We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Relais de la Reine
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ITC Lodge(Ranohira)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel H1 Isalo(Ranohira)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Cotsoyannis(Fianarantsoa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Vannie Hotel(Fianarantsoa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveler rating
275
48
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
48
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisalo national parkhorse ridingdining roomamazing hotelrocky landscapeswimming poolbeautiful locationamazing settingno air conditioningmain buildingrock climbingstayed here for nightsfood is excellenthead torchafter darktasty snackswelcome sight
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 333 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Le Relais de la Reine is amazing, it is heaven on earth. The most expensive rooms are 98 euro's per night, and well worth it. They are beautifulI, the bathroom was the size of my living room. If this hotel would be in Europe, it would cost you at least 700 a night. The people are very sweet (like all Malagasy) and the three course dinner is fantastic! I felt like a celebrity while staying here, and we will definitely come back to this gorgeous place.

Room Tip: I would take the more expansive rooms, there is only a ten euro difference, but extremely luxurious.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lieneke86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

After having ploughed through the sand and the mud along the west coast of Madagascar, it was more than a pleasure to stay in Le Relais de la Reine. We received a warm welcome, and all staff was utmost friendly and helpful. The bungalows are beautiful, food is good, and the gardens are splendid. A top location in a country to which we wish a better economical future for the people's sake. The fact that Le Relais de la Reine engages in ecological tourism and invests in local development adds to the very positive impression we have about the owners and their staff. Thumbs up for them !

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Bvba I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent two amaizing nights here and I can only say everything was perfect: the room was incredibly clean, the pool and the garden were perfectly kept, the cusine very well done, the service like a five stars hotel. My advice: in the night wait until the electricity goes off to see the shining stars above the sky in the garden!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stefanobtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were told by our guide that this is the oldest hotel around the reserve, you can tell this as the hotel does seem to be gentley merging in to its surroundings, this is a good thing! It is built in a gentle valley and is very sheltered. Theer is the main building which has the bar and restaurnty in then a number of little clumps of rooms in a horse shoe each has its own outside setaing area, the whole hotel including the bedrooms are modern and clean, though are 3 rooms were all twins? Can not comment on any others. The food was very good as well both for breakfast and dinner, and the picnic sandwiches were good as well. The grounds surrounding the hotel are very nice and you can easily walk to the sister hotel and around there as well if you want we saw a lots of birds walking around and small herd of goats which belong to the hotel? Plus the pet tortoises!

The only downsides was that the mozzie nets again were more show than functional as they did not quite reach the floor and unfortunately I think we all had a cockroach in our room, this is not due to the hotels hygiene which was very good ( we wandered around the whole of the hotel including to areas we should not have done) but due to the fact that they are just part of life, much the same as a mosquito.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We made a pit stop at this hotel before our flight from Ranohira and just had enough time to pack in a quick breakfast before making a dash for the private airstrip ( which is located in the backyard of this wonderful hotel!). The hotel is simply spectacular with all the creature comforts conceivable - swimming pool, spa, gymnasium, private airstrip and even a riding center!). The food experience here was by far the best that we had in Madagascar. We settled for the American breakfast and the quality was comparable to the best restaurants in the world. The staff was non-intrusive and yet supremely attentive, which was superb. We also took a tour of the hotel and saw some of the rooms - they were nothing short of amazing. Definitely coming back and staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rashi_misra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews