We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I would put Burton's Sunset Oasis at the top of the list of places we have stayed in the last 10 days in Nova Scotia. There may be few, if any, restaurants around (depending on the time of year) but there is a small kitchen in the room as well as a takeout joint down the road that will deliver. And if you make advance arrangements owners Mel and Debbie Burton will cook a lobster dinner ($15) and serve it in your room. The place is spotless and the service superb. We had a minor problem with the flat screen TV (turned out to be a programming issue) and both Mel and Debbie were immediately there to fix it. They have apparently resolved the issue with the lack of channels with a new satellite system. I quit counting at 150 channels. But forget the TV, the view from the motel, located atop a hill, is spectacular. We spent two nights there and saw the owner outside often. He always asked if we needed anything. Breakfast in the office isn't much (toast and coffee, but there is always the kitchenette, if you plan ahead. The sunsets are spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was the perfect place for us after a day on the Cabot Trail. We arrived before the season began so we had no problem getting two rooms. The manager was very friendly, helpful and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He even offered to get supper for us! The rooms were clean and there was even a comfortable rocking chair. The bathroom shower had good water pressure, the shower curtain was clean and looked new, and the bathtub was clean as well (my pet peeve). The queen size bed was firm and comfortable, no sags, the pillows were fluffy and soft, and the bedding was fresh, and the comforter was clean. The room had a sleeper sofa and the sofa had no noticeable smells so it seemed like it had been cleaned recently. Also, the kitchenette had everything we needed to make a spaghetti supper. We decided to cook our own meals, so we purchased everything from the Co-op store nearby. The view of the ocean was spectacular, and even though it was windy (which is typical of the area), the rooms were well-insulated so the wind was muffled and we had a peaceful night's sleep. We really enjoyed our one night stay and will definitely go back and recommend this place to our friends and family.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kell h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed one night during our Mom/Daughter trip around the Cabot Trail. Unfortunately, we did not get to experience the sunset because of poor weather, I can imagine they are amazing. The room was functional and clean with a small kitchen. The location is perfect just off the Trail. It is close to Meat Cove, which is why we chose it. It is a bit overpriced but this was not a surprise. I will come back when I come with our third daughter for her Mom/Daughter Cabot Trail trip. I have traveled all over the world and Cape Breton ranks up in the top three for me.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelsinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This motel is a very nice place to get away and relax, without being worried about distractions. The sunsets are well worth the trip! The weather was cooperative and for the few nights we spent, we were able to get some great pictures of the spectacular views. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Though we did need to pick up few groceries at the local store, we were able to get what we needed and everyone was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbgravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Room was clean, couch was not comfortable to sit on.
The room does have a kitchenette with basic dishes.
Only one channel on TV. They have VHS movies in the office for you to watch.
No restaurants near by and the grocery store closes at 5 pm in October, so plan a meal in advance or drive 20 minutes back to get to a restaurant.
Bay St Lawrence is at the road end with nothing to do but watch the sunset.
We were there in October and we woke up to a storm. The motel is not protected from the wind and rain coming of the ocean.
I doubt I would go back as it felt you were in the middle of no where and it was a little pricey for what you got.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel and were glad we decided to venture off the Cabot Trail. It is such a beautiful and quiet spot with an amazing view of the sunset each night. There is plenty in this area to see and do as well. We drove out to Meat Cove and spent a few hours hiking and on the beach (it's a short drive and quite a neat little spot to see). We also drove over to John Cabot Park which is very close to Bay of St. Lawrence (just a few miles). The beach there is absolutely gorgeous. We spent a couple of hours there just walking the beach and taking pictures. Great beach to go walking or boogie boarding. We felt this was one of the most scenic beach areas we saw on our East Coast Holiday. We ate supper one night at the restaurant in the Bay of St. Lawrence Community Center. We had the snow crab and salmon specials which were very reasonably priced and excellent tasting. We ended off our meal with a piece of warm homemade pie right out of the oven (our meals were so good and so cheap that we didn't even use the coupon that Burton's give their guests for this restaurant, it just didn't seem right). We really enjoyed our two nights here and would highly suggest you drive the extra few miles off the trail to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janajoseph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a basic motel room with a great view that we called in the afternoon to reserve a room, since it was getting late and we needed a place to stay. This was the only place in the area so we took it. The price was $125 for one night, with no breakfast, not even coffee. Touring the Maritimes for 2 weeks, this was the most expensive place we stayed. We usually stayed in B & B's for $70 to $80, and had great breakfasts. If we had gone another half hour further, there were several places available. Cape Breton, and especially the Cabot Trail, is a fantastic place to visit.

Room Tip: only 5 rooms,and we were the only guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay St. Lawrence
22 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
34 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
215 reviews
24.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices

Been to Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel

Address: 105 Money Point Rd, Bay St. Lawrence, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Bay St. Lawrence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay St. Lawrence
Price Range: $117 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burtons Sunset Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing