We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MICE IN THE PILLOWS, AND NOT JUST ONE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daintree Crocodylus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MICE IN THE PILLOWS, AND NOT JUST ONE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Such a shame, a beautiful location but the owners/managers clearly do not want to be there. At times helpful but mostly gave the impression we were unwanted guests.The receptionist/ owner/ manager even rolled her eyes and clicked tounge during my wifes polite enquiries.The accom is old and run down and small bush mice and large rats getting through the poorly patched up holes in walls,our cabin was carbeen and there we found rats droppings ,mice in one of the pillows - were kept awake by the owner of all people who had obviously had too much to drink , maybe thats why the bar was closed early for the patrons-so she could get drunk and keep everyone awake.This would have to be the WORST PLACE WE HAVE EVER STAYED, and we were stuck there for the whole night,on leaving early morn ran into owner who offered no apology for her rude behaviour or keeping all awake until early hours.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daintreecrocodylus, Owner at Daintree Crocodylus, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
The resort is now under new ownership, and the issues noted here have been dealt with well and truly. Come up and discover for yourselves why Crocodylus really is the best rainforest experience. We promise no mice in the pillows and we wont keep you up with raucous behaviour
Cheers
Sally and Steve (new owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    89
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
124
127
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in Candlenut hut that had 3 bunk beds and a double bed, with a toilet and shower en-suite. Bed sheets were provided, plus a fan to keep cool. Didn't try out the pool, but it did look relaxing. There were 3 different courses for dinner, and home-made desert everyday but dinner was only served from 6:30 - 7:30. There is a bar on-site, so no BYO. The food was wholesome, delicious and good quality. If you cannot make the dinner time there was a typical youth hostel shared kitchen facility with storage and fridges.

Very friendly staff and and lots of activities provided. We followed their recommendation for a snorkel trip from Cape Tribulation.

The Snapper Island trip was a great adventure, kayaking 7km to a desert island, with all camping and cooking gear on board. Fresh food was provided and lunches and dinner were prepared by the guide, Aaron. The tents, mats and sheets were provided and also 2 hammocks. Lots of snorkelling and turtle watching, great trip.

We would recommend Crocodylus and the Snapper Island trip to anyone wanting to experience the rainforest and reef at close quarters.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

great setting - you are in the middle of the rainforest with lost of trees around - I even saw a young cassowary as I was walking to the bathroom! Lady at the front is very helpful. Amazing food at the restaurant - but there are self-catering facilities too (be sure to bring your food with you as the closest supermarket you have to drive to and it is very expensive). The lounge and restaurant areas were very nice. No cellphone reception - but that's what it's like in this area. Only one or two computers for internet. Rooms extremely basic (no power points) but all we needed. Can't look the rooms but we didn't feel this was an issue - a very safe place. Rooms have canvas walls but don't worry about being cold - we went in winter and it is very warm up there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemmti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I went for one night and ended up staying for two. We got a large tent with one double bed with 3 sets of bunks but did not have to share with others. This place is right in the rain forest and when it is sunny out, it is relatively dark because of being covered by the canopy which was awesome. We had a few meals cooked by staff which were good, but also made our own breakfast/ lunch in the shared kitchen. We had the Pender tent which was fairly close to a road, so that was the only draw back. However, there was such minimal traffic, it really didn't matter.The staff was great and if you go, book a night walk with Possum- he was so knowledgeable and funny too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

This hostel definitely was in the rain-forest, which is what we were looking for. The atmosphere was very relaxing and we loved the set up....but the rooms were a bit rough. They definitely needed updating, the mattresses looked 20 years old, and same for the last time it was painted. The rooms weren't sealed so bugs got in no problem. The kitchen was not very clean at all. If you want to go somewhere, and you took a bus up like us, expect to do some walking. If I recall (we went about 5 months ago) it was about a 20 minute walk to the ice cream place at the end of the road (highly recommended!) and then over an hour I believe to get to the beach, but the beach is worth it, very pretty! We also did the sea kayaking trip...not for the light hearted! They don't cancel for rough water so don't go if you easily get sea sick! They provide the bear minimum in terms of sleeping, just a tent, matt, and a sheet...just beware, it's for those who like to really rough it!! We stayed here a few nights, and one night at the Cape Trib Beach house...which was much more comfortable/nice and still had the rain-forest appeal!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Mum, Dad and two teenaged daughters had 5 nights at Crocodylus. The good news is that it's excellent value, toilets and kitchens are very clean, and the bunk rooms have a certain camping charm. The only real downside is that it is located in Cow Bay, and if you're doing the activities up in Cape Trib that's a 45 minute drive each way. But it's a beautiful drive, so chill out and enjoy. And do get down to the beach in Cow Bay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hectorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

You just have to stay here, if you want to experience what real Australia is like. This is not a typically-tourist-full place, but a quiet one, surrounded by rainforest at your very feet!!! You stay in huge huts, which feature fans, mosquito nets (which you don't actually need), a bathroom and a very confortable bed. The place is sooo beautiful, animals wandering around but not bothering at all, no big bugs to worry about, VERY clean place, very "natural", and home-made food that makes you wish you just get to the hotel on time for supper. Breakfast are also great!!!
Not too crowded, and yet not a sense of loneliness either. Very kind staff and quite a few things to do around, or just relax at the beaches, "where the rainforest meets the reef"...
It's just awesome...hope tourism don't spoil such a beautiful place!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovetotravelmucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
6.8 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
1.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
9.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Crocodylus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Crocodylus

Property: Daintree Crocodylus
Address: 161 Buchanan Creek Rd | Daintree Rainforest, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Daintree Crocodylus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your are looking for the real rainforest experience with no air conditioners or manicured lawns then Daintree Crocodylus is your answer. Whether you are travelling by yourself, with friends or the whole family you can experience the rainforest up close and personal less than a metre from your door! Nestled right under the rainforest canopy our wood and canvas huts are available as 4 bed dorm rooms, double rooms with or without ensuites, and our large Rainforest Bungalow that sleep up to eight. On-site we have eco info, rainforest walks, bar, restaurant, self catering kitchen, swimming pool, internet, and lots of other activities to keep you entertained and eco educated without breaking the bank. On top of that our friendly staff have lots of local knowledge and plenty of smiles so what are you waiting for; check in, chill out, and surrender yourself to the charms of Crocodylus, your ECO adventureland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daintree Crocodylus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodylus Village Hotel Cow Bay
Daintree Crocodylus Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing