We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kyriad Bordeaux Begles
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Begles
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

At first sight the location is miserable : on one side a busy urban motorway, on the other side a gloomy industrial area. However the public transport means are near and allow for a quick access to Bordeaux city center. Lots of parking space around the hotel.
The building lacks charm and the lobbies are not so attractive either. But the rooms are clean and the sonic insulation is perfect. Reception staff is very kind and helpful.
There is lots of tourist information in the main lobby.
There is a resaturant which serves lunch and dinner (except weekends) and a generous buffet breakfast from as early as 6am. Waiters are nice (most of the time).
Check prices before coming.. they might be sharply increased during fairs.
Overall a nice hotel for people looking at visiting Bordeaux.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingFrenchman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    89
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
72
6
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The strong points are comfort, cleanliness and the quality of personnel, always present, friendly & helpful. The hotel is not far from the highway and is entirely air conditioned.

Positive aspects:
Hotel design: is simple, but modern, offering a warm and welcoming reception area and a nice bar and restaurant.
Parking: there is an enclosed free, easy parking right next to the reception.
Location: only 3.5 km from the Centre (10' by car), situated right next to Bordeaux on the banks of the Garonne, ideal to visit Bordeaux & the surrounding area, vineyards etc. Also, is not far from the highway.
Rooms: are overlooking the river Garonne. There are air conditioning, wall heater, plasma tv, desk, telephone. Well- soundproofed rooms - even if the hotel is located next to an expressway (with 2 double glazed windows this is normal) the room stays quiet. The room was comfortable, rather small, but welcoming and clean.
Food: self- service breakfast buffet is full and varied and is worth its price. The restaurant is nice with a good, but limited choice of meals.
Transportation: Public transit is relatively close. 2 minutes to reach the nearest bus stop arriving at the Gare de Bordeaux-Saint-Jean, where you can take the tram to the centre. Otherwise, the nearest tram station is located at 10 minutes walking in a neighborhood I don't always feel safe late in the evening.

Negative aspects:
Rooms are smaller than a hotel of same rank. Unfortunately, the room size is rather small with very little space around the bed.
The bathroom space is well equipped but crowded and far too reduced.
The absence of the elevator - if we had heavy luggage would have been boring to climb up to the 2nd floor.
The hotel is located next to a former industrial area, more or less abandoned; with a neighborhood I don't always feel safe late in the evening.
No tea or coffee making facilities.

Despite some negative points I think it is a good value for money hotel and I'd recommend. If we go back to Bordeaux, there are chances that we return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It had been almost nine years since we had stopped here and it was interesting to see the changes that have been made, an extension to the reception area, bar and restaurant were much appreciated as was the enclosed car park. With quite a few new rooms the size of the hotel had also increased but sadly the room sizes hadn’t, everything appeared to be squashed into the smallest possible area, very little space around the bed and even less in what was an extremely well equipped but crowded bathroom. The hotel, its services and the rather expensive rates are based solely around the single night stopover of the business community rather than visitors to Bordeaux staying a few nights which is a shame. The restaurant though is very nice with a good choice of meals but a late breakfast was found to be a bit wanting, the price per room compared to others in the area means that if I was on holiday I really would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gedb2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend, and found the hotel very clean, and the staff very very helpful. The hotel is just outside Bordeaux, but a short walk to the train station or take the nearby tram into the city centre- the tram system is cheap and effective.
The hotel says their restaurant is closed over the weekend, but there was a self-service buffet breakfast available - all fresh and perfectly acceptable with the usual coffee/breads/cereals/yoghurts/fruits/meats and cheeses. We needed to have a meal at an odd time on the Friday afternoon due to work commitments, and whilst the restaurant was indeed closed, there is a 'menu snacking' which provided a very acceptable 3 course meal and with a bottle of local wine.
We would recommend this hotel and would stay here again,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We are a couple with 2 young daughters, and stayed at Hotel Wilson for one night. We preferred it as it it located at the suburbs and enabled us to park there and take the near tram to visit the center of Bordeux. The price was very reasonable for the two connected and spacious rooms that we got. The lady in the reception desk was very kind and happy to assist. Breakfast was very rich and offered a wide selection of things to eat. The entire hotel is air conditioned which was essential in a very hot August day and night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_in_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maartenvd
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed one night at the Hotel Wilson. Decent room, fairly new, nice breakfast buffet, friendly staff, convenient not far from the highway. The area around the hotel doesn't have much you can walk to. The hotel has a restaurant but the menu is short. We drove into Bordeaux for dinner, a 10 minute drive at most.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maartenvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begles
1.0 mi away
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
Best Western Gare Saint Jean
#18 of 174 in Bordeaux
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Bordeaux Centre Begles
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Chantry
Hotel Le Chantry
#13 of 174 in Bordeaux
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Bastide
#21 of 174 in Bordeaux
900 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
1.0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Bordeaux Begles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Bordeaux Begles

Property: Kyriad Bordeaux Begles
Address: 3 rue Marcel Sembat | Quai du President Wilson, 33130 Begles, Bordeaux, France (Formerly Hotel Wilson)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Begles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Begles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Bordeaux Begles 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Minutes from Bordeaux Saint-Jean train-station and 15 minutes from Bordeaux International Airport, the Hotel Kyriad Bordeaux Begles invite you to discover its 50 non smoking rooms fully renovated on a modern and bright decoration. All the rooms are equiped with free Wi-Fi, courtesy tray, air condition and flat screen television. You will enjoy your meal at the "Table de Josephine" restaurant which serve you traditional French food prepared with fresh and seasonal product. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Kyriad Bordeaux Begles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Bordeaux Begles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing