We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Rainforest Experience”

Daintree Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Discovery Centre is a world-class ecotourism facility nestled in the heart of the world’s oldest tropical rainforest. As the #1 Attraction in the Daintree it provides a wonderful introduction to this iconic world heritage destination. The spectacular Canopy Tower and Aerial Walkway allow visitors to explore every level of the forest and Audio Guides in 6 languages are a hit with overseas visitors. But it is it’s innovative Carbon Offset Project that is attracting attention! Part of every entry fees goes towards ‘saving the planet’ via its bio-sequestration scheme.The Discovery Centre is sustainable ecotourism at its best!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Rainforest Experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

WE spent some time in Cairns and eventually headed out to the Discovery Centre. it has one of the best displays we've ever seen. The team were friendly and the view over the rainforest canopy was brilliant. We chose to do the self guided audio tour which was worth it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraBrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    275
    153
    78
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Daintree Discovery Centre is not just for visitors to FNQ, locals should experience what the Centre has to offer!”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

An awesome day!! So much to see and do. Having lived in Cairns for 17 years I cannot believe we waited so long to experience the Daintree Rainforest Discovery Centre. The kids were fascinated and thoroughly entertained. We all loved the view from the canopy tower, well worth the trip to the top. I personally loved learning about the native plants and the Cassowary is a magnificent bird with exquisite colours. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Not hard to see why the Centre has won so many awards.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee65_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

This is an excellent visit. Plan to spend some time there, and hope you get Chris as a guide who is a mine of fascinating information.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorguh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Take your kids to learn about the rainforest”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a great place worth the free thats goes towards saving the Daintree

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Anmarie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is basically just a small group of walkways through the jungle. There are also a couple of fish in an aquarium. I don't think this was worth the money. I would just go to Mossman Gorge where there are miles of walkways to explore the jungle and there are little interpretive signs just like at the Discovery Center only Mossman is FREE.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank blpfister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daintree Discovery Centre also viewed

Daintree Region, Queensland
 

Been to Daintree Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing