We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only for ornithologists !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Cow Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Epiphyte was our first accomodation in the rainforest and it turned out to be an excellent choice for 3 days! We chose it after reading some reviews on Tripadvisor and were lucky to find a vacancy 2 weeks before arrival . What a beautiful place to stay !, The cottage with its open kitchen/diningroom was just perfect . We did not even bother to drive out to restaurants. Many interesting nature sounds at nighttime. In the morning we were wakened by the loud cackling of Orange-footed Scrubfowl. While enjoying tropical fruit at the breakfast table we could watch the beautiful sunbird in 3 meters distance. Don’t count on the Cassowary though: we saw our first one out of the car on the roadside the day we left northbound. The owners were very friendly and put on the generator in the morning, when we wanted to use our hairdryer. They recommended a visit to the Daintree Discovery-Center nearby which was really worthwhile. The Epiphyte was a great start to our Queensland trip.

Room Tip: The cottage is great, if you like some privacy .
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 173 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

I loved the peaceful rainforest surroundings. The kitchen verandah is lovely to have breakfast at with beautiful view of the rainforest and nature. The hosts, Brad and Kathy are very friendly and helpful!! They have good local knowledge of places and activities to do and see. Very Eco-friendly place as you would expect for this kind of place, surrounded by the rainforest with solar power and rainwater tanks. Breakfast was deliciously with homemade jams and local exotic tropical fruits. The rooms are clean with plenty of space and amenities. Great location with plenty of attractions to see and do, especially Cape Tribulation. I highly recommend this place to couples looking for a quiet romantic getaway!

Room Tip: There's only 1 cabin that is separate to the main building which would suit a couple looking for...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Epiphyte for 2 nights, for the Daintree region it seemed to be a good option that is not totally outside. When we arrived nobody was there and we waited in the community area which has lovely views. The kitchen and living room area is more like an open verandah so all kinds of animals can be everywhere (a pretty large skink also lives there). The room wasn't very clean with huge spiderwebs in the bathroom. As we are very anxious of spiders we didn't enjoy this. We at least had a mosqito net over the bed but still didn't feel very comfy. Brad made a very good breakfast with lots of local fruits. Recommended for people who are not afraid of animals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamackermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattsomerset, Owner at The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your review and comments. We value your feedback and will certainly take your impressions and experience into account. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay and apologise for any shortcomings on our part.

As you can see from all the other Trip Advisor reviews for the past years, the Epiphyte managers (Brad and Kathy) take a great deal of pride in providing the highest standards in accommodation AND in really hosting our guests. Unfortunately, as they explained to you, your re-booking was not logged onto our system, so they weren't expecting you.They sincerely apologised for this at the time. All our rooms are thoroughly cleaned when guests first depart but as Brad and Kathy were aware that you had been been waiting patiently for their return, they overlooked re-checking your room in the interests of accommodating you quickly. It had not been occupied for some days so should have (and normally would have) been re-cleaned. We apologise also for this and will certainly ensure this does not happen again.

In relation to the 'open' lounge and kitchen though, we feel you are perhaps over-stating. The entire house is fully enclosed apart from two 3m wide openings onto the verandah from the guest lounge and the verandah runs the full 21m length of the guesthouse. We feel it is a real feature and so too do almost all other guests. The wildlife of the rainforest (birds, paddymellon, bandicoots, geckos etc) are one of its greates attractions and one of the many things we love about living here. We're sorry you didn't appreciate it as we do but we hope someday you may come back and see it with 'new eyes'. Once again, we apologise for any difficulties you experienced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Peaceful location backing on to rainforest, beautiful terrace and garden, very friendly hosts. It's a simple, green B&B, not a motel, with solar power, rainwater collection, and the limitations that these imply. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, waking to the sound of the birds, breakfast on the deck overlooking the lovely garden. Outings to the nearby Rain Forest Discovery Center, the beach at Cow Bay and the Great Barrier Reef from Cape Tribulation (30-40 mins drive).
Strongly recommended provided you aren't too dependent on modern technology.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJC240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a fantastic stay here, it was extremely relaxing and exceeded all our expectations.

The B&B has stunning views over the rainforest. The rooms are extremely spacious. The breakfast is delicious, sampling local exotic fruits as well as cereals and toast.

The location is ideal, all of the Daintree and Cape Trib main attractions are within a short drive and the lovely Cow Bay beach is a 5 min drive down the road. There are a few good quality restaurant options close by, Lync Haven was particularly enjoyable.

The hosts, Brad and Cathy, are very welcoming and have excellent advice on what activities to do. They can book it all for you and it made our stay go seamlessly.

We would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed in the cabin. Kathy and Brad were wonderful hosts. In fact, they went above and beyond the call of duty when I dropped my digital camera memory chip through the slats of the deck. They crawled underneath the deck and recovered it for me. Wow! The cabin was very comfortable and there are good cooking facilities outside (refrigerator, stove, sink, dishes, cutlery, pots and pans, etc.). The bathroom is sunken with a window that is at ground level and faces the forest. One morning the local big mama cassowary looked in the window and, once her curiosity was satisfied, she disappeared into the woods. What an experience to see such a magnificent bird. Breakfast was a the main house and consisted of fresh fruit, cereals, toast, coffee, tea, etc. This was a great place to stay in the Daintree rainforest!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at Epiphyte B & B - a lovely rain forest setting with wonderful mountain views and gardens. The breakfast on the deck was great and a lovely beach close by. We enjoyed exploring Cape Tribulation from here. Thank you Kathy and Brad for a lovely welcoming stay and for booking our Jungle Surfing which was lots of fun too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anginoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
557 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
413 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
2.5 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Silkwood Rd | Daintree Coast - Cape Tribulation, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Bay
Price Range: $89 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Daintree rainforest accommodation near Cape Tribulation just 5 mins from lovely Cow Bay beach and overlooking the World Heritage Daintree national park. The main accommodation house is Queenslander style and has four en-suite rooms (single, standard double and large double/family size) each with private balconies, a large open-plan living area and extensive verandahs...the perfect place to relax and have a 'real' holiday!. For couples or small groups looking for even more privacy or independent accommodation, the Golden Orchid Retreat is a gorgeous self-contained cabin separate from the main accommodation house with views across the orchard to Noah's Range. Operating on solar power and rainwater as much as possible, the Epiphyte B&B has landscaped gardens to explore, views to take in and rainforest at the back door. Beautiful Cow Bay, where the rainforest meets the sea and reef, is a short drive away. A home away from home, The Epiphyte is airy, casual, friendly and breakfast featuring seasonal fruit is included in the room tariff. Help yourself to tea, coffee or a cool drink anytime. Play games, read a book, take in the stunning mountain views, swim, snorkel, visit the free board walks and/or join one of the many tours available in the Cape Tribulation, Daintree Coast area e.g snorkeling, fishing, canoeing, 4WD trips to Wujal Wujal, jungle surfing, night and day walks in ancient rainforest. It's a beautiful place to stay any time of year!! We'd love to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Epiphyte Bed And Breakfast Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing