We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ferry, Weather and Parents with Prams”

Daintree Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is a world-class ecotourism facility nestled in the heart of the world’s oldest tropical rainforest. As the #1 Attraction in the Daintree it provides a wonderful introduction to this iconic world heritage destination. The spectacular Canopy Tower and Aerial Walkway allow visitors to explore every level of the forest and Audio Guides in 6 languages are a hit with overseas visitors. But it is it’s innovative Carbon Offset Project that is attracting attention! Part of every entry fees goes towards ‘saving the planet’ via its bio-sequestration scheme.The Discovery Centre is sustainable ecotourism at its best!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ferry, Weather and Parents with Prams”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

To preface the staff were great here. They were more than accommodating to heat up our babies lunch and quite helpful.

There are three tracks and a Canopy tower at the Centre. Only One track is accessible to prams, the other two have numerous steps and the canopy tower is all steps. Keep this in mind if you are pushing a pram.

You have to cross the river by Ferry to get here ($23.00 Return) they do not have EFTPOS so take cash. If like us you don’t have the cash, drive back to the main road 2km and there is a little café that will allow you to take out $25.00 for a $2.50 fee. They should put this on the brochure.

We went in May to Port Douglas and it was fine the whole week. However when we went to the Daintree it poured. Well it is the rainforest.
It may be prudent to call ahead to see what the weather is like. It was pouring when we got there and had to buy ponchos. We saw no animals except mosquitos.
The Plants, trees and Audio tour were good, but it would have been good to see some birds or Butterflies.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveo_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    275
    153
    78
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
460 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“A great way to learn about the Daintree”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

When I arrived I had a lovely welcome by the staff and a good explanation of how the centre worked. I was given a booklet to read about the "green" numbers and an earpiece to listen about the "white" numbers. You could easily spend a couple of hours here. Worth a visit if you would like to be educated about this wonderful rainforest.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude pushy staff member”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a rainy day, which I know is to be expected in the tropics. As soon as we walked in we were ushered over to the desk by a man who started his spill on selling us 2 guides which cost $9.95 each and a family ticket for $78, we were not prepared to pay that money as we knew the kids would be bored and we would have preferred to put that money towards another activity! We explained to him it was wet and we may return another day during our stay, which he replied "welcome to the tropics, your lucky its not 15 degrees" and then " I suggest you do it as soon as you can and its valid for 3 days " like it was going to sell out! He was very pushy and rude,shoving the remote controls for the audio down our throats, we were going to stay for a coffee but felt very uncomfortable and decided to leave!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alilaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for your review and I'm sorry you felt uncomfortable during your visit.

Firstly, I'd like to clarify the inclusions for the Family Entry price of AUD$78 - this includes 2 adults and as many children in your family aged 5-17 years, the self-guided Audio Tours, a 48 page guide book and return entry for 7 days.

The Audio Tours are available in 8 languages and the English version has an indigenous tour and children's tour which is suitable for 5-9 years. The 48 page guide book normally sells for RRP AUD$9.95 for those who wish to purchase when not entering the Centre/paying the entry fee.

The Discovery Centre is a rainforest interpretive Centre, showcasing why the Daintree Rainforest is so special. One of the advantges of a visit to the Centre is that it provides access (as well as all weather interpretive facilities) to the rainforest at every level; from the forest floor to the upper most reaches of the canopy.

Finally, I am shocked to hear of your experience at the Centre. Having worked here for seven years, I can honestly say I've never heard feedback like this about our team. The staff at the Centre are strong in their commitment to provide all visitors with an exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south-west
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Get close to nature in safety! Explanations of the flora & fauna are excellent and the tower overlooking the forest canopy is super!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terrym153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rainforest in the rain”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Despite the torrential rain, with the protection of plastic smocks, we had a lovely walk around the centre, on the high level board walks and the observation tower too. Well you expect it to rain in a rain forest !!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim3048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Discovery Centre also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing