We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction and informative”

Daintree Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is a world-class ecotourism facility nestled in the heart of the world’s oldest tropical rainforest. As the #1 Attraction in the Daintree it provides a wonderful introduction to this iconic world heritage destination. The spectacular Canopy Tower and Aerial Walkway allow visitors to explore every level of the forest and Audio Guides in 6 languages are a hit with overseas visitors. But it is it’s innovative Carbon Offset Project that is attracting attention! Part of every entry fees goes towards ‘saving the planet’ via its bio-sequestration scheme.The Discovery Centre is sustainable ecotourism at its best!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a great arrangement - lovely cafe and fantastic walks. Dispense with the audio guide - you gets as much with the booklet. We loved this place! Great introduction to the daintree. It's a little pricey at $28 per adult but we visited it first on our way to cape trib and the again on our way back. If you want to avoid the cost there's a great walk very close - just keep driving for a short way up the road. Recommended.

Thank travellers408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,160 - 1,164 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you want to learn all about the wet tropical rainforest in one place while doing zero damage to the environment, try the Discovery Centre. They make it clear that unblike zoos and game parks, they don't set out feed to attract animals/birds and they sure don't have cages and nets. So there are no guarantees but listen, look and make use of either the guidebook or the museum type hand held audio device as you climb and walk around their walkways.

Great value for money.

Thank Lorne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

full of facts, great staff - could still be there learning if we hadnt had to come home!

Thank Julesmelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Many thanks for your review and for taking the time to really experience the Daintree Rainforest. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Centre and hope you come back to our special part of the world sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My family just finished a vacation staying in Cairns / Port Douglas, and our visit to the Daintree Discovery Centre was by far the part we enjoyed the least. $28 per person was a complete rip-off for a 30 min self-guided walk. Don't expect to see any animals, nor birds here - we didn't! Apparently, you can see cassowaries here from time to time, but don't count on it - they are endangered and rare to find out in the wild. To add to the outrageous $28 fee, if you're doing the 1 hour drive from Port Douglas, there is a ferry crossing for the Daintree river (only about 100 metres wide) which costs a whopping $22 for a return trip ticket.

Options for a nice FREE walk - Mossman Gorge or Crystal Cascades. If you want guaranteed cassowary viewing and lots more, check out Hartley's Crocodile Adventures. The shows there are top notch - funny and informative. My 2 year old son absolutely loved it and we even went back on a second day.

Thank Dennis_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thanks for your review and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the Discovery Centre.

The Centre is an award winning nature based ecotourism facility that specialises in rainforest interpretation. Located in an unspoilt wilderness area, it is in the heart of the oldest intact tropical rainforest in the world.

It is not a zoo. There are no fences and staff do not feed the wildlife, so the animals are free to come and go as they please. The rainforest is teeming with interesting birds and animals, but most are well camouflaged and sometimes hard to see. Sightings vary depending on what fruit is in season as well as the time of day you visit.

The Centre offers 4 independent self-guided walks; the Aerial Walkway (mid level), Canopy Tower (upper level and canopy), Cassowary Circuit (elevated boardwalk protecting the fragile root systems) and the Bush Tucker Trail (rainforest foot and medicines). It also has a series of outdoor Mega Fauna displays linked to a Climate Change theatre. The interpretive Centre houses touch screen kiosks covering ancient flora and fauna, conservation, carbon offsets, cyclones, crocodiles, cassowaries and much more.

Many people spend all day and come back time and time again. The AUD$28 entry fee includes a free 7 day return visit pass as well as a complimentary 48 page interpretive guide book. The Centre carefully monitors pricing on a regular basis and is more than competitive with other tourist attractions in the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

What an exceptional start to understanding the Daintree and rain-forests. We were so impressed by the educational aspect of this centre. Wish we had longer than the two hours we spent there as the exhibits and depth of knowledge shared in the exhibits and interactive educational centre was excellent. Being able to walk through the layers of rainforest, especially up in the canopy, was absolutely beautiful.

Thank mrsdibarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDCmktg, Marketing Manager at Daintree Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Many thanks for your positive comments. It's wonderful you've taken the time to really experience the Daintree Rainforest. Your entry fee entitles you to revist at no extra charge for 7 days - hope to see you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Discovery Centre also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
 
Cape Tribulation, Daintree Region
Cow Bay, Daintree Region
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing