (should have looked at Tripadvisor also). Welcome was lacking and there is a definite Fawlty Towers air about the place: decor very 70s and rather omnipresent patron. However, the food for dinner was excellent and the terrace looking out on to the Loiret is lovely, (as long as you exit before the mossies find you). Service was excellent and knowledgeable, the wine list was extensive including some reasonable priced local wines. Bedrooms were small but comfortable. Overall, a lovely place to stop for a meal but We won't be hurrying back, not because it isn't a nice place but because there are so many other places to try.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ghb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steenokkerzeel, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

When the boss of a hotel (where Le Figaro is the only newspaper available) invents on the spot that the WIFI is not working because of a the telecom workers are on strike (never heard such an excuse) , and later on his assistant says that there has been a fire at the level of the hotel and that only the direct internet line works I started doubting immediately about the management of the place. When 1 minute later the waiter in the restaurant doesn't know what a Cava is when we order a Cava I got really pissed off. The amuse gueules with my Pastis (no Cava) were absolutely not amusing. But we stayed because it was late when we arrived and we were tired and on our way to the South of France. The food in the restaurant was just above average because the ingredients were good and not because the cooking was of a superior level. The boss of the place hanging around and controlling staff and guests gave me the idea that management by fear is not a good idea. After a good nights' rest we wanted to leave early and continue our tour. Unfortunately there was no-one at the reception desk at 6.40 am, so we left after having left a note we would transfer the money due on their account. 6 hours laters they phoned me on my mobile to tell me they deducted the money from my Visa-card. The 250€ for a night and dinner was not worth it. There wasn't even any WIFI. But ...it was a very quiet place and the view from the spartan room on the 2nd floor of the river Loiret was more than superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor with the view on Loiret river. But mind you: the elevator only goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jevedebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olivet hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I booked the hotel as a stopover on our way down to Limousin. The welcome we got when we arrived was appreciated and staff were very hospitable throughout our stay. Disappointingly the hotel rooms were below average. The rooms were small and old fashioned and in desperate need of an update. The accommodation side of the hotel just did not have a 3* feel about it. The hotel is out of Orleans and as we arrived early evening were left with little choice but to eat in the hotel restuarant. The restuarant has a wondeful setting overlooking the river. It is very expensive both for dinner and even more so for breakfast. The food for dinner was good. Breakfast was way over priced for what was offered. I am not sure we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olivet
2.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Orleans Olivet
2.4 mi away
Kyriad Orleans Sud - Olivet - La Source
2.3 mi away
Villa Marjane
Villa Marjane
#1 of 1 in Saint-Jean-le-Blanc
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Pavillon Bleu
Le Pavillon Bleu
#6 of 7 in Olivet
31 reviews
2.0 mi away
Escale Oceania Orleans
Escale Oceania Orleans
#2 of 31 in Orleans
633 reviews
2.1 mi away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Rivage

Property: Hotel Le Rivage
Address: 635 rue de la Reine Blanche, 45160 Olivet, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loiret > Olivet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Olivet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Rivage 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Le Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rivage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing