We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaizing Forrest Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wait a While in the Daintree
Ranked #3 of 3 Cow Bay B&B and Inns
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amaizing Forrest Hideaway”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

My family & I stayed in the Daintree at the Wait A While Retreat, The house was everything we had hoped for and much more, it’s huge. The sounds at night were not of a ghost as stated by someone but of wildlife that surrounds the forest. It was amazing and we even saw a cassowary walk through the property. At night we took torches provided and saw sleeping birds, big frogs and even a snake. The beach is within 10 min walk and will blow you away with the beauty. The house is spacious and very well equipped, it had everything one could ask for in a remote place.
The negatives – Only 1 really - we didn’t book longer. The bedrooms were large and we fought everyday for the hammock upstairs. Would I recommend this house? A big fat YES. All the tours were magic, especially the Noah Valley guided night walk. Thank you for sharing your piece of paradise with the world. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew1969Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Nine of us had the most fantastic five days at Wait a While in the Daintree. We all took part in canopy surfing, fruit tasting, a reef trip, a croc tour and a night tour of the rain forest (which was a highlight for us). Kerry, one of the managers, organised everything for us and made the trip just so much more relaxing and enjoyable. She worked with the local weather when booking our activities which meant that we had the best weather out on the reef, with about 2 knots of wind and it made it an amazing trip for our overseas family.
For us, the place had everything you could need, great cooking facilities, a hammock, a pool, and a particularly gorgeous garden surrounding the place (we actually saw a goanna walking through it one day). We also got to see two cassowaries crossing the road on our way out of the place one morning… amazing! At night you can hear the buzz of the rainforest and it’s fabulous!!!
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to travel to the Daintree and you can’t go past the fabulous price for that sort of luxury.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

My girlfriend & i went to the Daintree for a few days. We stayed at the Wait A While retreat.
Amazing house to spend a romantic break. This house is truly spectatular, it rained while we were there but it didnt stop us from enjoying the fun. The pool was brillant , surrrounded by rainforest. Try jungle surfing and a crocodile trip if you try this trip.
The beach just only few minutes from the house is proberbly the best ive seen in Australia.We even went snorkling on a small reef and sore lots.The Daintree area has lots to see, try the ice cream they were beautilful aswell. This place is magnicant. We also seen a Casawary crossing the road. One week was not enough. Thankyou to the managers Peter & Kerry they tried and succeeded in making our holiday the best it could be.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mathewGosford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This house was amazingly beautiful. Isolated and dark though. The entire family sensed that there was a ghost who lurked around the deck though, we heard sounds and saw a white figure move around.

But don't let that stop you, the place was very beautiful and all the cane furniture and rainforest atmosphere did prove an enjoyable stay. We won't be going back and wouldn't necessarily reccomend it, but if you don't believe in ghosts then go ahead, it is very beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosycottagelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Start with the negatives because that's really what yo want to know: Not really that much. The pictures make this place look nicer than it actually is. That said, it is still a good place. It doesn't have sea views or views above the rainforest canopy, so you look out into the dense jungle. Hence, the place is a little dark.
The main room shown is really nice looking onto the veranda. The other double bedroom looks onto the garden at the back and is not as nice. There is a double bed upstairs pictured here with a mozzie net around it- this is on a mezzanine level and is totally open to the lounge, dining and kitchen area. The other room has two single beds. Open plan but quite dark due to the rainforest and the dark timbers used.
Positives: the pool is well nice, the place is very secluded and private (you can here the sounds of the jungle at night and nothing else), the beds are huge and extremely comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped, outside BBQ on the veranda is great, as is the hammock above it on the mezzanine level.
Tips: Take food with you. We bought in Woolies in Mossman. The fridge is voluminous. Take mozzie spray because it's the jungle. Be prepared for interesting bugs. The hi fi has an auxiliary jack (3.5mm headphone type) for your mp3/iPod stuff. Don't book online, call the owners direct for a deal if travelling out of season or in a quieter period. Do Rumrunner. 2 Day Sea Kayaking adventure from Crocodylus (not for the faint hearted). Have a massage or two. In that order. Water holes for swimming (but get advice first). Don't go to Whet. You can cook better stuff at home! Have a car (obviously)!
Overall, would I recommend to a friend. Probably not. It isn't the spectacular place I was hoping for.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hammockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Wait a While is a large two storey house (three downstairs bedrooms and one loft bedroom) sitting in a few acres of rainforest and only a few hundred metres from Cow Bay Beach - actually, it's four beaches, mostly deserted, all with soft white sands and rain forest coming up to the sand.

You can be quite alone, or, if you care to drive a few kilometres, you can be in the middle of other people, fine food, and as much activity as you want.

The house is modern with solar power and reserve generators. The owners run a resort about five kilometres away, but make the house available for those who prefer solitude, quiet, and the rainforest environment. Despite this, it is easily accessable (about one kilometre of dirt road to get to the front door; the rest is bitumen).

If you want total solitude, buy your supplies at Mossman on the way.

The rest of the world may have places like Daintree, but I bet they don't have the combination of luxury and isolation that Wait a While provides.

  • Liked — Quiet and Isolated and Very Well Appointed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ValmiAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
7.2 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
529 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
17.7 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
922 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wait a While in the Daintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wait a While in the Daintree

Property: Wait a While in the Daintree
Address: Buchanan Creek Road, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wait a While in the Daintree 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Wait a While in the Daintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wait a While In The Daintree Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing