We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Cow Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This little gem nestles in the Daintree Rainforest amongst the casowarys, golden orbs and other unique delights of the area. The atmosphere is friendly, laid back and at one with the surroundings. A perfect place to kick back and take in all the amazing sights and sounds that this part of the world has to offer.

The accommodation is comfortable, and reasonably priced. Do not miss the amazing rainforest fruit breakfasts! Delicious....

The hosts are very welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about the area. They can put you in touch with local tours of the great barrier reef, crocodile sighting, rainforest walks and talks and trips to the local discovery centre, and a lot more besides.

This was a trip of a lifetime for us, and The Ephiphyte was the perfect place to base ourselves from.

Room Tip: We stayed in the self-contained cottage in the grounds - gave us privacy when we wanted it, and clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollywicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattsomerset, Owner at The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you Polly for your review. It was lovely to meet you and your family and great that you had enough time to 'see the sights' AND just relax and enjoy the serentiy of the Daintree rainforest. Hope to see you all here again one day. Best wishes for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    23
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
85
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A breath-taking view of Mount Thornton from an open air (but under cover) dining area enveloped by the sounds and sights of the Daintree. The new managers keep the house spotless and the fecund garden at bay. They'll show you the local fauna and flora from the deck if you like. There's a healthy breakfast with real fruit and coffee, as well as books, pamphlets and recommendations from the locals to help you maximise your stay. You can throw anything at them - even a boy in a wheelchair- and they'll do their best to accommodate you. September was perfect - swimming in the sea at Cow bay and Cape Trib, warm but not too humid. Why confine yourself to Hotel Monoculture when you can experience far Northern Queensland like this?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooperstown NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spent three nights at the Epiphyte with my sons , ages 13 and 10, as a base for snorkeling the GBR, fishing in the Daintree River area and exploring Cape Trib. The location was perfect, central, but well off the main road, on a hill overlooking Thornton Peak, and backed up to the rainforest.We opted for the private cabin and were very pleased..Hosts Peter and Christina were very welcoming, informative and engaging. They really were hosts, even taking us on a walk around the property and sharing lots of local info. The morning breakfast was great, with french press coffee and a generous selection of tropical fruits...The Epiphyte seemingly self-selects for an interesting mix of widely travelled and well-read clientel.We had a spontaneous wine and cheese party, and even cooked fish we had caught to share on the open veranda..All in all a highlight of our year in Australia. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The cabin has a private road entrance, but is close to the main house. Also has an open-air cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ognolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just stayed for 5 days in the independant cabin and found it the best place to enjoy the rainforest while relaxing in a clean and comfortable house. The verandah kitchen is well organised and we easily managed to keep food out of reach of insects or any other little creature. Bedroom and bathroom windows were well screened against mosquitoes, so excellent nights.
Our hosts were very friendly, helpful, interesting and do a wonderful work in the house and gardens .
The views of the rainforest and the mountain, from the house and the gazebo, make them good places to rest after a walking day or time at the nearby beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I think this was very good. The food was excellent. Wonderful tropical fruit every morning and the managers were very organised and helpful. They helped us find the best beaches because they were residents. Anyone who doesn't like this place has a problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you have have breakfast there and look out for cassowaries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moccakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This was one of our highlights of a trip around Australia. Staying in one of the oldest rain forests in the world is certainly a unique experience. We found the house clean and comfortable, it's up on a hill and provides great views from the large balcony. We stayed with the new managers who had only been there a few months, Christina and Peter. They were very hospitable and able to recommend and book some great local tours.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We spent 3 wonderful days at the Epiphyte, which is located in the rain forest within Daintree National Park. The grounds were beautiful, the room clean and comfortable and the managers were terrific. In all, it was our favorite accommodation in our 7 week trip to Australia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
6.7 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
0.6 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
2.5 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
17.4 mi away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
Address: 22 Silkwood Rd | Daintree Coast - Cape Tribulation, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Daintree rainforest accommodation near Cape Tribulation just 5 mins from lovely Cow Bay beach and overlooking the World Heritage Daintree national park. The main accommodation house is Queenslander style and has four en-suite rooms (single, standard double and large double/family size) each with private balconies, a large open-plan living area and extensive verandahs...the perfect place to relax and have a 'real' holiday!. For couples or small groups looking for even more privacy or independent accommodation, the Golden Orchid Retreat is a gorgeous self-contained cabin separate from the main accommodation house with views across the orchard to Noah's Range. Operating on solar power and rainwater as much as possible, the Epiphyte B&B has landscaped gardens to explore, views to take in and rainforest at the back door. Beautiful Cow Bay, where the rainforest meets the sea and reef, is a short drive away. A home away from home, The Epiphyte is airy, casual, friendly and breakfast featuring seasonal fruit is included in the room tariff. Help yourself to tea, coffee or a cool drink anytime. Play games, read a book, take in the stunning mountain views, swim, snorkel, visit the free board walks and/or join one of the many tours available in the Cape Tribulation, Daintree Coast area e.g snorkeling, fishing, canoeing, 4WD trips to Wujal Wujal, jungle surfing, night and day walks in ancient rainforest. It's a beautiful place to stay any time of year!! We'd love to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Epiphyte Bed And Breakfast Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing