We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic accommodation in the rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daintree Rainforest Bungalows
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation in the rainforest”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lovely cabins in a small sunny clearing right among the Daintree Rainforest. The timber cabins have lots of light and excellent flow through ventilation. It feels like you are sleeping in the rainforest. With the windows open you can hear all to forest creatures during the night when they are out and about. The insect screens ensure you are comfortable too. The cabins are also very well appointed with lovely beds, a small stove and roomy ensuite bathrooms - they are both rustic and luxurious.

Ed is a wonderful host who provided great tips on what to see and do in the whole Daintree Region, including a walk along the Cow Bay Beach, which is one of the best in the Daintree yet is quiet and off the beaten track. Highly recommended, a great experience.

Room Tip: All the cabins look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterc1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We loved staying in these bungalows and enjoyed the sounds of the rainforest at night. The kitchen facilities were excellent and the cabin was very large with many windows. It was exceptionally clean and we could tell that it is very well cared for. We were so glad we stayed here and found the hosts to be helpful, personable, and conscientious. A gem and a great value compared to most other accommodation options in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my first review on Tripadvisor but felt compelled to write. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was so peaceful, the bungalows were so airy, clean and comfortable. It was beautiful sleeping at night with the windows wide open but having the strong flywire screens preventing any insects from coming in. My 15 year old daughter loved it too. Ed is so nice and so helpful, he offered my daughter his dvd player and dvds to watch if she got bored (she didn't need them) and he gave us 2 yummy papayas and some rambutams to eat. Ed helped us with all our bookings of activities we wanted to do plus gave us spot on advice.
We would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venise238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Daintree Bungalows were brilliant. We stayed here for two nights and found the cabin to be clean, well-equipped and spacious enough for all four of us. It was in an ideal location in the rainforest but with netting across all windows so no bugs! Ed was really helpful; both before we arrived and during our stay. He recommended lots of things to do in the area and even provided a drink on arrival. Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierceFamily91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights only at the "Daintree Rainforest Bungalows" and had a great time.
The cabins are in immaculate condition, very clean with everything you need. I MEAN EVERYTHING including insect repellant, shower gel and bottled water. We were a family with 2 teenagers and found the cabins quite large. We could happily sleep with all windows open and no bugs would get in because the mozzie netting was A1 on all the windows. The cabin had a one burned gas stove for cooking or just making a cuppa. Eskie for cold items. Fan inside the cabin for air circulation. The en suite was nice and clean. The room is open plan "except for en suite", no TV which was great as we played cards as a family.
The ground are well maintained with a fantastic under cover BBQ area. The cabins are in a little clearing.
As for the host, I have to say "Ed" was fantastic answering any question and pointing us in the right direction with things to see and do. Both evenings Ed put a mozzie coil on our porch and also did the same when we were eating in the BBQ area. Our daughter was on a mission to open a coconut but after 30 minutes with no success Ed helped her out with the right tools. Its just little things that make your stays even more special.
Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queen_of_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ed was very helpful and recommendations were spot on . Bungalows were well equipped and clean. A beautiful part of the world. I loved Cow beach and had a great meal at nearby Crocodylus. Yes definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mezz_OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon.
The cabins are equipped with everything you would expect - Cool box/eskie, insect repellant, plates, cutlery etc.
Ed was a good host, showing us places of interest and helping us book activities locally.
The 4 cabins are set in a beautiful garden with communal BBQ and the location is a few minutes drive to the beach.
Obviously there is no air con so it can get a bit hot if you're not used to high temperatures! But we loved our time here and would recommend it without hesitation.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillyteethelvisandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
7.0 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
388 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Rainforest Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Rainforest Bungalows

Property: Daintree Rainforest Bungalows
Address: Lot 40 Spurwood Road, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daintree Rainforest Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four timber cabins all with ensuites, kitchenettes and verandahs. Set apart from each other in tropical fruit orchard. Simple, no frills, bugproof, clean and comfortable with 24hr silent solar power. All cabins now fitted with quality Australian made Greywing queen beds. Free limited internet. Undercover barbecue area. Close to great beach and swimming holes. Central to all places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daintree Rainforest Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Rainforest Bungalows Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing