We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and hospitality in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daintree Rainforest Bungalows
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and hospitality in paradise”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

A fantastic option for anybody considering staying within the tropical paradise of the Daintree Region. A very welcomed service, in addition to very clean, spacious and open cabins. The screened windows are absolutely great, as at night you can hear the nuances of the rainforest surrounding, while fresh air fills the room - while keeping out any unwanted insects and so forth.

I highly recommend this tropical rainforest setting in the pristine cow bay for anybody in search of good friendly service, backed up very good accommodation - A great option to get the most enjoyment and satisfaction out of your tropical holiday.

Room Tip: trust and faith
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We fell in love with this place. After noisy Cairns we wanted to have a look at Cape Tribulation for 4 days and rented a car. As we do not like spiders and snakes in our rooms, we were quite cautious to book any acccommodation, but finally agreed to take the risk to book in this property. Even the 2 nights minimum stay didn't put us off... LUCKILY!

Where to start... Ed and Sheryl are such friendly and helpful, but very uncomplicated hosts. The bungalows, which we expected to be not much more than a bed with some walls around, were actually really cute, spacious, well equipped (not much, but good), spotless clean, and absolutely bugproof. We slept windows open, but screens closed, so you enjoy the feeling to sleep right in the middle of the jungle on this clearing with the beautiful trees, but you feel absolutely safe from whatever could crawl around at night. Some of the bathrooms even have tiles in it, and Ed made sure that you have many cool things like mosquito spray, good coffee (plunger!), a small selection of cutlery and pans etc, and we found that we just had whatever we needed. And if something missed, or if you wanted to know something, these friendly people were always around to help you out.

Barbecue is avalable too, and there is another resort nearby where you can have good food and drinks, and internet etc. if needed. But we just enjoyed to unwind, free from internet, TV (except jungle TV, consisting of small geckos feeding outside the windows, much fun to watch) etc.

This is a little paradise, and we could have stayed even longer (we initally wanted to stay the minimum of two nights, and finally managed to stay 6 nights, the maximum we could possibly manage to extend our rental car). Long time since we relaxed so well, thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a fantastic experience at the Daintree Rainforest Bungalows. Our cabin was comfortable, spotless, and very charming. We loved sleeping with the windows open and listening to the on and off rain and the creatures of the rainforest. The owners are very kind, friendly people. They were very helpful and gave good advice on activities. This was the highlight of our time in North Queensland. If we are every lucky enough to visit again, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our stay at Daintree Forest Bungulows was nothing short of perfect. This fairytale location is an absolute MUST, if you are in the market to make lifetime memories. The cabins are extremely comfortable, clean and add to the beautiful, magical atmosphere of this very special place.

Your host, Ed, will warmly welcome you, and is happy to assist in familiarizing you with the incredible forest surroundings, - as well as all else that there is to see and do in the area. We suggest that you stay for more than just a few days, as this is a place that you will not want to leave.
Daintree Forest Bungalows is one Australia's most amazing best kept secrets.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with ANY of the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Simple,clean and comfortable cottage. Enjoyed our time here in April. Wish we could have stayed for much longer. The manager was very welcoming, helpful and informative. I have no trouble recommending this place to anyone travelling to the Daintree.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cj b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Found this unique spot while searching for a place to stay in the rainforest. Even on the phone Eddy was warm, hospitable, informative and welcoming. These welcoming qualities only got better+++ after arrival. Not only were the terrific amenities in the terrific cabin well explained...but so much more...on the rainforest, the beaches, where to visit, crocs, and the "stingers and sharks" in Australian politics. We were encouraged to pick our own fresh fruits from his orchard...what incredible flavors! Just sitting for a couple of hours on the cabin terrace and trying to absorb all the surrounding fauna put us into a state of tranquil mellowness. Not realizing how close was our next visiting stop, our only regret was that we didn't continue to stay at the Bungalows while we enjoyed added superb experiences close to Cape Tribulation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We ended up needing lodgings very last minute and were referred to Ed and his Rainforest Bungalows. Ed was brilliant taking us with no notice and showing us the way by torch whilst walking around on crutches. Large wooden bungalows on stilts fully screened to leave all windows open all night with just the sounds of the rainforest surrounding you. Bungalows are very clean but basic with rainwater and solar powered electric, limited cooking facilities and no fridge. Make sure you stock up before crossing the Daintree River as prices high and supplies scarce. Ed and his partner were brilliant, helping us out in a jam, including providing a splint for my broken galsses.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvercariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
7.0 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
529 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
34 reviews
1.5 mi away
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
405 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
2.6 mi away
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Rainforest Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Rainforest Bungalows

Property: Daintree Rainforest Bungalows
Address: Lot 40 Spurwood Road, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cow Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daintree Rainforest Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four timber cabins all with ensuites, kitchenettes and verandahs. Set apart from each other in tropical fruit orchard. Simple, no frills, bugproof, clean and comfortable with 24hr silent solar power. All cabins now fitted with quality Australian made Greywing queen beds. Free limited internet. Undercover barbecue area. Close to great beach and swimming holes. Central to all places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Daintree Rainforest Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Rainforest Bungalows Daintree Region/Cow Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing