We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back..”
Review of Cow Bay Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cow Bay Homestay
Ranked #2 of 3 Cow Bay B&B and Inns
South Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back..”
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed 5 nights with Marion and Brian at Cow Bay Homestay and wanted to stay three more weeks! The house, the hospitality, the rainforest, the creatures, the wine, the mix was perfect really. The Daintree requires a sense of adventure and staying there is a stunning reward. As travelers, we like to get off the beaten path and get to know the area where we are staying. Marion and Brian we more than warm and generous with their home, they are truely interesting, very engaging people and we enjoyed them as much as the rainforest. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAexpat5019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
66
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brittany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2008

This is a place on earth that you just cannot imagine from Europe. A real paradise. I haven't completely recovered...
In the middle of the rainforest, the homestay is an amazing house, 10 min walk from the beautiful beach where you can spend the afternoon without spotting more than a few tourists in the distance. Marion and Brian are very friendly and welcoming hosts, and they're happy to talk about the region, its history and its nature over a nice bottle of red wine! This is not the place to go if the slightest insect inspires you terror, or if you're looking for the trendy, animated beachfront to show off your new swimsuit... But if you are looking for a quiet and rejuvenating holiday where you find yourself face to face with the most incredible nature, this is definitely the place to go. You won't forget.
Thank you again Marion and Brian! I will definitely come back, one day!
Lena, Brittany, France.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LenaBrittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We stayed at Cow Bay Homestay for four nights and had a wonderful experience. Marion is a very warm, wonderful and accommodating host. We had to get up very early the last day of our stay to go on a kayak excursion and she insisted on making us breakfast despite the fact that it was still dark outside. The house is run off solar energy for the most part, and it is great to know that even the bedside lamp is running off the sun. Absolutely fabulous!

  • Liked — the openness of the house and the warmth of the hostess
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nahannijohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Staying at Cow Bay Homestay was truly a lifetime experience
For those who want to escape from the tourist crowd, experience a sustainable way of life, indulge in nature, seeks comfort and not luxury, this place offers the perfect location and absolute tranquility .

The host, Marion is a kind and warm hearted person
and you will so comfortable and relaxed just like at sweet home.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hiromix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Being back in one of Germany's cities and living in an appartment building again it helps a lot to know that somewhere in the universe there is an awesome place like Marion's Cow Bay Homestay. While you enjoy the little comforts of civilization like your private room with bath and shower you also will be part of the diversity of the rainforest as soon as you leave the house and walk for a minute. A feast for your senses: different sounds, smells and colours will conquer you and if you are tired of looking at walls of green just walk 15 Minutes down to the beach and enjoy the magnificent coastline of the Cape Tribulation area.

If its too hot to do anything, just have a bath in the little creek at the premises. Marion is good company and a wonderful hostess providing all support and information in English and German that you will need.

The house is a typical solid wood construction located in the rainforrest 3 min walk from Cow Bay's main street (a 6 km road through the forest connecting the beach to the Cape Tribulation road). Cow Bay is not very crowded and the chance to fall over your neighbours isn't too big but you might sometimes hear the faint sounds of a generator which will give you the comfortable feeling of knowing that other people exist on this planet.

If you want to meet other travellers, locals or use your mobile, visit the next bar and have a chat - people are very relaxed and you know why "no worries" is an Australian phrase. If you think about visiting the tropical rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef area don't miss this place.

  • Liked — integration into a beautiful and exciting landscape
  • Disliked — I liked it - no worries
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
7.9 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
3.9 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
10.3 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#8 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cow Bay Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cow Bay Homestay

Property: Cow Bay Homestay
Address: 160 Wattle CL, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cow Bay Homestay B&B is located in the world famous Daintree Rainforest and 5 minutes from Cow Bay beach and iconic Great Barrier Reef. 2 Hours drive north of Cairns, we are centrally located for all locally guided tours: half day reef snorkel , 4WD, walks, kayak, horse riding,jungle surfing, fruit tasting and numerous outdoor activities. Amazing timber pole house, large deck, polished timber floors, bifold-louvred doors opening into the garden, bed rooms with insect screens, fans, air conditioner and ensuites,quality linen and bedding, lounge chairs and daybeds with the best view, . Great for bird watching, lots of butterflies. Spot the cassowary in the garden, meet the bandicoot in the restaurants at night. Or...Just sit back and relax, read, daydream. Take a walk into the rainforest on our property spot the jungle perch in the fresh water creek. Here you can switch off, even digitally. The area north of the Daintree River has no grid power and we run on solar panels, batteries and back up generator. All your tour bookings can be arranged. Marion speaks German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cow Bay Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cow Bay Homestay Daintree Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing