We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Daintree Crocodylus
Nearby Hotels
Daintree Rainforest Retreat(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
$100
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Daintree Ecolodge(Daintree)
$237
$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Demi View Motel(Mossman)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
$106
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$435
$397
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$143
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$329
$302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Martinique on Macrossan(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
290
98
22
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
98
22
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight walksnapper islandrainforest experiencemosquito netself catercape tribulationsunday nightcommunal kitchenown bathroomsocial areafantastic experiencecommunal areasamazing rainforestsunday bbqsights and soundslaid backstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 431 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We both loved the Crocodylus experience, the magical sunrise sea kayak with Daniel to see sea turtles and the fringe reef, the mind blowing snorkelling on the Barrier Reef at Cape Trib, and the crocodile tour at Coopers Creek were definite highlights. The hospitality provided by Steve was second to none, and made our trip feel friendly and welcoming. The Sunday BBQ, prepared by Sally was lovely and excellent value, and got us talking to fellow travellers.

Cow Bay is a great place to have access to the Daintree and Cape Tribulation, and at Crocodylus you are surrounded by rainforest, 1 metre from your hut. The Wompoo bird was a delight to wake up to in the mornings. The huts were clean, though basic, and the fresh dry towels everyday were great (not surprisingly nothing dries in the rainforest).

I would highly recommend this place, and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 788SarahW_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

As a family of six we stayed at Crocodylus for three nights. It was an amazing place situated in the rainforest. The bungalow accommodation was roomy, clean and the beds were comfortable. A queen size bed rather than a double would have been better though.Loved having fresh towels everyday.
Sleeping in the rainforest was wonderful. The wind, rain and sounds of the forest was so soothing yet exhilarating.
The hosts, Steve and Sally were very welcoming and accommodating. The food was homely, yummy and very affordable. The Sunday night BBQ is a must.
Thankyou Steve and Sally for an amazing rainforest experience.

Room Tip: Bungalows with ensuites are best for families
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a great place to say, staff very helpful and friendly, relaxed. The bungalow accommodation in the rainforest was so amazing- the noises of the forest, rain falling on roof, wind, frogs, birds- took me a few nights to get used to it but then slept like a dream under the mosquito net. Great to settle in there for 5 nights.
I absolutely recommend it- go there!

Room Tip: Bungalows cost a bit more but have ensuite shower and toilet, and are very private
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent 6 weeks travelling around Queendland in a campervan and this was the 1 night that we chose to leave our van and stay in a bungalow right in the rainforest. And it was so worth it. To hear the rain on the roof that evening and the creatures and birds of the night was great. We were given a friendly welcome on arrival with everything clearly explained with regards shower operating hours, meals, self catering packs, where best to visit around the area etc. and then we set off on our bikes to the beach down at Cow Bay which is gorgeous. Being a Sunday night we had the special BBQ dinner which is ridiculous value all for $15!! And there were 2nds!! The staff fed well over 100 people the night we were there and all in a very friendly and cheerful manner. Steve and Sally and their staff do a fabulous job in this special little eco resort and I would highly recommend Crocodylus Village for those looking for a rustic eco experience in the heart of the Rainforest.
PS Make sure you try the fantastic Organic Icecream from Floravilla Icecream Factory on the corner of the road down to Crocodylus - delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Crocodylus Village is the perfect spot to experience DAINTREE RAINFOREST!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I thoroughly enjoyed my time here. I loved the screened in rooms; falling asleep to the sound of the rain, frogs, and crickets in DAINTREE: it is an incredible experience. Crocodylus has hot showers, cool fans and beds when it's hot and warm blankets to curl up in when it's cold. It's a great place to explore with paths down to Cow Bay Beach (beautiful!) and for day tripping around Daintree. Steve and Sally have been MOST ACCOMMODATING both times I've been here: from recommending places to go and trails to explore, even going above and beyond their hosting duties by sharing some key food ingredients we needed for our meals (when we forgot to bring them and it was too late and no one was open for miles) for our group meals. They were also very gracious when adding one more person to stay at the last minute for our group (hard to do as they've been booked up lately)---and for a good reason!! Croc. Village is one of the most enjoyable places to stay in Daintree. PS--DON't MISS the EXCELLENT BBQ on SUNDAY NIGHTS!!! (I missed out on this the first time I came --we already had our meals planned--- then made sure to call ahead and make reservations). This is one of the best meals around for miles!!!!! And EVERYONE comes for this DELICIOUS COOKING!!!! THANK YOU STEVE AND SALLY for making our time in Daintree so wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews