We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoke Ash B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here on 5th/6th January 2013 in order to attend a birthday party. We booked about 6 weeks ahead and were given a very competetive rate - so were not quite sure what we would be getting.
Our room was No 8 - disabled accom, although neither of us are. They gave us this room as we specifically wanted a king sized bed or twin beds and they had neither available at the time of booking. The room was large, very clean and comfortable with plenty on the in room coffee/tea tray. The bed was firm and comfortable.
On a cold day we found the efficient heating very welcome. Plenty of hot water in the spacious, clean shower room. Nice soft white towels.

We had our evening meal in the restaurant and it was lovely. The menu is varied and very reasonably priced. I wanted only the soup and sandwich meal deal they offered as I didn't think I was particullarly hungry. The soup was home-made, really thick and very tasty, the sandwich was filled to bursting and it all came with a substantial salad garnish - actually the whole thing was as much as a full meal! And - yes - I ate the lot because it was so delicious.

Breakfast was great, plenty of options and everything very nicely cooked. Served by very pleasant staff.

Would we stay here again? You bet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yiayia2jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to The White Horse Inn in the future. Kind Regards from Annie and Shane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for The White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 340 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for a night to attend a friends wedding at Yaxley hall,
We stayed in room 11 which was an eaves room with a huge shower room. Plenty of storage room with a well stocked hospitality tray, nothing was too much trouble for the staff here, they gave me a number of taxi to try. Breakfast was excellent All way through it seemed to be newly decorated

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aimeesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a 2 night stay which was excellent and certainly would not recognise this as the same place as previous reviewers have complained about. We found the staff, service and food very good and a lot of choice. Breakfast was good and served with a smile. Again a large choice. The rooms were large well furnished, comfortable and excellent value. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited this restaurant on a saturday evening with a party of 10. Staff were very pleasant, attentive and cheerful. Service was quick. All our party were very happy with their meals of which we had a good selection, Gammon, Lasagne, Liver, Steak and Ale pies, burger, ham egg and chips and with nothing complain about. All meals arrived at the same time and were hot and tasty. The restaurant was busy with a pleasant ambiance. Price has risen since out last visit but was on par with others of its like. More importantly for the men, the beers were fresh and clear.

Having visited another local pub/ restaurant on the A140 to this very recently and submitted a review I thought it only fair to appraise this visit.

I would not recognise this place from the recent reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AbbieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the White Horse this weekend for a wedding. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we turned up late and needed longer to get ready before our taxi arrived so the lady who checked us in very kindly called the taxi firm and arranged for them to come later. Lovely, spotless rooms, to die for showers and comfy clean beds. Would thoroughly recommend and would love to go back !!! Great place

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Generally pleasant - staff were OK. Food was of a fair quality. What disappointed was the fact that the bathroom was really not very clean. In the corners of the room - where a mop has difficulty reaching - there was ingrained dirt - in fact it looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly for weeks/months. This became even more obvious when I spilt some water from the bath and used the bath mat to dry it up. I wiped up the water and into the corner of the floor by the bath - and the bath mat was filthy from the built up muck as a result.

Room Tip: Park in the rear car park - not the front one.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith_Parry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

this is an old coaching inn that has kept many features from the past that now includes well appointed rooms at the rear . Although on the busy A 140 the accommodation is well insulated from traffic noise. Well situated for touring the local pretty villages and attractions. Staff are very welcoming and the food is well priced with a good choice. Breakfast again has a good selection served in really nice surroundings . (a little quirky but i will leave you to get the picture. Clue! ) Will visit again.

Room Tip: we had rooms 6 and 5 both good
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sausagepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Ash
0.0 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
470 reviews
20.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
820 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
323 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 140 Norwich Road (Main A, Stoke Ash IP23 7ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Stoke Ash
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke Ash
Price Range: $101 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annie, Shane and the team offer a warm welcome at The White Horse Inn. Ideally situated on the A140 close to the village of Eye in Suffolk and midway between Ipswich and Norwich, this delightful Coaching Inn dates back to the 17th Century and continues to offer the very best in hospitality to the weary traveller.In the grounds are spacious, comfortable motel bedrooms offering en suite facilities, FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS, flat screen freeview television, direct-dial telephone and hospitality tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Stoke Ash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing