We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Daintree Crocodylus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in a rainforrest bungalow for 4 nights in January 2013. What a great way to experience the rainforest. A bit like walking into Jurassic Park (without the T Rex of course!). The huts were clean, beds were comfy, the food was great, the beer was cold, the wildlife amazing and according to my 3 kids, Steve makes the equal best hot chocolate in the world and Sally makes the best thickshakes! If you are after a special way to stay in the rainforest and really experience it, this is the place to stay. A very social atmosphere where you meet loads of people. Thanks Steve and Sally for a great stay. Still can't work out that accent Steve! Highly recomend staying here. Great fun, great value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 422 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We wanted an active escape where we could really experience the Daintree. Instead of booking a plain hotel or expensive resort we chose Crocodylus for the opportunity to have the rainforest at our doorstep. Highlights included: waking up to beautiful bird songs, basic but clean accommodation, amazing value $7 communal barbeque dinner, access to fun activities like sunrise sea kayaking (amazing) all made possible by Steve and Sal who helped make our stay a great value Daintree experience.

Room Tip: No fitness centre but access to swimming pool and walking track. Room service N/A
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristytaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great location right in the middle of the rainforest- we saw 3 cassowaries from our balcony! The accommodation is basic but clean, the communal space is lovely and the food is delicious. We stayed about a year ago (apologies for the delay reviewing) - I'm sure it's just as good as ever.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

WE decided to break our 14 day trip to port douglas up with a few nights at Crocodylus...and we are so glad we did !! What a magical and wonderful location ...Our 2 boys( aged 6 and 8) felt like they were on an adventure in the jungle..they climbed trees, explored and got to just enjoy nature. Waking up the the beautiful sound of rain and birds was magical . We cooked our own meals in the share kitchen and also had a few meals prepared by the hosts- good food and great value ! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planaholidayayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a fantastic experience. We wanted to escape the normal hotel or motel stay so decided to have a few nights in the heart of the action.

Waking up to the chorus of birdsong was a magical thing and Sally and Steve did everything possible to make our stay a really positive one.

Go here ! Go and take in the natural beauty of this place. Take plenty of food if you want to cook in the shared kitchen....or use the lovely restaurant on site.

Try the awesome carrot cake. And the smoothies.

But moreover go with Ocean Safari out to Mackay reef. One of the best things you will ever do.. . Coral and fish and turtles and the wonder of the reef. They were awesome.

And go on the night walk with Possum. Never have I learned so much in such a short space of time with such humour.

Enjoy the difference of Crocodylus.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BariosBethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

After checking the site we decided to stay longer than initially planned which turned out to be a great idea. Sally and Steve offer almost everything a travellers heart desires. Steve gladly answers all questions about the local flora and fauna whereas Sally provides gorgeous food. We were blessed with an awesome xmas party incl. lunch, guest presents and even Santa coming by.
The accomodations are spacious and tidy tent huts that fit perfectly into the jungle. We don't wanna miss the experience and the hospitality of our hosts.
Thanks.
Birgit & Josef

Room Tip: Any room is good. We stayed in Cedar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josef and Birgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great place to stay to avoid the party hostels. Steve and Sally are excellent hosts and work well together in running the place and making guests feel welcome and at home. Location is right in the jungle, so many animals close by, including one cassowary. Food is very good at the on-site restaurant. Do take the night walk with 'Possum, a local guide who knows the jungle and its inhabitants like his own family. Funny, educational and well-worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
6.8 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
591 reviews
1.1 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
2.4 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Cape Trib Beach House
Cape Trib Beach House
#2 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
580 reviews
2.1 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
9.6 mi away
Safari Lodge
Safari Lodge
#7 of 14 in Cape Tribulation
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Crocodylus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Crocodylus

Address: 161 Buchanan Creek Rd | Daintree Rainforest, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cow Bay
Price Range: $54 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Daintree Crocodylus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your are looking for the real rainforest experience with no air conditioners or manicured lawns then Daintree Crocodylus is your answer. Whether you are travelling by yourself, with friends or the whole family you can experience the rainforest up close and personal less than a metre from your door! Nestled right under the rainforest canopy our wood and canvas huts are available as 4 bed dorm rooms, double rooms with or without ensuites, and our large Rainforest Bungalow that sleep up to eight. On-site we have eco info, rainforest walks, bar, restaurant, self catering kitchen, swimming pool, internet, and lots of other activities to keep you entertained and eco educated without breaking the bank. On top of that our friendly staff have lots of local knowledge and plenty of smiles so what are you waiting for; check in, chill out, and surrender yourself to the charms of Crocodylus, your ECO adventureland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Daintree Crocodylus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocodylus Village Hotel Cow Bay
Daintree Crocodylus Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing