We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very individual rooms with personal touches. Shower room needed a bit of up-dating but at the time of our stay Eric was doing just that to surrounding units! Saw a cassowary from the kitchen window - amazing! Had a meal in the restaurant on the first night - we were the only diners, the food was excellent and it was a magical experience surrounded by the sounds of the rain forest.This is a property in a wonderful location - totally unspoilt. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowner, Owner at Daintree Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful review, it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 159 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

Judy and Eric were very helpful during our 5 day stay. They are knowledgeable but not pushy and through them we booked a crocodile boat trip, and a 4-wheel-drive trip to Cooks Town. We stayed in a non self-catering room that was nicely decorated, and we ate breakfast in the open air restaurant that over looks a well stocked pond and lots of lush plants and exotic flowers. The building is very much in the rainforest and we saw a cassowary! There is a small pool and the rooms are arranged along a veranda that looks onto a small lawn.
There is food available in the evening that you need to choose in the morning. It was all fresh and nicely cooked.
There are self-catering rooms that appeared a little larger and if we went again we would use these as at the moment everything in Australia is expensive to us Brits, and in the Daintree the costs seem even higher to eat out every night. There's no decent supermarket so buy food before reaching the Daintree Forest.

Room Tip: Self catering rooms are larger than non which are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stclaptonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowner, Owner at Daintree Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thankyou for your thoughtful review, it is very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We spent 7 nights at the Daintree Retreat Motel ... we found it here on TripAdvisor then got in touch with Eric and Judy to find out more as we were travelling from the UK and had never been to this part of the world before.

We opted for one of Eric's packages "get Wrecked - Do the Lot" which includes 5 nights and just about all the excursions you can do plus other extras (the package turns out to even better that what it currently says on the web site - check with Eric and Judy to confirm what is in and what is not) and we added two extra nights to give us time to fit it all in and have some R+R.

On arrival, Judy had checked the weather forecast and booked all our excursions appropriately and we didn't need to change any of them.

The rooms are small-ish but comfortable and include fair sized shower and toilet area, kitchen area with microwave and kettle, bedroom with TV and comfy chairs .... there are some bigger rooms we think, just ask Eric and Judy.

Everything was clean and tidy and we had no problem with bugs or worse.

We dined at the in-house Tree Frogs Restaurant one night (it's only open for Residents), Judy does the cooking and she is very good at that too and it is a very nice location.

If we go back to the Daintree then we would stay here again no doubt ... and if you are going there then you should consider it too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portisheadblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowner, Owner at Daintree Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

Thank you so much for your time and effort in writing a review. I really appreciated having you around as you were such lovely guests and I felt sad the day you left. I really dont know how you fitted everything in you would outdo any 16 year olds we have had stay with us!!! I would like to take this time to wish you all a very happy Christmas and a healthy and prosperous New Year!! We would love to see you again one day!! and our wishes go to all our previous lovely guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

During our stay in September 2011 Judy was very helpful with advice on what to see, where to eat, which reef trip to go on. She booked jungle surfing for us, our reef trip and a dinner and animal night spotting tour.
Thanks Judy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowner, Owner at Daintree Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

Just want to say a big thank you for your time in placing a review. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed there in The summer of last year and I have to say it was the worst ever retreat I have ever stayed at. When we first arrived we were greeted by the owner Eric who at first seemed nice until, his wife also part owner shouted at our kids complaining that the dinner waitress might slip on the way back from the pool. He also said we had to PAY Over double the PRICE than he had earlier said because apparently his wife made a mistake and we refused to pay. After we left to get back at us he took over 100 pounds. We managed to get it back but the cheek of it is unreal

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bbcradioqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy C, Owner at Daintree Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Wow the phantom owners would sure like to know who the phantom guests are!!

You supposedly stayed in November 2010, you must have been real upset to wait a whole year to post your review. We have never charged anyone One Hundred Pound (or over) and we also have never refunded this amount, your story is a load of made up lies, but it sounds good if you want to believe that sort of thing!!

Being yelled at and spoken to, are completely different things, and seeing that I have never yelled at anyone or their children, you were obviously very upset about the fact that I had to speak to your children to stop them from getting water all over the place. Unfortunately, the high humidity does not allow the verandahs to dry out at night (if our waitress was working, it would have been at night, but not in November!), shame you were not considerate enough to think of other people slipping on the wet tiles instead of having someone else do it for you. It is a pity that you have built such a small incident up in your mind to bear such vengeful thoughts, and it makes me think how lucky I am not to be one of their poor school teachers!

After reading the untrue comments in your review, I feel quite sorry for you as it seems to me to be really unusual to harbour such bad feelings towards people that are virtually strangers to you, for such a long period of time. I am sure it would be a good idea for you to consider seeking the services of a counsellor that may be able to help you get over such trivial incidences and stop telling lies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at this awesome place for 2 days and wished we'd stayed for longer. A true piece of paradise which both Eric and Judy should be very proud of.The complex is very natural and the rooms are presented in a way that are spotless and each room is themed with tasteful decor inspired by Judy and Eric's passion for their surrondings. We stayed as a family of 7 with two rooms and cannot say enough about the fantastic experience and service provided by both Eric and Judy. The pool area is set in a tasteful rainforest garden and a great place to cool down and relax in peace while the wildlife noises surround you. It is a real experience. The meals were divine and you cant leave the dinner table without trying Judy's Apple and Rhubarb crumble. Eric and Judy thank you for the wonderful service and experience you gave our family we will most certainly be back soon.

Room Tip: We had the 'Cassowary Room' which held comfortably 5 people which had kitchen facilities and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schultze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy C, Owner at Daintree Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Hey Guys thanks for the great review, it was our pleasure to cater for such lovely people and we look forward to your return!! Hope Dad is on the mend now and feeling better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We had a blast staying at the Daintree Rainforest Retreat! The rooms are well-kept and the property is beautiful. Judy was such a sweetheart, and more than hospitable. The service here is impeccable. We are looking forward to staying here again!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Kellymustgroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowner, Owner at Daintree Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

It was such a pleasure having you girls stay, we do hope to see you guys again one day!! thank you for the lovely words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
5.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
39 reviews
17.3 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#9 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
11.5 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Rainforest Retreat

Address: 336 Cape Tribulation Road, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cow Bay
Price Range: $93 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Rainforest Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daintree Rainforest Retreat is a small family owned motel. It sits nestled in the forest surrounded by towering trees and lush gardens. While we do not have a restaurant we do offer a covered BBQ area with its own sitting area and a fully equipped and comfortable communal kitchen together with 2 further sitting/dining areas. The Cow Bay Hotel is a 2 minute walk and while it is very close, it can be neither seen nor heard from the motel. Our rooms are cooled by ceiling fans and guests can further escape the tropical heat with a dip in our palm fringed swimming pool. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daintree Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Rainforest Retreat Hotel Cow Bay
Daintree Rainforest Retreat Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing