We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Burton's, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mel and Debbie Burton are not only very friendly -- genuinely nice people -- but are also extremely helpful. It's obvious they make a real effort to give their guests an excellent value for their money. The place was spotlessly clean, the furnishings were in very good condition, the kitchenette was well equipped, the satellite TV and WIFI worked very well, and each room has a great view, though that view pales in comparison to what you see from outside the rooms.... it's a truly spectacular setting. If what you want is a very pleasant and comfortable place to stay in as peaceful and beautiful a place as you can imagine, all at a very reasonable price, you can't go wrong here. We felt sad to leave, as we felt so at home at Burton's. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NearTheElbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
89
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent two nights here and had a great stay. The owners, Debbie and Mel, are fantastic. They were very friendly and very helpful. They have a list of possible activities and are willing to make calls to aid their guests. They are extremely knowledgeable of the area (the property has been in the family for hundreds of years - a royal land grant!). They told us where to buy local lobster meat and then provided the mayo for our lobster salad sandwiches.

The rooms are large, clean, and have a nice kitchenette. TV with many channels worked well. Slept well here with no problems.

Despite some not so good weather, we had a great stay here, thanks to Mel and Debbie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDS516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We split our Cabot trail trip into 2 days and spent a night at Burton's Sunset Oasis. We are family of three and enjoyed this place a lot. Our room was clean and big. All rooms have beautiful view on the ocean. Wi Fi was a nice feature. The owners are super friendly and nice. They offered to make a call for us for food delivery, but takeout was really close, so we went there ourself because we wanted to explore the area. I must say that lobster and crab rolls were super good :-).
You can have coffee and toast for breakfast in the office. Meat Cove just 25 minutes away and I think it's absolutely a must. I have just very good memory about our stay. And I would love to come there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room #1. But all the rooms have view on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iryna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very clean, friendly service, amazing sunset!! Had everything we needed...even cooked crab and lobster for us! They had free wfi and trails to walk along the ocean. Pots pans and dishes. Flat screen TV with satilite and comfy sofa and beds. Our family enjoyed the washer toss game....great time had by all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripingitwithtripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was on a road trip around the maritime provinces in Canada with my husband last week, and we stayed at Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel while touring Cape Breton. We stayed for three nights, but I would recommend spending at least 5 days in the are as Cape Breton has a lot to offer.

The motel: it's a bit of a drive, as Bay St Lawrence is located on the very tip of the cape, but it's worth it; the view is breathtaking. Sitting on the bench and enjoying the view of the bay, the ocean and the green hills will make up for the long drive. The rooms are simple, comfortable and clean. The Kitchenette is spacious and fully equipped, so we bought groceries from the nearby COOP and cooked some of our meals instead of eating out all the time. There is only one cafe that opens from 8am-4pm and a fast food take out, so not many options for eating out anyway.

What we also did was buy fish and seafood from the Fisheries coop and borrow Mel's outdoor cooker to barbeque them. Highly recommended!

Last but not least, Mel and Debbie were great hosts, friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcomed.

Things to do: From Bay St Lawrence, you can take a whale watching tour (and we saw a school of pilot whales!). We also drove to Meat Cove (15 minutes) and walked along its boardwalk that leads to the beach. It was a lovely and easy walk that ended on a tranquil beach. We also drove to the west side of the cape to catch the Skyline Trail of the Highlands National Park: not to be missed! The scenery is diverse and beautiful and the hike leads you to a breathtaking view. The park offers many other trails to be discovered.

I would also recommend a visit to Cheticamp, a small fishing community that is also on the west side of the cape. It's charming and has a distinct feel to it. It has a COOP, a licensed liquor store, a bakery, and few restaurants/cafes ( we tried Hometown Kitchen Restaurant and were very happy).

We also tried the Smokey trail (not part of the highlands park) and were less impressed...

We wanted to go on a Kayak tour (there was a facility in Cape North (20 minutes drives from the motel) but unfortunately it was raining.

To wrap up, if you're looking for relaxing, pristine and tranquil base for your Cape Breton journey, a comfortable/clean/friendly motel, and a breathtaking view, I would highly recommend Burton's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farahlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toornto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our room was remarkably clean and very spacious. It came with our very own kitchen- this motel definitely topped my lists. The view was phenomenal and it's just right outside our door. The location is perfect! It's close to the whale watching tour, meat cove, hiking trails, and yes... beaches! However, this motel is located on top of a hill that over-looks the Atlantic ocean and highlands of the north side of Cape Breton island. Excellent place for a relaxing getaway and perfect for star gazing. The owners are fantastic, very helpful and accommodating. The price in our room is fair and very reasonable, for the perfect location such as this- our stay was priceless! I will definitely come back and stay here again! Just in case your wondering -TV works fine and we had no problem with hot water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelrinoa116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Location is the best place here. Views are beautiful and close to Whale Watching tours but, the motel was very old. Our TV never worked until finally at 9:00pm when almost bedtime anyway. Slept well but, beds were old and worn. Wife had shower to run out of hot water half way through. I never got any hot water. I mentioned to staff that I dont know how they get so high ratings to only be a sub-par motel. I realize the view is great but, the motel otherwise is nothing special at all unless your looking for the rustic look...

Room Tip: Hope everything works for you...Good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiLLi_HaYMaKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay St. Lawrence
22.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
34.0 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Ingonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
24.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
25.2 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel

Property: Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Address: 105 Money Point Rd, Bay St. Lawrence, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Bay St. Lawrence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay St. Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burtons Sunset Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing