We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Cow Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very nice place to stay. We spent 3 days in the cabin and enjoyed every minute of it. Great garden setting, amazing views across the rainforest and a really reasonable price. Great fruit breakfast. Well worth a few nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 180 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

My first b and b was a very good experience, these guys take the time to get it right, single person room, double bed, ensuite all very clean and well appointed with its own balcony was a delight. Living area with couch's and an awesome hammock to unwind after or relax before a day exploring one of the most incredibly beautiful areas in the world. Tropical fruit breakfast containing some unusual suprises, all good......if b and b's are your thing then this has gotta b top of the pile, considering the proprieters are fairly new at the game it can only get better. Add to this the good price per room and I reckon it was a winner

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunKarrathaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The setting is absolutely fabulous. We visited in early winter and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had.
The folks at Epiphyte are so kind and friendly and the food was great.
I actually forgot my glasses there and they took the time to wrap them up securely in lots of bubble wrap and send them all the way to Sydney.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meggondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

You still can find magic places in Queensland. My son and I, yes he invited his mother, had the best time there. The B&B is stunning with surroundings to dream about.
The owners and their little son couldn't be more friendly and helpful. They even showed us a 'secret beach' close by their place, better than Cape tribulation.
We both just loved it there and would recommend it to everyone who wants to relax.
Ps. Don't expect gourmet food at restaurants in this quiet part of the world, but enjoy the fabulous tropical fruit breakfasts with juice and Daintree tea at Epiphyte.

Room Tip: Every room has its private bathroom. We also loved the little house on its own a bit away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellenmarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and were absolutely delighted! It is in a great location, north of the Daintree river ferry and very close to Cow Bay beach (which is actually more beautiful than the Cape Tribulation beach everyone is rushing to see, but don;t tell anyone!). The rooms are cosy and the whole place is green: they use minimal electricity, and water is from a tank- but don't worry, the shower was very nice and everything was quite comfortable. Best of all was the breakfast- served it on the outdoor veranda, overlooking the forest and mountains, and they serve the most delicious exotic tropical fruits picked right from their land. (The yellow sapoti was the best). It is a great place to get tips from the wonderful hosts, Kathy and Brad, as well as other travelers. The place is lovely, and very authentic!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bennej02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Oh my goodness ... only less than 100 wild cassowaries roaming the Daintree forest and we find one at 7AM peeking into our bathroom window!!! We followed it as it slowly made its way to the driveway and had a nice time watching it look for food. Another amazing thing we saw ... again from the bathroom window, is a rare white ringtail possum climbing a tree, this time at 10PM.

We stayed in the private cottage, set off from the mainhouse. The bathroom window looks out into the forest behind the B&B. If you hear skirmishes at night ... take this opportunity to shine a torch and you just might see the possum or something else. The B&B like most of the other B&Bs in Daintree are off grid (they have generators or use solar) and rely on rainwater. They are extremely 'green' and self sufficient, so you are encouraged to conserve resources which are extremely valuable in the area.

Kathy and Brad are warm and friendly hosts. They are an asset to Epiphyte. They used to be wildlife carers in Brisbane and have great respect for the forest. They gladly pre-arranged all my requested tours, nothing is too bothersome for them.

If you are thinking of where to stay, look no further. Mind you, this is a rustic and relaxing B&B, you will hear crickets and crazy laughing birds in the middle of the night, and see the occasional bug or spider in the bathroom. If you can't take this, then you might not want to stay in the forest at all.

Oh their music selection in the bedroom is amazing. Nice to play some latin tunes while sipping some vino on the terrace, looking out into the mountains.

PS
For meals (like dinner), the 3 closest places would be Crocodylus Village, Cowbay Hotel and Lync Haven. You only have until 7:30 or 8PM to eat, all places close up early because they have to conserve power so plan well. We've eaten in all 3, Lync Haven would have to be your best bet for meals.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I spent a few nights there recently, and greatly enjoyed staying there and meeting both the caretakers (owner was traveling when we visited), as well as the other guests. The house is in a quiet and serene setting, and our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The caretakers, Brad and Kathy, are both wonderful, and very helpful in finding things to do, and making bookings when necessary. The location is reasonably convenient -- about 30-40 minutes up to Cape Trib, and 20 minutes down to the ferry.

We had a really great time and would stay there again on our next visit to Daintree.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler60950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
422 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Bungalows
1.3 mi away
Cow Bay Homestay
Cow Bay Homestay
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Silkwood Rd | Daintree Coast - Cape Tribulation, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Bay
Price Range: $80 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Daintree rainforest accommodation near Cape Tribulation just 5 mins from lovely Cow Bay beach and overlooking the World Heritage Daintree national park. The main accommodation house is Queenslander style and has four en-suite rooms (single, standard double and large double/family size) each with private balconies, a large open-plan living area and extensive verandahs...the perfect place to relax and have a 'real' holiday!. For couples or small groups looking for even more privacy or independent accommodation, the Golden Orchid Retreat is a gorgeous self-contained cabin separate from the main accommodation house with views across the orchard to Noah's Range. Operating on solar power and rainwater as much as possible, the Epiphyte B&B has landscaped gardens to explore, views to take in and rainforest at the back door. Beautiful Cow Bay, where the rainforest meets the sea and reef, is a short drive away. A home away from home, The Epiphyte is airy, casual, friendly and breakfast featuring seasonal fruit is included in the room tariff. Help yourself to tea, coffee or a cool drink anytime. Play games, read a book, take in the stunning mountain views, swim, snorkel, visit the free board walks and/or join one of the many tours available in the Cape Tribulation, Daintree Coast area e.g snorkeling, fishing, canoeing, 4WD trips to Wujal Wujal, jungle surfing, night and day walks in ancient rainforest. It's a beautiful place to stay any time of year!! We'd love to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Epiphyte Bed And Breakfast Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing