We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Cow Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
“The ultimate place to relax”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in Epiphyte Golden Orchid Retreat self-contained room and I already miss the place. The place is so peaceful, so relaxing. Daintree is a place to relax, a place to enjoy silence and Epiphyte was just what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graceforpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    23
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
87
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in the Golden Orchid cabin at Epiphyte B&B for 10 days. The cabin is a beautiful little building made of natural timbers, stone and glass, with outlooks into garden, rainforest all around and residents' comfort in mind. It is secluded and private. The kitchen is a covered, semi-outdoor room that never got wet or windy. Each room is a picture. We woke to see sunrise from our bed and watched sunset from the deck overlooking the garden. The cassowary visited most days and we had ringside views from each room (kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and covered verandah), especially from the bathroom which has a large window looking into the forest. Breakfast on the verandah of the main house was simple but nice, including tropical fruit and plunger coffee. Kathy and Brad are lovely hosts, knowledgeable, helpful and committed to the preservation of this very special environment. We spent a lot of time on the verandah of the cabin reading and listening to music (CDs provided), with a daily outing to enjoy all that this area has to offer. Ideal for two, workable with a youngish child or two; it might be a little crowded with another adult. The Epiphyte cabin is an outstanding experience at a very modest price - a hidden treasure. A car is pretty much a necessity.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend the cabin. Of the four rooms in the house, three are generous size, the fourth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeriX2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at Epiphyte! Brad and Kathy (the managers) are helpful, sweet and generous hosts. The house is so lovely and home-y, plonked right in the middle of a beautiful grove of fruit trees and general tropical flora. Their adorable cockatoo Tilly occasionally alights on the banister, making it even more tropical in an instant. The breakfast is great- tropical fruits of every variety- even some homemade jams! Delicious! I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Epiphyte for a few nights and absolutely loved it. Kathy and Brad were fantastic hosts and the location of the bed and breakfast could not have been more beautiful. Definitely not the place to stay if you don't have a car or are looking for nightlife as it is well off of the beaten path. It is quiet and romantic for couples but there was a family with a young boy there at the same time as us who seemed to enjoy themselves. We stayed in the smallest room but it was a clean, cozy and we still had a private bathroom and back deck all to ourselves. The breakfast of tropical fruits was delicious and informative because there were several things I had never seen or heard of before. While there we did the near by Mt Sorrow Hike which was challenging but worth it. The guidebook says not to start after 10 am which was pretty good advice for a winter hike as it took 4-5 hours and we got back down with plenty of time before the sun went down. We ate dinner both nights at Crocodylus Village which offers 4-5 choices of entree for $15 each. They serve dinner starting at 6:30 and have happy hour beer discounts from 6-7 so get there early to have a good dinner and a cheap Aussie beer. I think there are fancier places in the area but this place offered very good food for an excellent (Australian) value. Other near by attractions are Cow Bay Beach and two different ice cream places that serve homemade ice cream made from fresh tropical fruits. Try them both, you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for a quiet, romantic place to stay in the Daintree region, definitely consider the Epiphyte. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Off the beaten track a very peaceful place. Lovely balconies to the rooms. Rooms cosy.
Managers are very friendly and helpful.
The tropical fruit for the breakfast were great. Unfortunately we did not see yhe cassowary that comes to eat in the garden

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Superb option in Daintree. Kathy and Brad could not be more gracious, and are generous with their time (and their anywhere in Australia phone) in setting up activities if your plans change. We spent three nights here as the base from which to explore the Daintree region. The garden setting is gorgeous. A cassowary even visited! The Golden Orchid room was clean, hot water shower more than adequate, bathroom clean, and beds comfortable. Listening to the rain on the roof at night was fun. Breakfast real coffee or tea with home made jams with bread and with native cut fruit excellent. Internet access for email available in the delightful living room. Easy drive to river south or Cape Trib or further north. Staying in the Daintree is far superior to simply visiting it from Port Douglas or Cairns; if you do, make Epiphytes your home, as we will do when we next return.

Room Tip: Golden Orchid room is private, and can accommodate two children in bunk beds in addition to the king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerSFBayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very nice place to stay. We spent 3 days in the cabin and enjoyed every minute of it. Great garden setting, amazing views across the rainforest and a really reasonable price. Great fruit breakfast. Well worth a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
405 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
17.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Silkwood Rd | Daintree Coast - Cape Tribulation, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Daintree rainforest accommodation near Cape Tribulation just 5 mins from lovely Cow Bay beach and overlooking the World Heritage Daintree national park. The main accommodation house is Queenslander style and has four en-suite rooms (single, standard double and large double/family size) each with private balconies, a large open-plan living area and extensive verandahs...the perfect place to relax and have a 'real' holiday!. For couples or small groups looking for even more privacy or independent accommodation, the Golden Orchid Retreat is a gorgeous self-contained cabin separate from the main accommodation house with views across the orchard to Noah's Range. Operating on solar power and rainwater as much as possible, the Epiphyte B&B has landscaped gardens to explore, views to take in and rainforest at the back door. Beautiful Cow Bay, where the rainforest meets the sea and reef, is a short drive away. A home away from home, The Epiphyte is airy, casual, friendly and breakfast featuring seasonal fruit is included in the room tariff. Help yourself to tea, coffee or a cool drink anytime. Play games, read a book, take in the stunning mountain views, swim, snorkel, visit the free board walks and/or join one of the many tours available in the Cape Tribulation, Daintree Coast area e.g snorkeling, fishing, canoeing, 4WD trips to Wujal Wujal, jungle surfing, night and day walks in ancient rainforest. It's a beautiful place to stay any time of year!! We'd love to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Epiphyte Bed And Breakfast Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing