We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Banana Island Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chendamangalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Big Banana Resort

Tucked away on Valiyapazhampillythuruth island just outside the village of Chendamangalam, a little way off the beaten track but ideal for a riverside retreat to rejuvenate from a long flight.

The owner Deepan and his wife Geraldine are friendly but not intrusive hosts and keen to make your stay comfortable, as do all the retreats staff.

The accommodation is well presented and clean with a little rustic charm. Yoga and ayeudadic treatments are available on request situated in the traditional treatment room and meditation space.

My only grumble is the choice of food which could benefit from some closer attention (and a little more spice), although the salads and indian breakfasts were great. Food options are mainly eating at the resort or you can take a 10 min rickshaw drive to Chendamangalam where there are a couple of places. Vishnu (Deepan's nephew) is happy to organise transportation as the retreat is not near the main road, so its blissfully quiet ! A rickshaw to the temple in the village of Chendamangalam will cost you about 24 -35 Rs.

The riverside setting is idyllic but remember to bring some mosquito repellant and plugins.

This is a good base for me as I will be visiting Chendamangalam again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Threeminttea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 114 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hosts make the place. Having grown up in this beautiful island place, Deepan has realized his ten-year vision of a retreat that respects the thousands-year old traditions of ayurveda, yoga and respect for nature. Geraldine, his partner, joyfully helped us feel most at home with a glowing and sincere smile. After working in a Paris yoga studio and as a professional dancer, Geraldine now has joined Deepan in their vision of creating a retreat and artists commune that supports sustainable, eco-friendly development. Providing quality jobs for serious ayurvedic practitioners, supporting children's development with free yoga, art and theatre workshops, and endorsing young emerging Kerala artists by displaying their paintings, this retreat enables serious ayurvedic healing and yoga in the oldest traditions of south kerala. Located on an island and right next to a tranquil river, the quiet of this place helped us recuperate, regain balance and heal. I'm looking forward to the expansion of artist colony- with a gallery, collaboration from film-makers and people involved in theatre. Deepan's commitment to enriching the lives of children in Chendamangalam through free yoga and meditation classes embodies the hope that all beings may be free of suffering. We had an opportunity to offer a workshop with the children from the village. This offers a more respectful way to interact with Keralans outside of the usual tourist-native relations. My kids really enjoyed the chance to play with their peers. Great place to travel with kids or without kids. Minimal noise (no loudspeakers and motor boats), just the sounds of the forest, and lovely plants and flowers in well-kept grounds. Food was monotonous for a few days but when we made a request for more veggies and variety, we found the food became delicious. Extra virgin olive oil made the salad--first in Kerala-DELICIOUS. Also, the flavors of a picnic lunch for our departing journey lingers in my mind as one of the best meals in India. THANK YOU DEEPAN, GERALDINE, VISHNU, AMA, and everyone else at Big Banana Island Retreat.

Room Tip: Best ayurveda in Kerala.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Quindeayllu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was an amazing place, great food, calm, a place to spend time in writing, thinking and holidaying. The host and the family that runs it were exceptional. Not the usual tourist filled trap. The river slowed life to a lovely calm and set among the village on an island the walks on the property and along the island were a treasure. We came with friends for a while and were glad for every day we spent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geeta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed the stay at this resort, the location was fantastic and Host Vishnu took care of all our needs.
Would appreciate if they can improve their food quality as it may not be suitable for the tastes of Indians , and also they should get additional man power as there was only one person vishnu who does everything.
The massage provided by them was also very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sridhar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

this will be ideal place if you want to spend a vacation amidst lush coconut trees watching a serene river. to relax with your family away from crowded life

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The beauty of the place is just a backdrop to the amazing care from staff and owner. The immaculate kitchen served the best Indian food I've ever tasted. The yoga and massages made my body feel 10 years younger. But most of all, we were in safe hands that took care of me and my kid - recommending and organizing our whole Indian adventure. Wish I was there now :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ainatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VoyageuseBlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chendamangalam
4.8 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#2 of 8 in Cherai Beach
490 reviews
5 mi away
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
Sea Lagoon Health Resort
#4 of 8 in Cherai Beach
136 reviews
5 mi away
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
Club Mahindra Cherai Beach
#3 of 8 in Cherai Beach
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Cherai Beach
65 reviews
5 mi away
Blue Waters Cherai
Blue Waters Cherai
#1 of 8 in Cherai Beach
465 reviews
5 mi away
Cherai Beach Resorts
Cherai Beach Resorts
#5 of 8 in Cherai Beach
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Banana Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Banana Island Retreat

Address: Valiya Pazhampilly Thuruth, Chendamangalam 683512, India
Location: India > Kerala > Ernakulam District > Chendamangalam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chendamangalam
Price Range: $61 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Banana Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Banana Island Retreat Kerala/Chendamangalam, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing