We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for families, otherwise give it a miss” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daintree Discovery Centre

Daintree Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is a world-class ecotourism facility nestled in the heart of the world’s oldest tropical rainforest. As the #1 Attraction in the Daintree it provides a wonderful introduction to this iconic world heritage destination. The spectacular Canopy Tower and Aerial Walkway allow visitors to explore every level of the forest and Audio Guides in 6 languages are a hit with overseas visitors. But it is it’s innovative Carbon Offset Project that is attracting attention! Part of every entry fees goes towards ‘saving the planet’ via its bio-sequestration scheme.The Discovery Centre is sustainable ecotourism at its best!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Adelaide
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for families, otherwise give it a miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The walkways are quite good and allow an experience of the rainforest environment, although in my view there are equally good, if not better, walks on the (free) boardwalks that are available in the Daintree area, and possibly more chance of seeing a variety of wildlife than in this busy visitor centre. In fact there is one just a little further down the road from the Discovery Centre that would be worth visiting early in the morning or late evening. There is plenty of information at the Centre, and this is probably a good place to go with a family. There is a resident rainforest expert who gives talks at regular intervals, but whose annoying voice pervades the whole area. The elevated platform is good, but the nearby trees seem to have been colonised by starlings at the expense of other birds. I would probably give this a miss if I had the time again, and save some money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    269
    153
    76
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited the discovery centre last week and while it was a little expensive (most things are in NFQ), we had a great time. Our kids are 5,8 and 9 and they loved it, especially the audio set with the kids narration. My 5 year old was the biggest surprise, usually a long walk looking at plants would bore him silly but he was really engaged with what he was seeing and having it explained by the audio. The rainforest is amazing, I didn't get to see a casswory but the amount of diiferent plant and animal life make's the Daintree's heritage listing well deserved. Highly recomended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ogoonivans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply magical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well organized, well presented. You are given a handheld audio device that gives great information on the plants and animals. Allow a good 2 hours to take it in and relax and enjoy the surroundings. The elevated tower that goes right up through the canopy is a one of a kind experience. Great food in the café and great value. You won't be disappointed.
The only negative which is not part of the centre is the ferry ride cost to get there at the Daintree River. I believe it is a $23 cost for a return trip. To the local council and Queensland politicians, this is a world heritage site and you need to make access more affordable. Where I come from in Canada, access by ferry would be at most $2-5. This is a site to be celebrated and appreciated and it is your duty to make it accessible to all. A ride that is all of 150 metres for $23 is a joke and a barrier to all the tourist operators and businesses that are accessed via this ferry. This would cause an uproar in Canada to put up a barrier to such spectacular area. Just some food for thought, friends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I loved everything about this place. It is set in an ancient rainforest with flora and fauna found no where else. The staff were extremely friendly and the handheld interpretive device meant you could take your time and pick and choose what to hear. I especially loved the Aboriginal interpretation set to the sounds of the digereedoo. The only drawback is the cost of the small car ferry. Not sure why this trip across this small river was so expensive. At home in Canada ferries are subsidized by the government, especially to tourist destinations. A ferry like this should be less than $5 return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive walk through the rainforest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was really looking forward to going to the discovery centre in cape trib/daintree and made sure that we made this a stop on our trip. For us this place did not cut the mustard. We found that it was very pricey and if you are trying to holiday on a budget I suggest not going here. Entry was $64.00 for two adults. We were told that it would take us a good 1.5hours to complete, however we did it in half the time. The audio handheld devices is a fantastic idea although the commentary on each section was extremely long, in saying that I really enjoyed the aboriginal commentary which was short, informative and interesting, I wish the rest of the audio had been that way. Climbing the tower was nice and it was good seeing the rainforest from the top, however was not so good to justify the price we paid to see it. We suggest if you are looking for a day of information and learning then this is the place to go. However if you are interested more in walking and taking in the sights of the rainforest go down the road and do the free walking tracks instead (which have information placards.)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nickyvicky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Discovery Centre also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing