We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to watch the sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to watch the sunset”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Burton's was a well equipped room, was clean and a beautiful spot to stay. Mel was very informative and had a "tuc shop" that was well stocked with snacks and drinks as well as videos to borrow. The local snack shack delivered food free of charge and had quite an extensive menu. This is located at the top tip of Cape Breton, well worth the trip. We sat outside and watched the beautiful sunset over the Atlantic Ocean (Bay of St. Lawrence) which was quite spectacular. The spot is quite peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scans64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
89
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The best part of this motel was the location overlooking Bay St. Lawrence - WOW! We wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the area more. The rooms were also large, clean and comfortable including a kitchenette that we didn't have time to use but hope to if we go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This is the way to do the Cabot Trail. Take your time and stay along the way, With clean, comfortable accomodations and truly fantastic view we found the Sunset Motel to be an excellent choice at about the halfway point on the Cabot Trail. The owner was very pleasant and provided us with good information on the surrounding area. He also directed us to a lobster dinner ($12) put on by the community. If you want to go to the dock and buy a lobster the owner will cook it up for you. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisinSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here three nights in late June. Loved every minute of it. Hosts are fabulous - will do anything to help you out. Location is gorgeous - looking out over Bay of St. Lawrence. This is a real working town, not just a collection of tourist destinations. Room was plain but clean and everything we wanted. We drove all over the park and over to Ingonish, but always looked forward to turning up to the road to St. Lawrence Bay and Mel's little hotel with the warm hospitality and the million dollar view. Thanks for a great stay, Mel and Debbie. Have a blessed summer and hope to visit you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelswithlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I booked this hotel based on its fantastic Tripadvior reviews, and agree wholeheartedly that it's without a doubt the best hotel on Cape Breton. There's few hotels that leave an impression for life, where you can be talking to someone 30 years down the road and remember the name / location / exact feeling of the place....Burton's is and will be on my short list. The views / sunsets are stir the soul, no words can do it justice. Just picture standing in a grassy field perched high above rocky cliffs, with the Gulf of St. Lawrence as your backyard, whales spouting and singing offshore. Simply majestic. Mel and Debbie are wonderful hosts and people. Mel kept me entertained for hours with stories and history about the area. They both scolded me (rightfully so) for not calling then ahead to secure some lobsters for a dinner (a mistake I will not make in the future!). The rooms are huge, tastefully decorated, and clean to the point that you can eat off the floors. Mattress / pillows were the most comfortable I slept on while on a 11-day trek through the maritime provinces. Open the windows at night and let the cool ocean breezes rush through and lull you to sleep. Keltic Lodge gets all the hype in the area and does have great views, but Burton's offers better views (in my opinion) with incredible sunsets, and all the personal touches that the bigger places lack. If you don't end up taking up their offer to boil lobsters for you, drive to the Rusty Anchor restaurant (about 35 minutes) for more world class views and very good food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedmrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is a clean, well maintained motel in a beautiful location. Mel went beyond the call of duty to be helpful. Mel steamed lobsters for us the same day they were bought off the boat...fantastic! He also chatted about local history and politics with my husband each evening as my husband photographed the wonderful sunsets. There is also a local co-op just down the hill that has anything you need. This is a great place for a relaxing stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I had booked this hotel after reviewing trip advisor. It was well worth the drive, not far from the Cabot trail. We found an oasis at the end of the road! The views were wonderful and serene. We bought lobsters right off the boat and Mel offered to cook them for us. We had a wonderful meal and experience. Great find! Thanks Mel and Debbie

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay St. Lawrence
22.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
64.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
582 reviews
34.0 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
26.3 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Ingonish
173 reviews
24.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel

Property: Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Address: 105 Money Point Rd, Bay St. Lawrence, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Bay St. Lawrence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay St. Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burtons Sunset Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing