We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable apartment-style hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ranohira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Orchidee de L'Isalo
Ranked #4 of 4 Ranohira B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is well-located for visiting Isalo National Park. The rooms are in an apartment -style complex which is pretty plain. Comfortable enough by Malagasy standards, with en-suite facilities, good sized beds and (eventually) hot showers. The food was reasonable. There is a nice Boulangerie across the road, but sadly it didn't open on the second day we were there and I was looking forward to grabbing breakfast there after an early morning visit to the park. As I was eating dinner outside, I saw flocks of little birds coming to roost in the hotel's trees. If anyone can positively ID them I would be delighted to hear from you.

For those who want to save on shoe leather, unless there has been a lot of rain recently, don't bother with the Cascade des Nymphs. The waterfalls at the Black and Blue pools were far more impressive. If you want to experience the park without the crowds, insist on going early. We were there at 7 am and had the place to ourselves. However, by the time we were heading back, the lemurs still hadn't emerged. But we'd seen them the previous afternoon so were looking for the birds instead. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittykat23uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Despite some of the reviews calling the rooms "plain", we were quite happy with the room we received. Our second-floor room had unique stone walls, beautiful stone tile floors, a reasonably comfy queen-size bed, and ensuite facilities. We felt like we were sleeping in a medieval castle! Hot water wasn't a problem. Our rooms were in the main building, adjacent to the hotel's "Le Zebu Grille".

Our friend received a room in one of the adjacent two-story buildings. His room was much more basic -- the same approximate layout, but no stone walls or floors.

We were all happy with the food we received at the hotel's restaurant, and the service was consistently friendly. The staff didn't know much English, but a couple of the servers were learning English and we could communicate enough to get by. Breakfast was pretty standard (French) fare.

The location of this hotel is right in the middle of town, at the intersection of two major roads and a short drive from Isalo.

A few tips:

1. There are two easily-accessible Baobab trees in town. One is right behind the hotel in courtyard surrounded by small houses. The other is adjacent to the Catholic school (a few blocks away from the hotel) in a small fence containing a few other endemic trees/plants. You can also see an Octopus tree there, which can be used to tell direction in the wilderness.

2. If you receive a large old-style key, chances are it's the same key that's used for other rooms in the hotel. Our room and our friend's room actually had the same exact key. Plan to protect any valuables accordingly.

3. Walk around town. We heard some music coming from across the street at night, and went over to find a local music/dance group performing. It ended up being a highlight of our trip!

4. Electricity seems to come from a generator here, and it shuts off at unpredictable times. Bring a flashlight (torch) if you want to be able to see at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a "stone" room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A fairly spacious room, with a toilet in one separate room, and the shower/WHB in another separate room. Funnily enough, this was the most comfortable mattress we slept on during our entire three week trip! Great balcony outside for drying clothes etc.
Shower took ages to get hot in the morning, and on our last morning there we had no electricity whatsoever.
Attached restaurant served good food, although there is absolutely no atmosphere. Chez Berny, across the road was the opposite... great atmosphere - disgustingly dirty though.

Room Tip: Try to book one of the newer rooms. In June 2012, they were 30,000ar more expensive per night, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DerSchreier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maxdalaudiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2411
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambre avec patio devant à l'étage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranohira
0 mi away
Le Jardin du Roy
Le Jardin du Roy
#2 of 2 in Isalo
261 reviews
0 mi away
Isalo Rock Lodge
Isalo Rock Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isalo
395 reviews
0 mi away
ITC Lodge
ITC Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ranohira
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel H1 Isalo
Hotel H1 Isalo
#2 of 4 in Ranohira
15 reviews
0 mi away
Chez Berny
Chez Berny
#3 of 3 in Ranohira
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Orchidee de L'Isalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Orchidee de L'Isalo

Address: Plein centre, Ranohira 313, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Fianarantsoa Province > Ranohira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ranohira
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
L'Orchidee De L'Isalo Madagascar/Ranohira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing