We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Barn open plan living near the beach!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn open plan living near the beach!
Putsborough Manor Barn Putsborough Beach at sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Barn open plan living near the beach!
Putsborough Manor Barn
Putsborough Beach at sunset
king size bed and ensuite with underfloor heating
Spa bath and shower
Looking towards Putsborough from Woolacombe Down
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Putsborough, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
atNigel74
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful...”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

With a trickling stream and just a handful of cottages next to its thatched manor house, Putsborough is both peaceful and very beautiful.

It is a perfect spot for exploring the local area by car or by foot, and is a great place for those who like to spend a few hours (or more) chilling on the beach, or even being a bit more active in the surf.

The Barn itself has been converted sympathetically, retaining a number of original features and combining these with modern styling and conveniences. It has a small enclosed garden, which is perfect for letting the dogs out securely (there's a bbq for the sunnier days), and the nearby beach and even closer paddock are perfect for throwing the ball and having a doggy run.

I very much hope to return again soon!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2016
Thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and Putsborough! It would be great to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelh2...
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect couple's (plus hound) retreat”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was our second year at Putsborough manor. We stayed in the cottage the first time and loved it, but for a couple, The Barn is even better. The accommodation is very well done, modern, but in keeping with the aincient character of the exterior. It has all the amenities we could want. With short days and chilly weather in Jan, it's great to be able to curl up in front of Sky Movies in an evening with the underfloor heating making it toastie. Really can't think of anything I'd change.

The location is outstanding. A short walk or an even shorter drive to Putsborough sands, which is a lovely flat Sandy beach. Croyde is walkable too, take the coast path is the weather is even half reasonable.

For dog owners, the fully enclosed garden is very handy, plus a thoughtfully positioned hose pipe by the front door sorts out muddy paws out. Our dog is normally on the lead at all times, but we took the oopurtunity to give him run around in the enclosed field opposit, on the way to the beach.

All in all, the best holiday rental we have had in UK

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Liked least: A little dimly lit in kitchen area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2016
Wow! What a fabulous review - thank you so much! I am always happy when our guests come and stay with us again, but even happier that you like our new accommodation in Putsborough so much.... we look forward to your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaff100
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Bona Fide Winner!”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in Putsborough Manor Barn with our dog for a long weekend in November. It is a perfect little place to get away, go for windswept walks on the beautiful nearby beach, sit back and relax and venture out to some of the area's fine drinking/eating establishments. The cottage is fantastically presented with everything you need and feels like home straightaway. Indeed, you feel like you are missing out when you are not spending time there! In a very convenient location, we don't have a bad word to say about it. Well worth a stay and definitely requires a re-visit. Spot on!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
Thanks so much for this really great review! I do hope that we see you again soon....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920cather...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's a 10 !!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great venue 2 mins from Croyde Beach by car and 5 mins walk to Putsborough Beach, nearest big town Barnstaple. We had a fab week weather terrific and had some great meals out at some local pubs. Perfect thatched cottage beautifully converted,will be back sometime ...........

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
Thanks very much for your great review - so glad you enjoyed your holiday, it was good to meet you both and I look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul d
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“wonderful cottage, wonderful location”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Putsborough Barn and Cottage for a week with our 4 adult children - had a wonderful time, plenty of healthy walks and several beautiful beaches nearby.

The Barn/Cottage were well furnished and comfortable and the owners left lots of useful advice about the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and surrounding area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
Thanks for your great review, I am glad you've had a wonderful time and hope that we might meet again one day..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cburford2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Putsborough & Barn”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

North Devon is an beautiful part of the country. Putsborough Barn is a great place to enjoy the wonderful beach and surrounding area. The Barn has been recently converted and it is very well equipped - dishwasher, washing machine, and plenty of kitchen equipment. Barn has Wifi and Sky TV. Nice size kitchen / diner, a double bedroom with on-suite and a twin on-suite room.

It is a 5-10 minute walk to the amazing Putsborough beach via a field. We stayed there with two young children and they loved it. Great base for walkers to explore the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern, well equipped accomodation
Liked least: Country roads are tight - SatNav not great
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2015
Thank you so much for your great review! I hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishinwas...
Croyde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place to stay by the sea”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a really nice stay with my wife and dog in Putsborough. The place has just been refurbished to a really high standard but still has got its old world charm. Restaurants near by made us feel welcome and the owners could not do enough for us. Will be back in Autumn as we had such a good time.. Very luxurious...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate surroundings better than advertised
Liked least: Having to leave as the weather was great
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2015
Thanks for your great review - so glad you enjoyed the area and the Barn... look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing