We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Relais de la Reine
Nearby Hotels
ITC Lodge(Ranohira)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel H1 Isalo(Ranohira)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
271
48
9
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
48
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelais de la reinebeautiful hotelisalo national parkhorse ridingdining roomrocky landscapeswimming poolluxury hotelamazing settingno air conditioningmain buildingrock climbingstayed here for nightsfood is excellenthead torchafter darkpre dinner drinks
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 329 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent service, friendly staff, fabulous location, good food and sympathetically furnished in keeping with the local environment. What more can one ask for in a hotel? It was the perfect place to stay whilst experiencing the Isalo National Park - we just wished we could have stayed longer than the 3 nights we were there. Highly recommended - both the park and the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2holiday77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, and it was one of our most comfortable stops in Madagascar. It was arranged by our travel agent, Natural World Safaris, who I highly recommend.

The food was creative, delicious and fresh, plus they did a great job accommodating my vegetarian diet. I especially recommend the Malagasy breakfast - it's tasty and you won't need lunch!

The rooms are large and lovely, and they blend in perfectly with the rocky landscape. The staff is friendly, and the high speed wifi in the lounge was the fastest we experienced in the country, and we enjoyed playing the local board games available there. Drinks cost a little more than at other hotels, but were still reasonably priced given the quality of the service and the tasty snacks at accompanied them.

The horseback riding is a great way to see the landscape, which can be challenging for hiking given the hot temperatures in the area. The pool is lovely & refreshing.

2 complaints: the bed, though gorgeous-looking, was horribly uncomfortable. I think it was a piece of hard foam and not a actual mattress. And while I can't really fault the hotel for the giant cockroaches we encountered in the bathroom (it's Madagascar, after all), I was certainly wary of going in there at night.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times together with my family, and it is always perfect. I believe it is the managements attitude that is reflected in the service and quality of rooms.

Do not forget the surroundings which must be experienced.

Thanks to La Directrice who helped us pushing the car when it did not start.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pappa_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed her for a couple of nights on a 3 week tour of Madagascar and it was one of the best we stayed in, a lovely setting and I would have happily stayed a few more days. Every aspect of the hotel was excellent, really nice rooms which were spotlessly clean. The restaurant was interesting split level, very high ceiling really good food. The level of service overall was outstanding, the grounds are lovely and you can walk straight out into nearby canyons from the pool. My highlight was having a drink and watching the sunset from the terrace. I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Wonderful Malagasy Desert-Arizona rocky landscape setting for this quality hotel. Staff were professional courteous and very well trained however also had that classic Malagasy smile ! Food was excellent and the local wine is worth trying. Lovely spacious room around the hotel to stroll. The hotel management offer meat scraps to the local yellow billed kites that seem to know when it is lunch time. The rooms are well equipped however as with many other lodges didnt have a fridge - strange. Wall sockets didnt work adjacent to bed though plenty of others available. Wine and beer a little more expensive than others though in the lounge pre-dinner you do get offered aperitifs on the house. Hard to fault the hotel other than not having a fridge in the room and some occasional noise from adjacent rooms.
Isalo reserve offers a totally different environment from the central rainforests. Rugged rocky arid woodland and crest from which you get a wonderful panoramic view. Different wildlife to see -stick insects, scorpion, iguana, plus a grass snake, alongwith the wonderfull Dancing Sifaka in which we spent a good 20 minutes watching a pair sun themselves in the open on the side of the valley ! The natural pools are freezing and only for the brave regardless of how hot and sweaty you are and not the isolated quiet oasis that we may have expected.
Learnt about some great burial traditions during our walk. The camp offers a great chance to get up close to ring-tailed lemurs and brown lemurs both of which have learnt they can get some easy food from the campers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews