We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money”

Daintree Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is a world-class ecotourism facility nestled in the heart of the world’s oldest tropical rainforest. As the #1 Attraction in the Daintree it provides a wonderful introduction to this iconic world heritage destination. The spectacular Canopy Tower and Aerial Walkway allow visitors to explore every level of the forest and Audio Guides in 6 languages are a hit with overseas visitors. But it is it’s innovative Carbon Offset Project that is attracting attention! Part of every entry fees goes towards ‘saving the planet’ via its bio-sequestration scheme.The Discovery Centre is sustainable ecotourism at its best!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We could see as much of the rain forest at any free walk. There were no animals, the board walks offered nothing extra. As a rainforest experience, one out of ten. If you are paying entry you expect a lot more. The booklets were a waste of money and resources. Café choices poor, white bread sandwich or white bread sandwich with choice of two fillings. No good for diabetics.

2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Many thanks for your review. I’m sorry to read you didn’t enjoy your visit. The location of the Centre was specially chosen because it was unspoiled and because of its incredible biodiversity. It’s also located in a natural cassowary corridor.

Animals are free to come and go as they please. Often well camouflaged, wildlife sightings can be dependent on the time of day and season you visit, as well as the types of plants that are in fruit/flower at the time. The Centre is not a zoo. Many visitors enjoy all the Centre has to offer: exploring the walks from the forest floor to the upper most reaches of the canopy, interactive displays, audio tours, information on climate change and the guide book.

The Centre may have sold out of a range of options prior to your visit as the Cafe has sandwiches made from multigrain and white bread as well as different fillings to cater for a range of tastes. We also have a selection of gluten free foods available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

968 - 972 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Visitors can walk through the rainforest at two levels and then climb a tower that takes you to the top of the canopy. Views into the forest are magnificent at all levels. The informative displays are excellent. This is a very impressive investment that has a lot to offer the tourist who would like to learn more about this precious and beautiful environment.

1  Thank MeriX2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were hoping to spot a cassowary but I think they are rather elusive and it would be a bit of a miracle to spot one however we learnt a lot about the rain forest, the birds and beasts and spotted a few along the way. Perhaps the forest is a bit quiet at the end of winter so we were a bit reliant on the interpretive signs but the experience was well worth while and we were delighted to hear resident ecologist Peter Pavlov give us a one on one talk about the forest ecosystem, the threats and management. A genuine piece of forest that we had the pleasure of wandering through.

Thank Pammage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the information we learnt while at the discovery centre. The information is well presented with a hand held speaker and can be listened to in many different languages, including indigenous australian.

Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Being averse to commercialized attractions and preferring to have undisturbed encounters with natural environments, we at first avoided this place during our week in the area. That was a mistake.

Yes, $32/person seems steep for a boardwalk through a small patch of forest. But the information content here is excellent. The electronic "tour guides" are terrific, and there is so much to see and hear and learn - IF you want to learn - that the price turns out to be a bargain. We had no trouble spending several hours here. Had we visited the Discovery Center FIRST, it would have explained many things we saw during our week that remained mysteries until the last day. Even the educational displays were well done, accurate and informative.

We also toured the Cooper Creek Wilderness area, and 4 hours cost $80@. That was worth it, too, but if you don't care about seeing the original forest yet want to learn about it, the Centre is a good start and a comparative bargain.

The Centre's attention to ecological sustainability is well-explained and very admirable (if only they could stop burning diesel). This is an expensive place to maintain, and it was easy to see how that justified the cost of admission (and the coffee shop and the tourist trinkets....).

Anybody who associates the likelihood of seeing wildlife with the price is being totally unreasonable (especially in July, which is winter). If you want to be sure to see things, you go to a zoo. This is not a zoo.

Thank JackCSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Discovery Centre also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cow Bay, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing