We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Certificate of Excellence
NH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Believe the hype!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I booked this hotel based on its fantastic Tripadvior reviews, and agree wholeheartedly that it's without a doubt the best hotel on Cape Breton. There's few hotels that leave an impression for life, where you can be talking to someone 30 years down the road and remember the name / location / exact feeling of the place....Burton's is and will be on my short list. The views / sunsets are stir the soul, no words can do it justice. Just picture standing in a grassy field perched high above rocky cliffs, with the Gulf of St. Lawrence as your backyard, whales spouting and singing offshore. Simply majestic. Mel and Debbie are wonderful hosts and people. Mel kept me entertained for hours with stories and history about the area. They both scolded me (rightfully so) for not calling then ahead to secure some lobsters for a dinner (a mistake I will not make in the future!). The rooms are huge, tastefully decorated, and clean to the point that you can eat off the floors. Mattress / pillows were the most comfortable I slept on while on a 11-day trek through the maritime provinces. Open the windows at night and let the cool ocean breezes rush through and lull you to sleep. Keltic Lodge gets all the hype in the area and does have great views, but Burton's offers better views (in my opinion) with incredible sunsets, and all the personal touches that the bigger places lack. If you don't end up taking up their offer to boil lobsters for you, drive to the Rusty Anchor restaurant (about 35 minutes) for more world class views and very good food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedmrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
89
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is a clean, well maintained motel in a beautiful location. Mel went beyond the call of duty to be helpful. Mel steamed lobsters for us the same day they were bought off the boat...fantastic! He also chatted about local history and politics with my husband each evening as my husband photographed the wonderful sunsets. There is also a local co-op just down the hill that has anything you need. This is a great place for a relaxing stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

I had booked this hotel after reviewing trip advisor. It was well worth the drive, not far from the Cabot trail. We found an oasis at the end of the road! The views were wonderful and serene. We bought lobsters right off the boat and Mel offered to cook them for us. We had a wonderful meal and experience. Great find! Thanks Mel and Debbie

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

My mother, sister and I traveled to Nova Scotia this summer. We were planning to spend 3 days along the Cabot Trail. The reviews for Burton's Sunset Oasis were all so good that we took the advise from this website and booked a night.

Mel and Debbie were fantastic hosts. The room were clean and had everything we needed. A fabulous sunset, a bonfire and entertainment topped off the evening. We really enjoyed ourselves.

We had planned to go whale watching near Pleasant Bay but Mel promoted the local businesses at Bay St. Lawrence and helped us set up a trip for the following day. We went to Oshan Whale Watching tours and had a fantastic tour. It was a 42 foot boat with plenty of room to move around and a washroom. It was a beautiful day and we saw two pods of pilot whales, seals, eagles and fabulous rock cliffs.

We headed for meat cove and ventured along the windy road. We stopped at the little restaurant and enjoyed a delicious seafood lunch. We walked part of the boardwalk but it was a little too long for an 80 year old.

The highlight of our trip was when we detoured off the Cabot Trail and found the beautiful scenery and friendly people at the northern tip of Cape Breton Island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wats43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

This hotel is a great place to go to relax. Enjoy the views. Take in some of the local scenery. Just take it easy. No crowds. No noise. No traffic. A very nice host.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoefromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wardsville, ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We had an awesome time at the motel. The owner, Mel, was a great host. Take some time to chat, he has some interesting stories!! The view is spectacular. Our accommodations were wonderful. Room had everything we needed. We shopped at the local Co-Op and then cooked all of our meals for 2 days. Drove out to Meat Cove, definitely worth the drive out. The Cabot Landing Park nearby is also beautiful. By far our best stay on Cape Breton. If we are ever out this way again, we will be back. Will recommend this place to family & friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbycraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband, son, & I stayed 5 nights at Burton's and had the most amazing, wonderful experience. We really didn't know what to expect having never been to Cape Breton before. After driving all day over some of the most amazing roads with forever views, we landed in Bay St. Lawrence just in time to see the sunset. I can't say enough for the mirage of colors that exploded in front of us. That would have been enough but we also got amazing hospitality - Melvin and Debbie became like family by the time we left. Mussels and authentic Scottish jigs and western music by the town's own Huey and Hector sealed the deal. I cannot say enough about this place - its very special in its simple, relaxing way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay St. Lawrence
22.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
34.0 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Ingonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
24.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
25.2 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel

Property: Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Address: 105 Money Point Rd, Bay St. Lawrence, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Bay St. Lawrence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bay St. Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burtons Sunset Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing